History of House Nassau-Weilburg

Origins

Christof Weber / SIP
Even if the origins of Luxembourg reach back to the 10th century, the reigning national dynasty only acceded to power in 1890. Between 1815 and 1890, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg was ruled by the kings of the Netherlands in personal union. Even if the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg was theoretically an independent state, the Dutch kings ruled the country factually as a province of the Netherlands. In 1890 William III, King of the Netherlands, passes away without a male heir.

Even if this is not a problem for the Dutch crown, the family pact of House Nassau dating from 1783 stipulates that the crown of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg has to pass to a male descendant. Thus, while Wilhelmina of the Orange-Nassau branch succeeded her father on the Dutch throne, the crown of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg passed to the only male heir of House Nassau, Adolf of Nassau of the Nassau-Weilburg branch.

In 1905, William IV succeeded his father upon the latter's death. Having had six daughters by his marriage, he foresaw that succession might be problematic upon his death. In 1907, he thus passed a new family statute, according to which his eldest daughter, princess Marie-Adelaïde, was declared heir to the throne.

The reign of Grand Duchess Marie-Adelaide

When William IV died in 1912, his eldest daughter Marie-Adelaïde succeeded her father. Contrary to the latter, she confirms her interests in political and social affairs and intervenes in political affairs. Even if she never overstepped the constitutionally fixed limits on her powers, her actions aroused the hostility of the opposition. Between 1914 and 1918, Luxembourg was occupied by German forces. The Grand Duchess did not oppose herself against the German war machine, in the interest of her people, for which she was criticised. In 1919, following revolutionary troubles, she abdicates in favour of her younger sister, Charlotte.

The reign of Grand Duchess Charlotte

Return from exile of the Grand Duchess Charlotte in 1945
Tony Krier / Photothèque de la Ville de Luxembourg
The reign of Grand Duchess Charlotte lasted from 1919 to 1964. Unlike her sister, she publicly stated her desire to remain above politics. The existence of the monarchy was confirmed in a referendum in 1919, in which 77.8% of Luxembourgers voted to keep the dynasty. From her marriage to prince Félix of Bourbon de Parme six children are issued, two sons and four daughters.

Her finest hour was between 1940 and 1944. At the beginning of the Second World War, German forces invaded Luxembourg, violating its neutrality. The Grand Duchess went into exile, accompanied by her family and the government. From France she passes via Spain to Portugal, the United States and eventually Great Britain, joined by the government. From her exile in London, she sends regular messages to the Luxembourg people via the BBC, encouraging the Luxembourgish resistance. The radio transmissions, which were listened to by many Luxembourgers despite the acute danger of having to suffer repressions, have become a symbol of resistance to the German occupation.

The reign of Grand Duke Jean

In 1964, Grand Duchess Charlotte abdicated in favour of her eldest son, Grand Duke Jean. Following his mother's lead, he remained above political affairs. He is regimental colonel of the Irish Guards, which he joined as a volunteer in 1942, during the Second World War. In 1953, he married princess Joséphine-Charlotte of Belgium. From this union, five children were born, three sons and two daughters. During the 36 years of the reign of Grand Duke Jean, Luxembourg underwent many social and economic changes, among which the passage from an economy based on industry and agriculture, to a services-oriented economy.

The reign of Grand Duke Henri

In 2000, Grand Duke Jean abdicated in favour of his eldest son Henri, who became the head of the ruling House of Nassau-Weilburg. Prince Henri married Maria Teresa Mestre in 1981. From their union, 5 children are issued, the eldest of which is the Hereditary Grand Duke Guillaume, born in 1981. The grand ducal couple has four more children: prince Félix (b. 1984), prince Louis (b. 1986), princess Alexandra (b. 1991) and prince Sébastien (b. 1992).

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Histoire de la maison Nassau-Weilbourg

Origines

pacte-famille-128702Même si les origines du Luxembourg remontent au Xe siècle, la dynastie régnante nationale est seulement arrivée au pouvoir au Luxembourg en 1890. Entre 1815 et 1890, le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg est lié en union personnelle au roi des Pays-Bas. Si le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg est théoriquement un Etat indépendant, les rois des Pays-Bas l’administrent de fait comme une province des Pays-Bas. En 1890, il se fait que Guillaume III, roi des Pays-Bas, est mort sans héritier mâle.

Tandis que cela ne pose pas de problème pour la couronne néerlandaise, le pacte de famille de la Maison de Nassau de 1783 prévoit que la couronne du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg doit passer à un descendant mâle. Ainsi, alors que Wilhelmine de la branche Orange-Nassau succède à son père sur le trône des Pays-Bas, la couronne du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg passe alors au seul héritier mâle de la Maison de Nassau, Adolphe de Nassau de la branche des Nassau-Weilburg.

En 1905, Guillaume IV succède à son père après son décès. Six filles étant issues de son mariage, il se doute qu’un problème pourrait se poser à sa mort. Il promulgue, en 1907, un nouveau statut de famille aux termes duquel sa fille aînée la princesse Marie-Adelaïde est déclarée héritière au trône.

Le règne de la Grande-Duchesse Marie-Adelaïde

Lorsque Guillaume IV meurt en 1912, sa fille aînée Marie-Adelaïde succède à son père. Contrairement à celui-ci, elle affirme sont intérêt pour les affaires politiques et sociales et intervient dans les affaires politiques. Même si elle n’a jamais outrepassée les limites fixées par la Constitution, ses actions ont suscité l’hostilité de l'opposition de l’époque. Entre 1914 et 1918, le Luxembourg a été occupé par les forces allemandes. La Grande-Duchesse renonce à s’opposer à la machine de guerre allemande, dans l’intérêt du peuple luxembourgeois, ce qui lui a valu de nombreuses critiques. En 1919, suite aux troubles révolutionnaires, elle abdique en faveur de sa sœur puînée Charlotte.

Le règne de Grande-Duchesse Charlotte

Retour d'exil de la Grande-Duchesse Charlotte en 1945Le règne de la Grande-Duchesse Charlotte dure de 1919 à 1964. Contrairement à sa sœur, elle affirme publiquement sa volonté de rester au-dessus des affaires politiques. L'existence de la monarchie a été confirmée lors d'un référendum en 1919 dans le cadre duquel 77,8% des Luxembourgeois ont voté pour le maintien de la dynastie. De son mariage avec le prince Félix de Bourbon de Parme naissent six enfants, deux fils et quatre filles.

Son heure de gloire vient entre 1940 et 1944. Au début de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les troupes allemandes envahissent le Luxembourg en violation de sa neutralité. La Grande-Duchesse part alors en exil, accompagnée de sa famille et du gouvernement. De France, elle passe par l’Espagne pour rejoindre le Portugal, les Etats-Unis et finalement la Grande-Bretagne, avec le gouvernement. Depuis son exile à Londres, elle adresse des messages réguliers au peuple luxembourgeois via les ondes de la BBC, encourageant ainsi la résistance luxembourgeoise. Ces transmissions radio, qui ont été suivies par beaucoup de Luxembourgeois en dépit du danger de répression sévère, sont devenues un symbole de la résistance à l'occupation allemande.

Le règne du Grand-Duc Jean

En 1964, la Grande-Duchesse Charlotte abdique en faveur de son fils aîné, le Grand-Duc Jean. Suivant la ligne de sa mère, il reste au-dessus des affaires politiques. Il est colonel du régiment des Irish Guards qu’il a intégré comme volontaire en 1942 pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il épouse en 1953 la princesse Joséphine-Charlotte de Belgique. De cette union naissent cinq enfants, trois fils et deux filles. Pendant les 36 ans de règne du Grand-Duc Jean, le Luxembourg a subi de nombreux changements sociétaux et économiques, dont le passage d’une économie basée sur l’industrie et l’agriculture vers une économie orientée vers les services.

Le règne du Grand-Duc Henri

En 2000, le Grand-Duc Jean abdique en faveur de son fils aîné Henri, qui devient alors la tête dirigeante de la Maison de Nassau-Weilburg. Le prince Henri a marié Maria Teresa Mestre en 1981. De leur union sont nés cinq enfants, le fils aîné étant le Grand-Duc héritier Guillaume, né en 1981. Le grand couple-ducal a quatre autres enfants: le prince Félix (né en 1984), le prince Louis (né en 1986), la princesse Alexandra (née en 1991) et le prince Sébastien (né en 1992).

  • Mis à jour le 08-04-2015