Monarchy

Far from being considered an outdated institution, the monarchy is a key element for the Luxembourgish state and nation.

For those who discover Luxembourg for the first time, the monarchy is first and foremost symbolised by the head of state and his family. With a reign marked by continuity, Grand Duke Henri combines tradition and modernity.

For Luxembourgers however, the grand ducal family is much more than this. It serves as guarantee for stability, one can even say as the state's cornerstone above the hum daily politics. It is also the symbol of the country's unity and its independence. The resistance movement which organised itself around Grand Duchess Charlotte during the Second World War is an outstanding example.

For foreign investors, the Luxembourg monarchy is an identifiable and competent partner, giving birth to lasting relationships. Indeed, this stability gives Luxembourg an undeniable attractiveness for foreign investors.

Finally, the grand ducal family is also an attraction which is not to be missed, for tourists and the local population alike, particularly on the eve and the day of National Day on 23 June.

  • Updated 07-05-2015

Monarchie

Loin d'être considérée comme une institution dépassée, la monarchie est un élément central pour l’Etat et la nation luxembourgeois.

Pour ceux qui découvrent le Luxembourg pour la première fois, la monarchie est en premier lieu symbolisée par le chef de l'Etat et sa famille. Inscrivant son règne dans la continuité, le Grand-Duc Henri allie tradition et modernité.

Pour les Luxembourgeois cependant, la famille grand-ducale est bien plus que cela. Elle fait figure de garant de stabilité, voire de clé de voûte de l'Etat au-dessus du quotidien politique. Elle est aussi un symbole de l'unité du pays et de son indépendance. Le mouvement de résistance qui s’est organisé autour de la Grande-Duchesse Charlotte pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale en est un exemple marquant.

Aux yeux des investisseurs étrangers, la monarchie luxembourgeoise est un partenaire identifiable et compétent, donnant lieu à des relations durables. En effet, cette stabilité confère au Luxembourg une attractivité indéniable vis-à-vis des investisseurs étrangers.

Enfin, aussi bien pour les visiteurs étrangers que pour la population locale, la famille grand-ducale figure parmi les attractions à ne pas manquer, en particulier la veille et le jour de la fête nationale, le 23 juin.

  • Mis à jour le 07-05-2015