Emigration and immigration

Today, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is a country of immigration. This has not always been the case. Over the years, Luxembourg has been affected by various waves of emigration.

From a country of emigration...

Before the rise of the steel industry in the mid-19th century, Luxembourg was a poor and rural country. Driven by the hope of carving out a better life elsewhere, numerous inhabitants left their homeland.

A first wave of emigration took place in the 12th century to Transylvania. During the first half of the 18th century, another wave of emigration headed for Banat, a region of south-eastern Europe.

In the course of the 19h century and until the First World War, there was a strong trend in the country towards overseas emigration (USA, Brazil, Argentina, etc.). Others went to France to work as craftsmen or, in the case of young girls, as maids and house-keepers. The number of Luxembourgers who left the country between 1841 and 1891 is thought to be more than 72,000 (out of a total population of 212,800 inhabitants in 1891).

Luxembourgers migrated for economic reasons: the population increased, agricultural holdings shrank and harvests were bad. The traditional craft sector witnessed the disappearance of jobs with the emergence of large-scale industry.

Entire families and sometimes entire villages left the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg in the hope of finding a better life. Thus, there were 16,000 Luxembourg emigrants living in Chicago in 1908! Some became famous in their new homeland, such as Hugo Gernsback (1884-1967), the inventor of the term 'science fiction', or Edward Steichen, a painter and famous photographer, who became Director of the Department of Photography in the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA).

... to a country of immigration

In the 20th century, the population of Luxembourg has constantly been growing. In 100 years, it has almost doubled from about 260,000 in 1910 to over 500,000 in 2010. Today, the Grand Duchy has more than 576,000 inhabitants.

This exceptional population growth is largely due to immigration, which has always gone hand in hand with the country’s economic development. Initially, the steel sector attracted many Italians and Portuguese. Then came the French, the Belgians and the British, attracted by the tertiary sector. All this means that the country’s population now comprises more than 46% non-Luxembourg nationals.

It is the Portuguese who are the largest foreign community in the Grand Duchy, amounting to 16.2% of the total population. Next come the French (7.2%), the Italians (3.5%), the Belgians (3.4%) and the Germans (2.2%).

  • Updated 16-12-2016

Emigration et immigration

Aujourd'hui, le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg est un pays d'immigration. Ceci n'a pas toujours été le cas. Au cours de l'histoire, le territoire du Luxembourg a été marqué par diverses vagues d'émigration.

D'un pays d'émigration...

Avant l'essor de la sidérurgie au milieu du XIXe sciècle, le Luxembourg était un pays pauvre et rural. Poussés par l'espoir de trouver ailleurs une vie meilleure, de nombreux habitants quittèrent leur patrie.

Une première vague d'émigration avait lieu au XIIe siècle vers la Transsylvanie. Au courant de la première moitié du XVIIIe siècle, une vague d'émigration se dirigeait vers le Banat, une région du sud-est de l'Europe.

Au courant du XIXe siècle et jusqu’à la Première Guerre mondiale, le pays se caractérise par une forte émigration vers les pays d’outre-mer (Etats-Unis, Brésil, Argentine...). D'autres habitants se rendent en France pour y travailler comme artisans ou, dans le cas de jeunes filles, comme bonnes et gouvernantes. L’on estime à plus de 72.000 le nombre de Luxembourgeois ayant quitté le pays entre 1841 et 1891 (sur une population totale qui atteint 212.800 habitants en 1891).

Les Luxembourgeois s'expatrient pour des raisons économiques: la population augmente, les parcelles agricoles rétrécissent et les vendanges sont mauvaises. Le secteur artisanal traditionnel voit ses emplois disparaître face à l'émergence de la grande industrie.

Des familles entières, et parfois des villages entiers, quittent la région du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg dans l'espoir d'une vie meilleure. Ainsi, 16.000 émigrés luxembourgeois habitent à Chicago en 1908! Certains sont devenus célèbres dans leur nouvelle patrie, tel Hugo Gernsback (1884-1967), l'inventeur du terme "science fiction", ou encore Edward Steichen, peintre et illustre photographe, devenu directeur du Département photographie du Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)

.... à un pays d'immigration

Au XXe siècle, la population du Luxembourg ne cesse de croître. En 100 ans, elle a pratiquement doublé en passant de près de 260.000 en 1910 à plus de 500.000 en 2010. Aujourd'hui, le Grand-Duché compte plus de 576.000 habitants.

Cette croissance démographique exceptionnelle est due en grande partie à l’immigration, qui est toujours allée de pair avec le développement économique du pays. Au départ, c’est le secteur de la sidérurgie qui a attiré en grand nombre les Italiens et les Portugais. Sont venus ensuite les Français, les Belges et les Britanniques, attirés par le secteur tertiaire. Tout ceci fait que le pays est composé aujourd’hui de plus de 46% de ressortissants non luxembourgeois.

Ce sont les Portugais qui présentent la première communauté étrangère du Grand-Duché, leur part dans la population totale s'élevant à 16,2%. Suivent les Français (7,2%), les Italiens (3,5%), les Belges (3,4%) et les Allemands (2,2%).

  • Mis à jour le 24-03-2016