Women

The proportion of women and men in the Grand Duchy's total population is more or less identical.

Life expectancy at birth for women is higher than for men (84.8 years for women compared with 80.2 years for men in 2013).

In the Grand Duchy, women marry younger than men. The average age at first marriage nevertheless continues to increase for both sexes. Most women these days marry when they are between 24 and 29 years old, whereas many men wait until they are between 30 and 34 years old.

In 2010, the number of children per woman was 1.63 and the average age of mothers at childbirth was 31.2 years. Nowadays, having one or two dependent children makes very little difference to women's participation in the labour market.

Women and employment

The proportion of women in work in the Grand Duchy has increased significantly since 1993. For women in the 25 to 49 years age bracket, the figure increased from 42.9% in 1983 to 76.5% in 2012. The gap between the figures for women and men (91.6% of men in the 25 to 49 years age bracket are in work) is one of the largest in Europe.

The proportion of women among the self-employed rose to 40% in 2008.

Part-time work remains limited almost exclusively to women. In 2010, 33.7% of women with at least one dependent child worked part-time, compared with 13.3% of those without dependent children. Because of the development of part-time work, women in the Grand Duchy are increasingly managing to combine the professional and family aspects of their lives.

The model of the 'single male breadwinner' which was very popular in the Grand Duchy in the 1980s and 1990s, is in decline.

Towards a gender balance in decision-making

Despite holding equal qualifications and their growing presence in the labour market, women in the Grand Duchy are still significantly under-represented among decision-makers in both the public and private sectors.

The proportion of female members of boards of directors, for example, is on average no more than 20%. In the civil service, although almost half of all senior civil servants in 2014 were women, only a quarter of them were in managerial posts.

The same is true in public establishments and businesses in which the State has an interest. Women are in a minority on the boards of directors of public establishments, and change is only being made very slowly.

To remedy the situation, the Luxembourg Government presented its strategy for a better gender balance in decision-making in September 2014.

International Women's Day

International Women's Day has been celebrated on 8 March each year since 1911. On the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the Day, on 8 March 2011, the Centre for information and documentation about women Cid-Femmes (Information and Documentations Centre about Women) launched the www.fraendag.lu website devoted to the history of the International Women's Day in the Grand Duchy.

The site offers a historic overview of this day of action at the level of the Grand Duchy, shows the progress made over these past hundred years, and presents a number of people who have been involved in the women's movement in the Grand Duchy.

  • Updated 26-11-2015

Femmes

La part des femmes et des hommes est plus ou moins identique dans la population totale luxembourgeoise.

L’espérance de vie des femmes à la naissance est supérieure à celle des hommes (84,8 ans pour les femmes par rapport à 80,2 ans pour les hommes en 2013).

Au Luxembourg les femmes se marient plus jeunes que les hommes. L’âge moyen au premier mariage ne cesse néanmoins d’augmenter pour les deux sexes. La plupart des femmes se marient aujourd'hui entre 25 et 29 ans, tandis que bon nombre des hommes attendent la tranche d'âge de 30 à 34 ans pour se marier.

En 2010, le nombre d’enfants par femme était de 1,63 et l’âge moyen des mères à la naissance d’un enfant était de 31,2 ans. Aujourd'hui, le fait d'avoir un ou deux enfants à charge influence très peu la participation des femmes au marché du travail.

L'emploi des femmes

Le taux d’activité féminin a connu une hausse importante depuis 1993 au Luxembourg. Pour les femmes âgées de 25 à 49 ans, il est passé de 42,9% en 1983 à 76,5% en 2012. L'écart entre le taux d'emploi des femmes et celui des hommes, avec un taux d'emploi de 91,6% pour la tranche d'âge de 25 à 49 ans, est un des plus élevés en Europe.

La part des femmes parmi les travailleurs indépendants a progressé à 40% en 2008.

Le travail à temps partiel reste quasi exclusivement une affaire de femmes. En 2010, 33,7% des femmes qui ont un enfant à charge travaillaient à temps partiel, contre 13,3% de celles qui n'ont pas d'enfant à charge. Grâce au développement du travail à temps partiel, les femmes luxembourgeoises sont de plus en plus nombreuses à concilier vie professionnelle et vie familiale.

Le modèle du "single male breadwinner", très populaire au Grand-Duché dans les années 1980 et 1990, est en déclin.

Vers un équilibre entre hommes et femmes dans la prise de décision

A qualifications égales et malgré leur présence croissante sur le marché de l’emploi, les femmes luxembourgeoises restent largement sous-représentées parmi les décisionnaires, tant dans le secteur public que dans le secteur privé.

Ainsi, le nombre de femmes dans les conseils d’administrations ne dépasse pas, en moyenne, les 20%. Dans la fonction publique, alors que les femmes constituent en 2014 pratiquement la moitié du total de fonctionnaires de la carrière supérieure de l’Etat, seulement un quart occupe une fonction de direction.

Même constat au niveau des établissements publics ou des entreprises dans lesquelles l’Etat détient des parts. Une minorité de femmes sont membres dans les conseils d’administration des établissements publics et le changement s’opère que très lentement.

Afin de remédier à cette situation, le gouvernement luxembourgeois a présenté sa stratégie pour un meilleur équilibre entre hommes et femmes dans la prise de décision en septembre 2014.

Journée internationale de la femme

Depuis 1911, la journée internationale de la femme est célébrée le 8 mars. A l'occasion de la 100e journée internationale de la femme, célébrée le 8 mars 2011, le Cid-Femmes (Centre d'information et de documentation sur les femmes) a lancé le site www.fraendag.lu, un site dédié à l'histoire de cette journée internationale au Luxembourg.

Le site propose un aperçu historique de ce jour d'action au niveau luxembourgeois, montre les avancées réalisées au cours de ces 100 dernières années et présente les personnalités luxembourgeoises engagées dans le mouvement des femmes au Luxembourg.

  • Mis à jour le 25-11-2015