Religious Communities

Catholic Church

The Catholic Church plays a fundamental role in the religious life of Luxembourgers, since the vast majority of the population belong to this religion. It has been firmly rooted in the culture of the country for over 1,500 years.

In 1840, after having been divided for centuries among a number of neighbouring dioceses, the Catholic Church in Luxembourg became an independent apostolic vicariate, in 1870 a diocese and an archdiocese in 1988. In 1985, His Holiness Pope John Paul II visited the Christians of Luxembourg.

The main Catholic places of pilgrimage are:

Protestant Church

The Luxembourg Protestant Church was founded in 1952, when the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) was set up in Luxembourg. Today, the Protestant church has several hundred members, mostly German-speaking. There are also three foreign Protestant communities in Luxembourg.

Anglican Church

With a British community of about 5,000 living in Luxembourg, on 27 January 2003 the Luxembourg Government signed an agreement with the Anglican Church, determining the number of its ministers, who are financed by the State.

Orthodox Churches

So far as concerns the Orthodox Churches, in 2003 the Luxembourg government extended its agreement with the Greek Orthodox Church, dating from 1997, to the Romanian Orthodox Church and the Serbian Orthodox Church. The Convention provides for the assumption by the Luxembourg State of responsibility for the remuneration of a priest for each religious group. A Russian Orthodox parish can also be found in Luxembourg.

Jewish Community

The Luxembourg Jewish community has about a thousand members, that is to say between 300 and 350 families. The first traces of Jews in Luxembourg date back to the Middle Ages. In 1894 the big synagogue in rue Aldringen, Luxembourg, was built. The building, surmounted by three domes, was closed, then destroyed, by German occupiers in 1941. It was not until 1953 and 1954 that two new synagogues were inaugurated, in Avenue Monterey, Luxembourg, and rue du Canal, Esch-sur-Alzette.

Muslim Community

Since 1992, the Muslim community of the Grand Duchy, then composed of people from Arabic-speaking countries and Iran and Pakistan, has increased dramatically as a result of intense immigration associated with the Balkan wars.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Communautés religieuses

Eglise catholique

L'Eglise catholique occupe une place fondamentale dans la vie religieuse des Luxembourgeois, puisque la grande majorité appartient à cette religion. Celle-ci est d’ailleurs fermement ancrée dans la culture du pays depuis plus de 1.500 ans.

En 1840, après avoir été répartie pendant de longs siècles sur plusieurs diocèses voisins, l’Eglise catholique au Luxembourg devint un vicariat apostolique autonome, puis en 1870, un diocèse, et un archidiocèse en 1988. En 1985, Sa Sainteté le Pape Jean-Paul II rendit visite aux chrétiens du Luxembourg.

Les principaux lieux de pèlerinage catholiques sont:

Eglise protestante

L’Eglise protestante luxembourgeoise a été fondée en 1952 à l’occasion de la création de la Communauté européenne du charbon et de l’acier (CECA) à Luxembourg. Aujourd’hui, l’Eglise protestante regroupe plusieurs centaines de membres, principalement germanophones. Il existe, en outre, trois communautés protestantes étrangères au Luxembourg.

Eglise anglicane

Avec une communauté britannique vivant au Luxembourg s’élevant à environ 5.000 personnes, le gouvernement luxembourgeois a signé le 27 janvier 2003 une convention avec l’Eglise anglicane, déterminant les effectifs de ses ministres du culte, qui sont pris en charge par l’État.

Eglises orthodoxes

Pour ce qui est des Eglises orthodoxes, le gouvernement luxembourgeois a étendu en 2003 sa convention avec l’Eglise orthodoxe hellénique, datant de 1997, à l’Eglise orthodoxe roumaine et à l’Eglise orthodoxe serbe. La Convention prévoit la prise en charge par l’Etat luxembourgeois de la rémunération d’un curé de chaque culte concerné. Une paroisse orthodoxe-russe est également établie à Luxembourg.

Communauté juive

La Communauté juive luxembourgeoise compte environ un millier de membres, c'est-à-dire entre 300 et 350 familles. Les premières traces de Juifs au Luxembourg remontent au Moyen Âge. En 1894 fut construite la grande synagogue rue Aldringen à Luxembourg. L'édifice, surmonté de ses trois coupoles, sera fermé, puis détruit par l'occupant allemand en 1941. Il faudra attendre 1953, respectivement 1954 pour que soient inaugurées deux nouvelles synagogues, avenue Monterey à Luxembourg et rue du Canal à Esch-sur-Alzette.

Communauté musulmane

Depuis 1992, la Communauté musulmane du Grand-Duché, composée alors de personnes originaires des pays arabophones, d’Iran et du Pakistan, a considérablement augmenté à cause de la forte immigration liée aux guerres balkaniques.

  • Mis à jour le 07-04-2015