Parliamentary Elections

The elections for the Chamber of Deputies are on the basis of direct universal suffrage in order to designate the 60 members (23 for the southern constituency, 7 for the eastern, 21 for the central and 9 for the northern), which, in Luxembourg's unicameral system, make up the national parliament.

Elections are held using a system of proportional representation. For each of the four constituencies, the political groups must draw up lists of candidates; their number may not exceed the number of MPs to be elected in that constituency.

The number of seats is calculated according to the rules of proportional representation and the principle of the smallest electoral quotient.

Parliamentary elections automatically take place every five years. The last parliamentary elections in the Grand Duchy were held on 20 October 2013.

Official website for elections in the Grand Duchy

www.elections.public.lu — the official website for elections in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg — provides information on the results of parliamentary elections since 1994.

On election days (parliamentary, municipal and European), the site provides live coverage of the results for each constituency, municipality and party. With its clear, user-friendly interface, the site at www.elections.public.lu provides information on the breakdown of voting and seats, and makes it possible to simulate coalitions, or make comparisons against the results of the 2009 elections. www.elections.public.lu can be accessed on any electronic device (PC, tablet or smartphone).

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Elections législatives

Les élections pour la Chambre des députés se font au suffrage universel direct pour désigner les 60 députés (23 pour la circonscription électorale Sud, 7 pour la circonscription Est, 21 pour la circonscription Centre et 9 pour la circonscription Nord) qui, dans le système unicaméral luxembourgeois, composent le parlement national.

Les députés sont élus au scrutin de liste. Pour chacune des quatre circonscriptions électorales, les groupements politiques doivent constituer des listes de candidats dont le nombre ne peut être supérieur au total des députés à élire dans la circonscription.

La répartition des sièges se calcule suivant les règles de la représentation proportionnelle et conformément au principe du plus petit quotient électoral.

Les élections législatives ont lieu de plein droit tous les cinq ans. Les dernières élections législatives ont eu lieu au Luxembourg le 20 octobre 2013.

Site officiel des elections au Luxembourg

www.elections.public.lu, le site officiel des élections au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg renseigne sur les résultats des élections législatives depuis 1994.

Le jour d'élections (législatives, communales ou européennes), ce site permet de suivre l'évolution des résultats en direct par circonscription, commune et parti. Avec une interface claire et simple d'utilisation, www.elections.public.lu permet de connaître, entre autres, la répartition des suffrages et des mandats, de simuler des coalitions ou encore d'effectuer des comparaisons par rapport aux résultats des élections de 2009. www.elections.public.lu peut être consulté quel que soit votre support (desktop, tablette et smartphone).

  • Mis à jour le 22-03-2018