Oesling

The Oesling (or Éislek) region, characterised by its rolling hills, is located in the north of the country and is Luxembourg's corner of the Ardennes. It is famous for its unspoilt nature and uninterrupted countryside, where high plateaus alternate with wooded slopes and deep valleys crossed by rivers such as the Our.

© SIP / Uli Fielitz
Although the land here is not particularly fertile, agriculture plays an important economic role in the Oesling region. While the number of smallholdings has fallen in recent decades, much of the area is still taken up by farmland.

© Raymond Clement/Naturpark Our
The region is also undergoing a process of economic diversification, with the development of several large industrial and commercial sites. It is a significant producer of renewable energy, with hydropower from the Vianden Dam and pumped storage plant, wind power and biofuel plantations.

© Société électrique de l'Our (SEO)
The Oesling has a rich and varied heritage. Alongside its typical Ardennes towns and villages, it boasts imposing medieval remains, the most well-known being Bourscheid Castle (above) and the fortresses in Vianden and Clervaux.

© SIP / Christof Weber
When it comes to leisure activities, the Our and Haute-Sûre nature reserves offer endless possibilities for swimming, water sports, walking, horse riding and mountain biking.

© SIP / John Zeimet
  • Updated 17-11-2017

Oesling

La région vallonnée de l’Oesling (Éislek) est située au nord du pays et fait partie du massif ardennais. Elle doit sa renommée à sa nature intacte et à ses paysages à perte de vue, où hauts plateaux alternent avec pentes boisées et vallées parcourues par des rivières telles que l’Our.

© SIP / Uli Fielitz
Bien que les sols de l’Oesling soient peu fertiles, l’agriculture y constitue un facteur économique de taille. Le nombre d’exploitations a certes reculé au cours des dernières décennies, toutefois, les surfaces agricoles continuent à occuper une partie importante de sa superficie.

© Raymond Clement/Naturpark Our
La région connaît un processus de diversification économique, avec la création d’importantes surfaces industrielles et commerciales. Elle constitue aussi une source précieuse d'énergies renouvelables, telles que les énergies hydrauliques (barrages d'eau de l'Our à Vianden) et éoliennes ainsi que les plantations de biocarburants.

© Société électrique de l'Our (SEO)
L’Oesling offre un patrimoine très varié. On y trouve les villes et villages typiquement ardennais, mais aussi les vestiges imposants d’édifices moyenâgeux dont les plus connus sont le château de Bourscheid (en haut) ainsi que les places fortes de Vianden et de Clervaux.

© SIP / Christof Weber
Côté loisirs, les parcs naturels de l’Our et de la Haute-Sûre permettent de multiples possibilités de loisirs et de détente telles que baignades, sports aquatiques, randonnées pédestres, équestres ou encore VTT.

© SIP / John Zeimet
L’Oesling est un véritable paradis pour les randonneurs de tous âges et profils. Les vastes espaces naturels se prêtent à des longues promenades offrant des vues imprenables tout en permettant de découvrir l’offre culturelle et gastronomique de la région.

© SIP, tous droits réservés
  • Mis à jour le 17-11-2017