Luxembourg City

The fact that the capital city shares the country's name speaks volumes: Luxembourg City is the political and cultural heart of the nation. It is by far Luxembourg's largest city, and it serves as a meeting point for people from all over the country and the Greater Region. The deep Alzette and Pétrusse valleys are crossed by several bridges, including the Pulvermuhle Viaduct which joins the capital's railway with the regions to the north and east of the country.

© SIP / Christof Weber
Luxembourg City grew up around a rock formation known as the 'Bock', a promontory overlooking the Alzette and Pétrusse rivers. This created a natural division between the two parts of the city: the bustling 'Upper City' contrasts with the 'Lower City', with its pretty views and calmer feel.

© Claude Piscitelli
For many centuries, Luxembourg City was fought over by the major European powers, which soon saw the potential of its unique geological setting and strategic position between its influential French and German neighbours. The Fortress of Luxembourg was constantly expanded and improved over time, becoming one of Europe's major strongholds and earning the sobriquet 'Gibraltar of the North' for its apparently impregnable nature.

© SIP / Christof Weber
The European powers, meeting in London in 1867 following the 'Luxembourg Crisis' between France and Prussia, decided to dismantle the fortress. Freed from the burden of military constraints, the city was able to develop and expand over the ensuing centuries. But it recognised the important architectural legacy left by the remains of the fortress, which now feature, along with the Old City, on the UNESCO World Heritage List.

© SIP / Christof Weber
Luxembourg City is constantly developing and there is an ongoing drive for modernisation. It is now a cultural hotspot within the country and the Greater Region, boasting varied architecture and a wealth of cultural institutions, tourist activities and public events all year round. Luxembourg's capital also has sophisticated leisure infrastructures, such as the National Sports and Cultural Centre ('D'Coque').

© SIP / Christof Weber
Luxembourg City is not only the country's capital but also one of the three seats of the European Union institutions. The young Kirchberg district, its entrance proudly marked by the 'Porte de l'Europe' or 'Europe Gateway', houses the EU's legal and financial institutions (it is known as the 'European quarter'), as well as the offices of several international business groups. It has also become a key cultural and sports district.

© SIP / Christof Weber
  • Updated 17-11-2017

Ville de Luxembourg

L'homonymie entre la capitale et le pays en dit long: la ville de Luxembourg est le centre politique et culturel du Grand-Duché. De loin la plus grande ville du pays, elle constitue un véritable carrefour où se rencontrent les habitants des quatre coins du pays et de la Grande Région. Les vastes vallées de l’Alzette et de la Pétrusse sont comblées par de nombreux ponts, tels que le Viaduc Pulvermühle, jonction ferroviaire entre la capitale et les régions du nord et de l’est du pays.

© SIP / Christof Weber
La capitale s’est développée autour d'une formation rocheuse appelée le "Bock", promontoire surplombant les rivières de l'Alzette et de la Pétrusse ; d'où la subdivision en deux parties distinctes, d’une part la "ville haute" et, de l’autre, la "ville basse" avec ses quartiers pittoresques et plus calmes.

© Claude Piscitelli
Dû à sa géologie et à sa situation stratégique entre les deux grands pôles d’influence français et allemands, la ville de Luxembourg a fait l'objet, pendant de longs siècles, des convoitises des grands pouvoirs européens. La forteresse de Luxembourg, sans cesse élargie et perfectionnée au fil du temps pour constituer l’une des plus grandes places fortes d'Europe, était autrefois dénommée la "Gibraltar du Nord" car réputée imprenable.

© SIP / Christof Weber
Les grands pouvoirs européens, réunis à Londres en 1867 suite à la "Crise luxembourgeoise" entre la France et la Prusse, décidèrent de faire démanteler la forteresse. Dès lors, libérée des contraintes et limitations imposées par les requis militaires, la ville a pu se développer et s’étendre au fil des siècles. Néanmoins, elle cultive l’héritage architectural des vestiges de la forteresse qui, tout comme la vieille ville, figurent aujourd’hui au patrimoine culturel mondial de l'Unesco.

© SIP / Christof Weber
La ville évolue et se modernise sans cesse. Aujourd'hui, elle constitue un véritable pôle culturel au sein du Grand-Duché et de la Grande Région, avec une architecture variée ainsi qu’une panoplie d’institutions culturelles, d’offres touristiques et de manifestations publiques tout au long de l’année. La capitale est par ailleurs dotée d’infrastructures de pointe qui, comme le Centre national sportif et culturel (d’Coque), ne laissent rien à désirer côté loisirs.

© SIP / Christof Weber
La ville de Luxembourg est non seulement la capitale du Grand-Duché, mais également un des trois sièges institutionnels de l’Union européenne. Le jeune quartier du Kirchberg, dont l’entrée est marquée par la "Porte de l’Europe", abrite les institutions judiciaires et financières de l’UE (d’où son surnom de "quartier européen") ainsi que de nombreux groupes commerciaux internationaux. Il est aussi devenu un centre culturel et sportif.

© SIP / Christof Weber
Les quartiers de la ville évoluent et se modernisent sans cesse. Le mélange très varié de styles de construction témoigne de l’histoire riche et mouvementée de la capitale. L’architecture forme un ensemble harmonieux et original, diversité qui fait la beauté de la ville.

© SIP, tous droits réservés
  • Mis à jour le 17-11-2017