Centre-West

The centre-west region can be seen as the country's green belt. It offers countless natural beauty spots and is known for its calm, bucolic landscapes, such as the area around the village of Koerich.

© SIP / Christof Weber
The centre-west lends itself perfectly to walking and cycling. It is a great place to take some time out from a busy schedule and enjoy the stunning and wonderfully varied surroundings.

© SIP / Marc Schoentgen
The region's villages, such as Fischbach (near Mersch), nestle in rolling green hills. The topography and the proximity of the Fortress of Luxembourg gave the centre-west considerable strategic importance in the Middle Ages, so it is hardly surprising that the landscape is liberally sprinkled with buildings dating from the period.

© SIP / Uli Fielitz
The 'Valley of the Seven Castles' is a wonderful 24km-long trail of mediaeval fortresses. It includes the remains of Koerich Castle as well as the châteaux in Mersch, Schoenfels, Hollenfels and Septfontaines and the two châteaux in Ansembourg.

© Jeannot Weber (liweber[at]pt.lu)
As well as its many castles, the region has a host of other architectural highlights, from churches to archaeological sites, traditional houses and characterful villages. The old village of Meysembourg, abandoned by its inhabitants in the mid-19th century, has been partly preserved and now stands as a memorial to its eventful past.

© SIP
The calm, peaceful landscapes contrast with the region's industrial and commercial sites. The industrial plants in the centre-west, such as the vast Goodyear site in Colmar-Berg, are among the largest in the entire country.

© Goodyear
  • Updated 17-11-2017

Centre-Ouest

La région du centre-ouest peut être considérée comme la ceinture verte du pays. Elle présente une panoplie de richesses naturelles et se démarque par ses paysages calmes et ruraux, tels que les alentours du village de Koerich.

© SIP / Christof Weber
Le centre-ouest se prête à merveille aux balades à pied ou à vélo et permet de ralentir la cadence tout en profitant de la beauté et de l'étonnante variété des paysages.

© SIP / Marc Schoentgen
Les villages de la région, tels que Fischbach (près de Mersch), s’intègrent dans un paysage vallonné. La topographie de la région et la proximité de la forteresse de Luxembourg lui conféraient d’ailleurs, au Moyen Âge, un intérêt stratégique considérable. Il est donc peu étonnant que le Centre-Ouest soit parsemé d’édifices datant de cette époque.

© SIP / Uli Fielitz
La "Vallée des Sept Châteaux", d’une longueur de 24 km, constitue une véritable route de places fortes moyenâgeuses. Elle comprend les vestiges du château fort de Koerich ainsi que les châteaux de Mersch, Schoenfels, Hollenfels, Septfontaines et les deux châteaux d’Ansembourg.

© Jeannot Weber (liweber[at]pt.lu)
Outre les châteaux, la région offre une variété d'objets patrimoniaux de plus petite taille: églises, sites archéologiques, anciennes maisons et villages de charme. L’ancien village de Meysembourg, abandonné par ses habitants au milieu du XIXe siècle, est partiellement conservé, et constitue aujourd’hui un lieu de mémoire.

© SIP
Les paysages calmes et paisibles trouvent leur contrepoids dans les complexes industriels et commerciaux de la région. Les installations industrielles présentes dans le centre-ouest, comme par exemple le vaste complexe Goodyear à Colmar-Berg, comptent parmi les plus importants du Grand-Duché.

© Goodyear
  • Mis à jour le 17-11-2017