Mullerthal

The Mullerthal, in the east of the country, is known as 'Luxembourg's Little Switzerland' because of its many remarkable rock formations.

© SIP / Uli Fielitz
This 'Little Switzerland' is full of natural wonders such as the Schéissendëmpel (Schiessentümpel) waterfall. The region is characterised by rocky landscapes, vast forests and winding streams.

© SIP / Uli Fielitz
The Mullerthal is the perfect place for walking, cycling and other sports activities. The paths and routes are well maintained and clearly marked, and there is an extensive network of walking trails (the 'Mullerthal Trail') and cycle tracks. The steep slopes in Berdorf are also a favourite destination for climbing enthusiasts.

© SIP
The Mullerthal has a wealth of historical heritage. Much like the surrounding regions, it has several castles, including two in Beaufort (the mediaeval fortress and the Renaissance château). Traces of human activity from more than 7,000 years ago have also been found here, along with the oldest human remains in Luxembourg.

© SIP / Uli Fielitz
The region's capital, Echternach, is the oldest town in Luxembourg. It was founded in Roman times and served as an important base for the Christianisation of neighbouring regions and a key religious centre, as reflected by the impressive Basilica of St Willibrord and the buildings of the old abbey.

© J. Mathias / Office Régional du Tourisme Région Mullerthal - Petite Suisse Luxembourgeoise (ORT MPSL)
  • Updated 17-11-2017

Mullerthal

Le Mullerthal, situé à l'Est du pays, est dénommé "Petite Suisse luxembourgeoise" à cause de ses nombreuses formations rocheuses.

© SIP / Uli Fielitz
La "Petite Suisse luxembourgeoise" regorge d’attractions naturelles telles que la notable cascade Schéissendëmpel (Schiessentümpel). La région se caractérise par son paysage rocheux parcouru par de vastes forêts et des cours d'eau sinueux.

© SIP / Uli Fielitz
Le Mullerthal se prête parfaitement aux randonnées et aux activités sportives. Les chemins sont particulièrement bien aménagés, avec un réseau dense de sentiers de promenade ("Mullerthal Trail") et de pistes cyclables. Les férus d’escalade, quant à eux, trouveront leur bonheur sur les pentes de Berdorf.

© SIP
Le Mullerthal est aussi une région historique. Tout comme les régions avoisinantes, il compte de nombreux châteaux, dont le site de Beaufort avec ses deux édifices (la place forte moyenâgeuse et le Château Renaissance). C'est également dans cette région que l'on retrouve les traces d’ancêtres d’il y a plus de 7.000 ans et la sépulture du plus ancien habitant du Luxembourg.

© SIP / Uli Fielitz
Chef-lieu de la région, la ville d’Echternach est la plus ancienne du Grand-Duché. Fondée au temps des Romains, elle constituait une base importante de la christianisation des régions avoisinantes et un haut-lieu de la vie religieuse, ce dont témoignent encore l’impressionnante basilique Saint-Willibrord et les bâtiments de l’ancienne abbaye.

© J. Mathias / Office Régional du Tourisme Région Mullerthal - Petite Suisse Luxembourgeoise (ORT MPSL)
  • Mis à jour le 17-11-2017