Land of the Red Rocks

The 'Terres rouges' (Land of the Red Rocks) or 'Minett' region in southern Luxembourg owes its name to the iron ore deposits discovered here in the 19th century. For many years, the steel industry was a driving force for Luxembourg's economic development. The region's landscape is still dominated by imposing industrial installations such as the blast furnaces in Esch-Belval.

© Claude Piscitelli
Over time, the steel industry gradually lost ground in Luxembourg, as it did in other neighbouring regions. Nowadays, the country's steel industry has been reduced to just a handful of production sites, and the former industrial plants are now part of the region's heritage, such as the 'Fond-de-Gras' park near Lasauvage.

© Claude Piscitelli
Although the steel industry has lost its once powerful grip, its imprint is on the region's architecture is clearly visible.

© SIP / Tim Lecomte
The town of Esch-sur-Alzette is the capital of the Minett region. Once the heyday of the steel industry had passed, the town successfully drew on its rich heritage and multicultural society, reinventing itself as a cultural and commercial centre and consolidating its position as the country's second biggest town after Luxembourg City. Esch's 'Gaalgebierg' municipal park is a relaxing green space that is much loved by those living in and around the town.

© Ville d'Esch-sur-Alzette
Most of the former production sites in the south of the country have now become commercial and/or residential areas. A striking example is the Esch-Belval site, one of the largest urban development projects in Europe, which now houses shops, housing and a number of prestigious cultural, administrative, academic and scientific institutions, including one of the campuses of the University of Luxembourg.

© Claude Piscitelli
Other industrial sites have been reconverted into protected nature areas, such as the 'Giele Botter', a former open-cast mine that is now part of the 'Prënzebierg' conservation area and is home to a wide variety of biotopes and rare species.

© SIP / Géry Oth
  • Updated 20-11-2017

Terres Rouges

Les Terres rouges (ou "Minett"), situées dans le sud du Grand-Duché, doivent leur nom aux gisements de minerai de fer découverts au XIXe siècle. L’industrie sidérurgique de la région a longtemps été l’un des moteurs de l’essor économique du Grand-Duché. Ses imposantes installations industrielles comme les hauts-fourneaux d‘Esch-Belval, marquent encore le paysage de la région.

© Claude Piscitelli
À l'instar de l’évolution dans les régions avoisinantes, la sidérurgie a progressivement perdu du terrain au Luxembourg. De nos jours, l'activité sidérurgique s’est réduite à une poignée de sites de production, tandis que les anciennes installations font désormais partie du patrimoine, comme par exemple le parc "Fond-de-Gras" près de Lasauvage.

© Claude Piscitelli
Bien que la sidérurgie ait perdu son rôle prédominant d’antan, elle a profondément marqué l’architecture de la région.

© SIP / Tim Lecomte
La ville d'Esch-sur-Alzette est le chef-lieu du "Minett". Après l’âge d’or de la sidérurgie, elle a su mettre en valeur la richesse de son patrimoine et de sa multiculturalité pour se réinventer en pôle commercial et culturel, consolidant ainsi sa position de deuxième ville du pays derrière la capitale. Avec le parc municipal "Gaalgebierg", elle dispose en outre d’un lieu de détente prisé par les habitants de la ville et des régions avoisinantes.

© Ville d'Esch-sur-Alzette
La plupart des anciens sites de production du sud du pays sont devenus des zones commerciales et/ou résidentielles. L'exemple-phare en est le site d'Esch/Belval, un des plus grands projets de développement urbanistique d’Europe, avec ses installations commerciales, surfaces résidentielles et institutions culturelles, administratives, académiques et scientifiques de renom, dont un campus de l’Université du Luxembourg.

© Claude Piscitelli
D'autres sites ont, à leur tour, été reconvertis en zones de protection naturelle, telles que le "Giele Botter", ancien site d’extraction faisant désormais partie de la zone protégée "Prënzebierg", et abritant une panoplie de biotopes et d'espèces rares.

© SIP / Géry Oth
  • Mis à jour le 20-11-2017