Top 10 tourist hotspots

Luxembourg's 10 most popular tourist hotspots
The Butterfly Garden in Grevenmacher counted some 37,000 visitors in 2016 and ranks 10th of the most visited tourist hotspots in Luxembourg. The garden counts dozens of different types of butterflies. For the pleasure of big and small, they fly freely through the garden.

© Päiperleksgaart
The Hop on-Hop off buses ferried some 50,000 tourists across Luxembourg City in 2016. Tours start and end at the Place de la Constitution in the city centre and can drop you off and pick you up at a large number of stops all over Luxembourg City. An audio guide in 8 languages and breathtaking views will reward you if you choose this way of discovering Luxembourg City.

© SIP
The National Museum of History and Art (MNHA) counted some 64,000 visitors in 2016 and thus ranks 8th. The route of the museum display spreads over ten levels. From the depths of prehistory to the most recent artistic experiments, the visitor climbs from floor to floor as if walking through the corridors of time.

© MNHA / Tom Lucas
In 1994, a splendid mosaic from the 3rd century AD, part of a large Roman villa, was discovered in the village of Vichten. It was transported to the MNHA and painstakingly restored. The mosaic is in an exceptionally good condition.

© Guy Hoffmann / SIP
With 82,000 visitors in 2016, the chairlift in Vianden ranks 7th. This spectacular mode of transportation takes the passengers from Vianden up to a neighbouring hill, over the river Our.

© Legrand
The chairlift starts in the valley at 220 metres over sealevel to rise to 440 metres. From this vantage point you'll enjoy a fantastic panoramic view over Vianden, the castle and the reservoir.

© Legrand
The Museum of Modern Art Grand Duke Jean (MUDAM) comes in 6th place, with some 97,0000 visitors in 2016. The building was designed by renowned Chinese architect Ieoh Ming Pei, who also designed the pyramid the the courtyard of the Louvre in Paris, among others. The hypermodern building is grafted onto the remains of 18th century Fort Thüngen, which was part of the belt of forts surrounding the fortress of Luxembourg.

© SIP
The MUDAM Collection bears witness to a particular interest in artworks anchored in the contemporary world regardless of the techniques employed (painting, sculpture, photo, installation, video...). The collection is devoted to international artworks as well as to local productions. Luxembourgish artists make up around ten per cent of artists in the collection.

© SIP / Zineb Ruppert
With some 105,000 visitors in 2016, the Mullerthal Trail has a confirmed following among hikers. On a length of 112 km, the Mullerthal Trail passes through all the natural particularities of the Mullerthal Region – Luxembourg's Little Switzerland. In 2014, the Mullerthal Trail received the label 'Leading Quality Trails - Best of Europe'.

© SIP
The Schiessentümpel is one of the Mullerthal's most beautiful and popular spots. The waters of the Black Ernz flow under the bridge and over three small waterfalls. The lovely stone bridge and the impressive rocks turn it into one of the most popular excursion spots in the region.

© SIP
In 2016, some 130,000 visitors descended into the bowels of Luxembourg City in order to explore the ancient network of the casemates. Thus, this attraction comes in 4th place. The casemates of the fortress of Luxembours consist of some 23 kilometres of underground caverns.

© SIP / Christof Weber
The network was continuously dug and extended over centuries. Some of these casemates, such as those in the Bock promontory, could protect a garrison. Others linked outlying forts to the city centre. A number of the casemates are open for visits or guided tours.

© Yves Welter
With 171,722 visitors in 2016, Vianden castle comes in 3rd place in our ranking of Luxembourg's most popular tourist attractions. The renovated castle radiated the splendor of one of the largest and most beautiful feudal residences of the romanesque and gothic periods in Europe.

© Raymond Clement/Naturpark Our
Perched on top of a hill, the castle allow a spectacular view over the Luxembourg Oesling and the German Eifel regions. The castle is open for visits all year round, but it is mostly during summer when hikers and tourists wonder at the castle at the charming village it overlooks.

© MECO, LFF, CC et al. / Géry Oth
222,839 visitors - that's how many people have let themselves be enchanted by the Fairy Tale Parc in Bettembourg in 2016. Open between April and October, the parc has a host of attractions for big and small, among them a large number of well-equipped playgrounds.

© Parc merveilleux Bettembourg
The parc has its name from a number of small cottages in which fairy tale stories are told in a number of languages while being illustrated by moving puppets.

© Parc merveilleux Bettembourg
The Fairy Tale Parc in the only animal parc in Luxembourg. Some 200 species from 5 continents live here. Some animals can also be fed with a special food which can be bought in the parc's shop. A petting zoo with goats, as well as special structures for certain species complete the spacious outer compounds.

© Parc merveilleux Bettembourg
With 273,480 visitors in 2016, guided tours in Luxembourg City have been the most successful tourist attraction in Luxembourg. The Luxembourg City Tourist Office (LCTO) organises guided tours to your liking, be it for bigger groups or individuals, and fitted to your interests. Moreover, the 'Green Jackets' are there to answer all of your questions about Luxembourg City and its tourist gems. You'll meet them everywhere in the city centre during the summer months.

© LCTO
The city centre is where a number of Luxembourg City's tourist gems are located, such as the Grand Ducal Palace or the Bock Casemates. However, it's also a convivial meeting place. The Place d'Armes, with its cafes and restaurants, located in the middle of the shopping streets, is an ideal meeting place, during the day as well as at night.

© SIP
Luxembourg City is much more than the city centre. Visit the other picturesque districts or take a stroll in one of the parks which surround the centre and discover the city's other sides. Cultural offers, such as Neumünster Abbey in the Gund district, invite you to listen to a concert, visit an exhibition or simply explore the surrounding area, which always lead you to enchanted spots.

© LCTO
  • Updated 09-08-2017

Top 10 des attractions touristiques

Les 10 attractions touristiques les plus populaires au Luxembourg
Le Jardin des papillons à Grevenmacher comptait 37.000 visites en 2016 et se classe en 10e position, ouvrant notre classement des top 10 des destinations touristiques les plus visitées au Luxembourg. Le jardin compte des douzaines de types de papillons. Pour le plaisir des grands et des petits, ceux-ci volent librement à l'intérieur du jardin.

© Päiperleksgaart
Les bus Hop on-Hop off conduisaient presque 50.000 touristes à travers la Ville de Luxembourg en 2016. Les tours commencent et se terminent à la Place de la Constitution au centre-ville et desservent un grand nombre d'arrêts à Luxembourg-Ville. Un guide audio disponible en 8 langues et des vues à couper le souffle vous récompensent en choisissant ce mode de découverte.

© SIP
Le Musée national d'histoire et d'art (MNHA) a attiré quelque 64.000 visiteurs en 2016 et se place au 8e rang. Le parcours muséographique du MNHA se déploie sur 10 niveaux. Des abysses de la préhistoire aux expériences artistiques les plus récentes, le visiteur gravit les étages comme s’il parcourait les couloirs du temps.

© MNHA / Tom Lucas
En 1994, un mosaïque splendide datant du 3e siècle AD fut découvert dans la localité de Vichten. Faisant partie d'une grande villa romaine, le mosaïque fut transporté au MNHA et restauré pièce par pièce. Il s'agit d'une pièce exceptionnellement bien conservée.

© Guy Hoffmann / SIP
Avec 82.000 visiteurs en 2016, le télésiège a Vianden occupe la 7e place de notre ranking. Ce mode de transport spectaculaire transporte les passagers depuis la ville de Vianden jusqu'au sommet de la colline avoisinante, au-dessus de la rivière Our.

© Legrand
De la vallée à 220 m d’altitude, le télésiège mène le visiteur au sommet de la colline à une hauteur de 440 m d’où il aura une jolie vue panoramique sur la ville, le château et le barrage. Un restaurant vous invite à la détente.

© Legrand
Le Musée d'art moderne Grand-Duc Jean (MUDAM) vient en 6e place, avec quelque 97.000 visiteurs en 2016. L'architecture de l'immeuble est signée Ieoh Ming Pei, architecte chinois de renommée mondiale ayant e.a. conçu la pyramide dans la cour du Louvre à Paris. La construction hypermoderne se greffe sur les vestiges du Fort Thüngen, construit au 18e siècle, qui faisait partie de la ceinture fortifiée de la forteresse de Luxembourg.

© SIP
La Collection Mudam Luxembourg témoigne d’un intérêt particulier pour des œuvres ancrées dans le monde contemporain quelles que soient les techniques utilisées (peinture, sculpture, photo, installation, vidéo…). La collection se consacre tout aussi bien à la création internationale qu’aux productions locales. Les artistes luxembourgeois représentent ainsi environ dix pour cent des artistes de la collection.

© SIP / Zineb Ruppert
Avec quelque 105.000 visiteurs en 2016, le Mullerthal Trail fait le plaisir des randonneurs. Sur une longueur de 112 km, le Mullerthal Trail passe le long des beautés naturelles de la Région Mullerthal – Petite Suisse Luxembourgeoise Le Mullerthal Trail est certifié depuis 2014 avec le label "Leading Quality Trails - Best of Europe".

© SIP
Le Schiessentümpel est un des endroits les plus beaux et populaires au Mullerthal. L'eau de l'Ernz noire passe en-dessous d'un pont, puis s'écoule au-dessus d'un rocher par trois torrents. Le charmant pont en pierre et en bois et les formations rocheuses spectaculaires des alentours font de cet endroit une belle destination d'excursion dans la région.

© SIP
En 2016, 130.000 visiteurs descendaient dans les entrailles de la ville de Luxembourg pour explorer l'ancien réseau des casemates. Ainsi, cette attraction se place au 4e rang. Les casemates de la forteresse de Luxembourg forment un réseau formidable de galeries souterraines long de 23 kilomètres.

© SIP / Christof Weber
Creusées et élargies au fil des siècles, certaines casemates, comme celles du Bock, pouvaient abriter une garnison. D'autres reliaient les forts lointains au centre-ville. Un nombre d'entre eux sont ouvertes à des visites ou visites guidées.

© Yves Welter
Avec 171.722 visiteurs en 2016, le château de Vianden se classe en 3e position des attractions touristiques les plus populaires au Luxembourg. Le château rénové rayonne la splendeur d'une des plus grandes et plus belles résidences féodales des époques romane et gothique de l’Europe.

© Raymond Clement/Naturpark Our
Perché sur le sommet d'une colline, le château offre des vues spectaculaires sur l'Oesling luxembourgeois et la région allemande de l'Eifel. Le château peut être visité pendant toute l'année, mais c'est surtout pendant l'été que des randonneurs et des curieux se laissent impressionner par le château et le village charmant qu'il surplombe.

© MECO, LFF, CC et al. / Géry Oth
222.839 visiteurs - voilà combien de personnes se sont laissés enchanter 2016 par le Parc merveilleux Bettembourg. Ouvert entre avril et octobre, le parc offre un grand nombre d'attractions pour grands et petits, dont plusieurs grandes aires de jeux.

© Parc merveilleux Bettembourg
Le Parc tient son nom de petites maisonnettes dans lesquelles des contes de fées sont racontées sur plusieurs langues et illustrées par des marionnettes qui bougent.

© Parc merveilleux Bettembourg
Le Parc merveilleux est le seul parc animalier du Luxembourg. Presque 200 espèces d'animaux de 5 continents vivent ici. Certains animaux peuvent même être nourris avec une nourriture spéciale en vente dans la boutique du parc. Un mini-zoo avec des chèvres, ainsi que des maisons spécialisées dans certains espèces s'ajoutent aux enclos généreux à l'extérieur.

© Parc merveilleux Bettembourg
Avec 273.480 visiteurs en 2016, les visites guidées à Luxembourg-Ville ont attiré le plus grand nombre de touristes de toutes les attractions au Luxembourg. Le Luxembourg City Tourist Office (LCTO) offre des visites guidées sur mesures, pour des grandes groupes ou des individus, selon les intérêts. Les fameux "Green Jackets", quant à eux, sont là pour vous répondre à vos questions sur la Ville de Luxembourg et ses attractions. Vous les rencontrez partout dans le centre-ville pendant les mois d'été.

© LCTO
Le centre-ville rassemble certains des bijoux touristiques de la Ville de Luxembourg, comme le palais grand-ducal ou les casemates du Bock, mais c'est aussi un lieu de rencontre convivial. La Place d'Armes, avec ses cafés et restaurants, localisé au milieu des artères commerçantes, est un lieu idéal de rencontre, le jour comme la nuit.

© SIP
La Ville de Luxembourg a bien plus à offrir que le centre-ville. Descendez dans les faubourgs pittoresques ou baladez dans les parcs qui entourent le centre pour découvrir d'autres côtés de la ville. Des offres culturelles, comme ici l'Abbaye de Neumünster dans le faubourg du Grund, vous invitent à des concerts, exposition ou simplement à l'exploration des alentours qui vous mènent toujours dans des endroits enchantés

© LCTO
  • Mis à jour le 09-08-2017