Driving licence

Anyone wishing to drive a vehicle must be in possession of a driving licence valid for the category of vehicle being used. The points system for driving licences was set up in the Grand Duchy in 2002. The standard European driving licence was introduced in the Grand Duchy in January 2013.

The driving licence department of the National Society for Automobile Traffic (Société nationale de circulation automobile, SNCA) handles everything connected with driving licences except for matters involving the points system, disputes, and medical issues. These last are dealt with directly by the Department of Transports.

Obtaining a driving licence

To obtain a driving licence in the Grand Duchy, candidates must:

  • be at least 18 years old for vehicles in category B (17 years in the case of learning to drive under the accompanied learning scheme). Minimum age requirements for driving motorised vehicles in other categories are indicated on the website of the Department of Transport;
  • sign up with a driving school approved by the Minister responsible for Transport for at least 12 hours of theory lessons and 16 hours of practical lessons;
  • pass a theoretical exam organised by the National Society for Automobile Traffic (SNCA);
  • pass a practical examination.
Details of the procedure for obtaining a category B driving licence are set out on the website of the Department of Transport.

Having a foreign driving licence transcribed or registered

  1. If your licence was issued by an EU or EEA member country, it is recommended that you have your licence registered so that the Luxembourg authorities can quickly issue you with a Luxembourgish licence if your own licence is lost or stolen.
  2. If your licence was issued by a country that is not in the EU, you are entitled to use your licence for a period of one year before having it transcribed, i.e. exchanged for a Luxembourgish license.
Procedures: Find all the details for how to have your licence transcribed, or a foreign licence registered in Luxembourg on the Citizens' Portal.

Replacing a driving licence that has been stolen, lost, or damaged

Under Luxembourgish legislation, a driver is not allowed to drive a vehicle if he/she is unable to produce a valid driving licence when a check is carried out.

Procedure: You will find details of the procedure for replacing a driving licence that has been stolen, lost, or damaged on guichet.lu.
  • Updated 28-04-2015

Permis de conduire

Toute personne qui veut conduire un véhicule doit posséder un permis de conduire correspondant à la catégorie de véhicule utilisé. En 2002, le permis à points a été introduit au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. En janvier 2013, le permis de conduire européen a été introduit au Grand-Duché.

Le Service des permis de conduire de la Société nationale de circulation automobile (SNCA) gère toutes les opérations relatives aux permis de conduire, à l'exception des affaires qui ont trait au permis à points et aux affaires contentieuses et médicales. Ces dernières sont gérées directement par le Département des transports.

Obtenir un permis de conduire

Pour obtenir un permis de conduire au Luxembourg, il faut:

  • avoir 18 ans pour les véhicules de catégorie B (17 ans en cas de conduite accompagnée). Vous trouverez l'âge minimum pour conduire d'autres catégories de véhicules motorisés sur le site du Département des transports);
  • s’inscrire dans une auto-école agréée par le ministre des Transports pour un minimum de 12 heures de leçons théoriques et de 16 heures de leçons pratiques;
  • passer un examen théorique organisé par la Société nationale de circulation nationale (SNCA);
  • passer un examen pratique.
Vous trouverez les détails de la procédure pour l’obtention du permis de conduire B sur le site du Département des transports.

Faire transcrire ou enregistrer un permis de conduire étranger

  1. Si votre permis a été émis par un pays membre de l'UE ou de l'EEE, il est recommandé de faire enregistrer votre permis pour permettre aux autorités luxembourgeoises de pouvoir émettre un permis luxembourgeois rapidement en cas de perte ou de vol de votre permis.
  2. Si votre permis a été émis par un pays non membre de l'UE, vous avez le droit d'utiliser le permis de conduire pendant 1 an avant de le faire transcrire, c'est-à-dire, l'échanger contre un permis luxembourgeois.
Démarche: Vous trouverez le détail des démarches pour faire transcrire ou enregistrer un permis de conduire étranger sur le portail Citoyens.

Remplacer un permis de conduire volé, perdu ou endommagé

La législation luxembourgeoise interdit la conduite d’un véhicule au cas où le chauffeur ne peut pas présenter un permis de conduire valable lors d’un contrôle.

Démarche: Vous trouverez le détail de la démarche pour remplacer un permis de conduire volé, perdu ou endommagé sur le portail Citoyens.
  • Mis à jour le 16-04-2015