Taxes and insurance

Fuel-powered vehicles (cars, vans, lorries, etc.) are required to pay a tax. All such vehicles must be insured by their owners by means of a third party liability insurance (responsabilité civile, RC).

Compulsory third party liability insurance

The owner of a vehicle which causes material damage, physical injury or death is held responsible. To ensure cover for such damage, the law requires all owners to insure their vehicle by taking out a third party liability insurance with an approved insurance company.

Please note that insurance of this kind only covers damage to third parties!

Insurance premiums are determined by the insurance companies. They usually allow a reduced premium ('bonus') to drivers who have not caused any accidents, and apply an increased premium ('malus') to drivers who have caused an accident.

All the other types of insurance cover for vehicles, such as passenger insurance, driver insurance, full insurance ('casco') and legal protection cover are not compulsory.

Vehicle tax

With some exceptions, all fuel-powered vehicles (cars, vans, lorries, etc.) registered or authorised to use the roads in the Grand Duchy are liable to pay a tax.

Vehicle tax is calculated according to:

  • either carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions for vehicles first registered on or after 1 January 2001 (the amount of the tax is calculated on the basis of a formula according to the vehicle's emission level);
  • or horsepower for vehicles registered before 1 January 2001.

The Customs and Excise Agency (Administration des douanes et accises) is responsible for collecting the vehicle tax. It notifies the vehicle's owner or holder of the amount of the vehicle tax to be paid. Payment is due before the vehicle is put on the road; proof of payment takes the form of a tax vignette. The vignette should be kept in the vehicle with the other papers and be presented if a roadside spot-check is made.

More information on vehicle tax on the website of the Department of Transport.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Taxes et assurances

Les véhicules dont le moteur est alimenté par un carburant (voitures, camionnettes, camions…) sont soumis à une taxe. Tout détenteur d’un véhicule automobile doit obligatoirement s’assurer au moyen d’une assurance responsabilité civile (RC).

Assurance responsabilité civile (RC) obligatoire

Le détenteur d'un véhicule automobile est responsable en cas de dommages matériels, de lésions corporelles ou de décès occasionnés par la conduite de son véhicule. Afin de garantir la couverture de ces dommages, la loi oblige le détenteur d’un véhicule automobile à s'assurer au moyen d’une assurance responsabilité civile (RC) auprès d'une compagnie d'assurances agréée.

Attention: cette assurance ne couvre que les dommages occasionnés à des tiers!

Les primes d’assurance sont fixées par les assureurs. En règle générale, ils accordent une réduction de prime (bonus) à toute personne qui n’a causé aucun accident ou appliquent au contraire une hausse de prime (malus) à la personne ayant causé un accident.

Tous les autres types s'assurance sur les véhicules, telles qu'assurance passagers, assurance conducteur, assurance casco ou assurance protection juridique, ne sont pas obligatoires.

Taxe sur les véhicules automoteurs

Sauf exception, tous les véhicules dont le moteur est alimenté par un carburant (voitures, camionnettes, camions, etc.), immatriculés ou admis à la circulation sur le territoire du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg sont soumis à une taxe.

La taxe sur les véhicules est basée:

  • soit sur les émissions de dioxyde de carbone (CO2) pour les voitures immatriculées pour la première fois à partir du 1er janvier 2001 (la taxe à payer est calculée sur base d’une formule selon le taux d’émission du véhicule);
  • soit sur la cylindrée pour les voitures immatriculées avant le 1er janvier 2001.

L'Administration des douanes et accises est chargée de l'encaissement de la taxe sur les véhicules automoteurs. Elle avise par courrier le propriétaire ou le détenteur du véhicule du montant de la taxe sur les véhicules à payer. Le paiement est dû avant la mise en circulation de la voiture et il est constaté au moyen d’une vignette fiscale. Cette vignette est à conserver dans le véhicule avec les autres papiers de bord afin de pouvoir la présenter lors d’un éventuel contrôle de la circulation routière.

Plus d’infos sur la taxe sur les véhicules automoteurs sur le site du Département des transports.

  • Mis à jour le 16-04-2015