Start your own business

The idea of becoming your own boss can be tempting. Setting up a business project is, however, a process that requires careful planning. In the Grand Duchy, there are several institutions and websites to guide you in your efforts, namely the Business Portal at guichet.lu, the Chamber of Commerce (Chambre de Commerce), the Chamber of Trades (Chambre des Métiers) and Luxinnovation. 

guichet.lu, the online contact point for individuals and businesses

The Business Portal at guichet.lu provides you with the necessary information and guides you through the administrative procedures for setting up a business.

In its pages on 'Starting up & Development', the Business Portal outlines the various steps and procedures to follow. It is a go-to tool for anyone setting up a business. It suggests matters to consider before starting a business and provides specific information on access to professions / business permits;

  • legal forms of businesses;
  • setting up and registering a business;
  • initial declarations with the tax authorities and the social security administration

myStart

myStart is a joint platform of the Luxembourg Government, the Chamber of Commerce, the Chamber of Trades and their partners. Its aim is to assist you in setting up your own business or taking over and developing an existing business.

myStart suggests initiatives that will assist you in designing your business plan and guides you through the administrative procedures, so that you can focus on what is essential: your business.

Starting a commercial activity or becoming a service provider

The department for starting up and developing businesses at the Luxembourg Chamber of Commerce promotes entrepreneurship in the Grand Duchy by means of campaigns to increase awareness of, and active support for, business creation projects. The Chamber of Commerce represents all economic players except craftsmen and members of the liberal professions who are self-employed or subject to an authorisation other than that granted by the General Directorate of Small and Medium-Sized Companies and Entrepreneurship at the Ministry of the Economy.

The 'Espace Entreprises' is the physical one-stop shop of the Chamber of Commerce. The range of services provided free of charge includes:

  • advice and assistance on business permits, public grants and funding;
  • advice and assistance on transfers of businesses;
  • advice on labour law for individuals, social insurance law, competition law, company law and commercial law, as well as direct and indirect taxation.

Starting a craft activity

The 'Business contact' team at the Chamber of Trades and provides help to entrepreneurs and craftsmen starting up a business or already working. The advice and assistance services offered are free and it is not necessary to be affiliated to the Chamber of Trades to benefit from them.

  • For more information, see the 'Ma Création d'Entreprise' (setting up my business) page on the website of the Chamber of Trades.

Starting up an innovative business

Luxinnovation, the National Agency for the Promotion of Innovation and Research, provides a one-stop shop for the creation of innovative businesses. The agency provides information for those establishing innovative businesses with regard to financing, administrative formalities, premises (business incubators) and ways of finding partners.

More information available at:

The 'S.à.r.l.-S' company (simplified limited liability company)

The S.à.r.l.-S company was introduced in January 2017. It enables entrepreneurs wanting to set up a business in the Grand Duchy to do so with company capital of as little as one euro, up to a maximum of 12,000 euros. It differs from the conventional S.à.r.l. company in several ways, including for example the fact that it may be set up by private deed. It also differs from self-employment, previously the only scheme available for start-up capital of less than 12,000 euros, since it dissociates business assets from the entrepreneur's own assets.

  • More information about this type of company is available on the websites of the House of Entrepreneurship or the Chamber of Commerce. 
  • Updated 16-01-2017

Devenir indépendant

Devenir son propre patron est une aventure tentante. Construire un projet de création d'entreprise est un processus qui demande cependant une préparation minutieuse. Au Grand-Duché, plusieurs institutions et sites Internet vous guident dans vos démarches à savoir le portail Entreprises, la Chambre de commerce, la Chambre des métiers et Luxinnovation. 

guichet.lu, le guichet en ligne pour citoyens et entreprises

Le portail Entreprises vous fournit les informations nécessaires et vous guide dans vos démarches pour la création d’une entreprise.

Le portail Entreprises décrit dans sa rubrique "Création et développement"les différentes étapes et les démarches à suivre. Il s’agit d’un outil indispensable pour tout créateur d'entreprise. Il propose des réflexions préalables à la création d'une entreprise et fournit des informations précises sur l'accès à la profession / autorisation d’établissement;

  • les formes juridiques de l'entreprise;
  • la constitution et l’enregistrement de l'entreprise;
  • les déclarations initiales auprès de la Sécurité sociale et auprès des administrations fiscales...

myStart

myStart est une plateforme commune du gouvernement luxembourgeois, de la Chambre de commerce, de la Chambre des métiers et de leurs partenaires. L'objectif du projet est de vous accompagner lors de la création de votre entreprise, ainsi que lors de la reprise et lors du développement d’une entreprise existante.

myStart vous propose des initiatives qui vous assistent lors de la conception de votre plan d’affaire et vous guident à travers les procédures administratives, afin que vous puissiez vous concentrer sur l’essentiel: votre entreprise.

Démarrage d’une activité commerciale ou de prestation de services

La Chambre de commerce Luxembourg, via son département "Création et développement des entreprises", assure la promotion de l’entrepreneuriat au Luxembourg, et ce par des campagnes de sensibilisation et le soutien actif aux projets de création d’entreprise. La Chambre de commerce représente tous les acteurs économiques à l’exception des artisans et des professions libérales exercées en nom propre ou soumises à une autorisation autre que celle octroyée par le ministère de l'Economie, Direction générale PME et entrepreneuriat.

L’Espace entreprises est le guichet unique physique de la Chambre de commerce. La panoplie de services fournis à titre gratuit comprend entre autres:

  • le conseil et l’assistance en matière de droit d’établissement, d’aides et de financements publics;
  • le conseil et l’assistance en matière de transmission d’entreprises;
  • le conseil en matière de droit du travail individuel, droit des assurances sociales, droit de la concurrence, droit des sociétés et du commerce, ainsi que de fiscalité directe et indirecte.

Démarrage d’une activité artisanale

L’équipe "Contact Entreprise" de la Chambre des métiers s’adresse aux entrepreneurs et artisans qui débutent leur activité ou qui sont déjà en activité. Les services de conseil et d’assistance offerts sont gratuits et il n’est pas nécessaire d’être affilié à la Chambre des métiers pour en bénéficier.

Création d’une entreprise innovante

Luxinnovation, l’agence luxembourgeoise pour la promotion de l’innovation et de la recherche, dispose d’un guichet unique pour la création d’entreprises innovantes. L’agence informe les créateurs d’entreprises innovantes en matière de financement, de formalités administratives, d’hébergement (pépinières d’entreprises) et de recherche de partenaires.

Trouvez plus d’informations

La S.à.r.l.-S (société à responsabilité limitée simplifiée)

La S.à.r.l.-S a vu le jour en janvier 2017. Elle permet aux entrepreneurs qui veulent se lancer d'ouvrir leur entreprise au Luxembourg avec un capital à partir d'1€ seulement et jusqu'à 12.000€. Elle se différencie de la S.à.r.l. classique par plusieurs choses, comme par exemple le fait qu'elle peut être constituée sous seing privé. La société à responsabilité limitée simplifiée est également différente du statut d'indépendant jusqu'alors seul disponible pour un capital de départ en-dessous de 12.000€, puisqu'elle dissocie le patrimoine de l'entreprise de celui de l'entrepreneur.

  • Pour en savoir plus sur ce statut d'entreprise: rendez-vous sur le site de la House of Enterpreneurship ou sur celui de la Chambre de commerce; vous pouvez aussi consulter la brochure dédiée. 
  • Mis à jour le 11-05-2017