Languages at work

The linguistic situation in Luxembourg is complex. The three languages used in daily life are Luxembourgish, German and French. In the world of work, depending on the origin or nationality of the company, the working language may be Luxembourgish, French, German, English or even Portuguese. French and English predominate, especially in the services sector.

Since the working population is mostly made up of foreign residents and French, Belgian and German cross-border commuters, French is the main vernacular language, followed by Lëtzebuergesch, German, English and Portuguese.

French is used particularly in trade, hotels, restaurants and cafes, mainly in the capital and surrounding area. The north of the country is the exception to the rule as it is the only region where Luxembourgish is more widespread than French.

Les langues parlées au travail, à l'école et/ou à la maison (The languages spoken at work, at school and/or at home) was the subject of a study published by STATEC in 2013, following the 2011 population census. The study showed that 70.5% of the population use Luxembourgish at work, at school and/or in the home, 55.7% use French, and 30.6% German. On average, 2.2 languages are used.

According to a study by the University of Luxembourg in 2010, French is the language most asked for in job vacancies advertised in the Grand Duchy. Luxembourgish is an essential requirement in nearly 45% of the vacancies advertised.

English is the lingua franca of the large international community working at the European institutions and of people employed in the banking and industrial sectors. English has become the language for business and finance, and it is very frequently used at meetings among people of different nationalities.

Because the community of Portuguese immigrants is so large, they often use their mother tongue in the workplace (especially in the construction, hospitality and cleaning industries) as well as during their leisure time (clubs, societies, cafes, etc.).

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Les langues au travail

La situation linguistique du Luxembourg est complexe. Les trois langues d’usage dans la vie quotidienne sont le luxembourgeois, l’allemand et le français. Dans le monde du travail, selon l’origine ou la nationalité d’une entreprise, la langue de travail peut être le luxembourgeois, le français, l’allemand, l’anglais et même le portugais. Ce sont le français et l’anglais qui dominent largement, surtout dans le secteur des services.

La population active étant représentée majoritairement par des étrangers – résidents et frontaliers français, belges et allemands –, le français est la langue de communication principale, suivie du luxembourgeois, de l’allemand, de l’anglais et du portugais.

Le français est surtout utilisé dans le secteur du commerce et dans celui de l’hôtellerie, de la restauration et des cafés, principalement dans la capitale et ses alentours. Le nord du pays constitue l’exception, car c’est la seule région où le luxembourgeois devance le français.

Les langues parlées au travail, à l'école et/ou à la maison, tel est le sujet d'une étude publiée en 2013 par le Statec, suite au recensement de la population de 2011. Il en ressort que 70,5% de la population utilise le luxembourgeois au travail, à l'école et/ou à la maison, 55,7% le français et 30,6% l'allemand. En moyenne, 2,2 langues sont utilisées.

Selon une étude de l'Université du Luxembourg (2010), le français est la langue la plus demandée dans les offres d'emploi au Luxembourg. Le luxembourgeois y figure comme une connaissance impérative dans près de 45% des offres.

L’anglais sert de langue véhiculaire à l’importante communauté internationale qui travaille auprès des institutions européennes et au personnel employé dans le domaine bancaire et industriel. L’anglais est devenu la langue des affaires et de la finance et, le plus souvent, il est utilisé aux réunions entre personnes de différentes nationalités.

Au vu de la grande communauté d’immigrés que représentent les Portugais, ces derniers utilisent fréquemment leur langue maternelle aussi bien sur le lieu de travail (surtout dans les secteurs du bâtiment, de l’hôtellerie et du nettoyage) que pendant leurs loisirs (associations, amicales, cafés…).

  • Mis à jour le 07-04-2015