Foreign workers

This page is intended for all non-residents seeking employment in the Grand Duchy: European Union nationals, cross-border workers or third-country nationals. It gives you information about the steps to be taken regarding immigration and access to employment. You will find useful information on finding a job in the Grand Duchy on our 'Finding a job' page.

EU nationals

All nationals of European Union (EU) member states or of countries treated as such are entitled to free circulation within the EU, giving them the right to work and live anywhere in the EU. The following countries are assimilated to the European Union member states:

  • Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway as signatories of the European Economic Area (EEA) Agreement;
  • the Swiss Confederation.

For more information

Legal and administrative formalities

In most cases, the legal formalities for registering in Luxembourg (registration with the social security and tax authorities, etc.) will be performed by your new employer.

Social security

All EU citizens have the same social security benefits linked to a contract of employment as those accorded to nationals. These cover sick leave and maternity leave, unemployment benefits and family allowances, industrial accidents and occupational diseases, as well as disability and old age pensions.

Cross-border workers

Luxembourg has a very high number of cross-border workers. For more information on procedures in respect of migrant workers living in regions bordering the Grand Duchy, see:

Third-country nationals

Third-country nationals need an authorisation to stay (autorisation de séjour), followed by a residence permit (titre de séjour), in order to work in the Grand Duchy. For more information on what to do to enter the Luxembourg employment market as a third-country national, please visit:

  • Updated 12-01-2017

Travailleurs étrangers

Cette page s'adresse à toute personne non-résidente désireuse de trouver un emploi au Grand-Duché: ressortissants de l'Union européenne, travailleurs frontaliers ou ressortissants de pays tiers. Elle vous donne des informations sur les démarches à faire en matière d'immigration et d'accès à l'emploi. Vous trouverez des informations utiles sur la recherche d'un emploi au Grand-Duché sur notre page "Trouver un emploi".

Ressortissants de l’Union européenne

Tout ressortissant de l’Union européenne (UE) ou d’un pays assimilé bénéficie de la libre circulation au sein de l’UE, ce qui lui donne le droit de travailler et de séjourner dans n'importe quel pays de l'UE. Sont assimilés aux Etats membres de l’Union européenne:

  • l’Islande, le Liechtenstein et la Norvège en tant qu’Etats parties à l’Accord sur l’Espace économique européen (EEE);
  • la Confédération suisse.

Pour en savoir plus:

Formalités légales et administratives

Dans la plupart des cas, les formalités légales d’enregistrement au Luxembourg (inscription à la sécurité sociale, à l’administration fiscale, etc.) seront effectuées par votre nouvel employeur.

Sécurité sociale

Tous les citoyens de l’UE bénéficient des mêmes prestations de sécurité sociale liées à un contrat de travail que celles accordées aux ressortissants nationaux. Sont concernés les congés de maladie et de maternité, les prestations de chômage et les allocations familiales, les accidents du travail et les maladies professionnelles, ainsi que les pensions d’invalidité et de vieillesse.

Travailleurs frontaliers

Le Luxembourg connaît un nombre très élevé de travailleurs frontaliers. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les démarches à faire en tant que travailleur migrant habitant les régions limitrophes du Grand-Duché, consultez

Ressortissants de pays tiers

Les ressortissants de pays tiers ont besoin d’une autorisation de séjour, puis d’un titre de séjour pour pouvoir travailler au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les démarches à faire pour accéder au marché de l'emploi luxembourgeois en tant que ressortissant d'un pays tiers,

  • Mis à jour le 28-12-2016