Cultural festivals

The Grand Duchy is happy to be able to host a vast number of cultural festivals of all kinds each year, in the fields of theatre, dance, music, the cinema and literature.

Classical music, theatre, dance

One of the most famous music festivals is the Echternach International Festival (from May to December each year), an international festival featuring classical music and jazz, easily equal to some of the greatest events of its kind in Europe.

The multidisciplinary Wiltz Festival in June and July and the Luxembourg Festival in October and November are two more highlights in the cultural calendar.

With Wiltz Castle as its backdrop, the Wiltz Festival, an open-air European festival of music and theatre, offers summer evenings with events in the fields of theatre, opera, dance, classical music and jazz.

The Luxembourg Festival offers about thirty major international productions in areas as diverse as opera, dance, theatre, orchestral music, jazz and world music at the Luxembourg Philharmonie and at the Grand Théâtre in Luxembourg City.

Amplified music

During the summer, many open air music festivals are held across the country. Rock-A-Field is without a doubt the highlight of the Grand Duchy's festival season, particularly for pop-rock.

Throughout the year, Luxembourg City organises a number of cultural festivals such as the Printemps Musical (classical music, jazz), the world music festival MeYouZik, the traditional rock festival Rock um Knuedler (July) and Live at Vauban (October-November), with a repertoire of rock, pop, blues and jazz.

Cinema

The main cinema theatres regularly organise themed seasons, such as the Catalan cinema season and the gay and lesbian film festival. Luxembourg City has its own international cinema festival, entitled Luxembourg City Film Festival, a general festival which aims to arouse the curiosity of cinemagoers of all ages.

Literature

In the field of literature, events which attract a wide public include the 'Walfer Bicherdeeg' (Walferdange Book Days), organised by the Walferdange municipal authorities and held in November each year, and the International Festival of the Comic Strip in Contern.

Dance

Initiated by TROIS C-L in 2015, 'Les Émergences' is intended as a festival to increase the visibility of contemporary choreography. Young choreographers are able to perform and present their work to a wide audience.

  • You will find details of the other dance events in our pages devoted to dance.
  • Updated 19-09-2017

Festivals culturels

Le Luxembourg se réjouit de pouvoir accueillir chaque année une pléthore de festivals culturels de tout genre que ce soit dans le domaine du théâtre et de la danse, de la musique, du cinéma ou de la littérature.

Musique classique, théâtre, danse

Parmi les festivals de musique les plus renommés figure le Festival international Echternach (de mai à décembre), un festival international de musique classique et de jazz, digne des plus grandes manifestations de ce genre en Europe.

Pluridisciplinaires, le Festival de Wiltz en juin et juillet et le Luxembourg Festival, aux mois d'octobre et novembre, sont deux autres points forts de l'année culturelle.

Avec le château de Wiltz servant de cadre, le Festival de Wiltz, festival européen de musique et de théâtre en plein air, propose des soirées d'été dans le domaine du théâtre, de l'opéra, de la danse ainsi que de la musique classique et du jazz.

Le Luxembourg Festival permet de découvrir une trentaine de grandes productions internationales dans des domaines aussi divers que l’opéra, la danse, le théâtre, l’orchestre, le jazz et les musiques du monde à la Philharmonie Luxembourg et au Grand Théâtre de la Ville de Luxembourg.

Musiques amplifiées

Pendant l’été, nombreux sont les festivals de musique en plein air organisés dans les quatre coins du pays. Le Rock-A-Field est le highlight incontesté de la saison des festivals au Luxembourg, surtout dans le domaine pop-rock.

Pendant toute l’année, la ville de Luxembourg organise un certain nombre de festivals culturels comme le Printemps musical (musique classique, jazz), le festival World MeYouZik ou le traditionnel festival de musique rock Rock um Knuedler (juillet) avec un répertoire de rock, pop, blues et jazz.

Cinéma

Les principales salles de cinéma organisent régulièrement des cycles thématiques, tels que le cycle de cinéma catalan ou le festival du film gay et lesbien. La Ville de Luxembourg s'est dotée d'un festival international de cinéma avec le Luxembourg City Film Festival, festival généraliste dont l'objectif est de nourrir la curiosité de grands et petits.

Littérature

Dans le domaine de la littérature, des manifestations littéraires attirant un grand public sont les Walfer Bicherdeeg organisés en novembre par la commune de Walferdange et le Festival international de la bande dessinée de Contern.

Danse

Initié par le TROIS C-L en 2015, "Les Émergences" se voit comme festival de mise en valeur de la création chorégraphique contemporaine. Des jeunes chorégraphes peuvent se produire et présenter leurs mises en scène à un public large.

  • Mis à jour le 15-03-2018