Cultural events and festivals throughout the year

February

Carnival

Luxembourgers love to celebrate Carnival, which traditionally takes place from 2 February ('Liichtmëssdag' or Candlemas Day) through to Ash Wednesday ('Aschermëttwoch', in early March).

During those five weeks, including the 'Fuessonnden' (Carnival Sunday) and 'Fuesméinden' (Carnival Monday), a multitude of masked balls, parades and cavalcades are organized for children and adults.

For more information, please visit our 'Carnival' page in the 'Festivals and traditions' section.

Buergbrennen

On the first Sunday after Carnival, the 'Buergen' (torches) are lit across the Grand Duchy to chase away the winter.

The blaze symbolises the rebirth of spring and the end of winter, the triumph of warm over cold, of light over darkness.

For more information, please visit our 'Buergbrennen' page in the 'Festivals and traditions' section.

Jazz Festival 'Piano plus'

Launched in 2008, the jazz festival 'Piano plus' takes place every two years at the Neumünster Abbey Cultural and Meeting Centre in Luxembourg City. It pairs virtuoso jazz pianists with other talented musicians. The festival is produced jointly by Jazz in Luxembourg (JAIL) and the Neimënster — Neumünster Abbey Cultural Exchange Centre.

For more information: www.ccrn.lu.

Baroque music festival 'B-days'

The Centre des arts pluriels d'Ettelbruck and the Conservatoire de musique du nord organise 'B-days', the biennial regional Baroque music festival. Concerts are held either at the plural arts centre in Ettelbruck or in cultural infrastructures in the surrounding area.

For more information: www.cape.lu.

Luxembourg City Film Festival

Launched in 2011, the Luxembourg City Film Festival, is the reference event for movies in Luxembourg. As a festival designed for the general public, the Luxembourg City Film Festival aims at feeding the curiosity of everyone, of children and adults alike, by programming local as well as international films, selected among contemporary productions or among cinematographic heritage.

Besides its role in the discovery of new productions, the festival chooses to be different through an original programme, to promote the creation of Luxembourgish productions, and to provide a specific section for young audiences, children and adolescents. The festival awards the Grand Prix and the Critics' Prize.

For more information: www.luxfilmfest.lu/de.

  • Updated 30-01-2017

Manifestations et fêtes populaires au rythme de l'année

Février

Carnaval

Les Luxembourgeois adorent célébrer le Carnaval, qui se déroule traditionnellement du 2 février (Liichtmëssdag ou jour de la Chandeleur) au mercredi des Cendres (Aschermëttwoch, début mars).

Au cours de ces cinq semaines, et notamment le Fuessonnden (dimanche de Carnaval) et le Fuesméinden (lundi de Carnaval), une multitude de bals masqués, cortèges et cavalcades sont organisés pour petits et grands.

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter notre page "Carnaval" dans la rubrique "Fêtes et traditions".

Buergbrennen

Le premier dimanche après carnaval, les Buergen (brandons) sont allumés à travers le Grand-Duché pour chasser l’hiver.

Le feu symbolise la renaissance du printemps qui chasse l’hiver; c’est le triomphe de la chaleur sur le froid, de la lumière sur la pénombre.

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter notre page "Buergbrennen" dans la rubrique "Fêtes et traditions".

Festival de jazz "Piano plus"

Lancé en 2008, le festival de jazz "Piano plus" a lieu tous les ans au Centre culturel de rencontre Abbaye de Neumünster à Luxembourg. Il associe en duo des virtuoses du piano jazz à d'autres musiciens de talent. Il s'agit d'une coproduction signée Jazz in Luxembourg (JAIL) et Centre culturel de rencontre Abbaye de Neumünster.

Pour en savoir plus: www.ccrn.lu.

Festival de musique baroque "B-days"

Le Centre des arts pluriels d'Ettelbruck et le Conservatoire de musique du nord organisent le festival régional bisannuel de musique baroque "B-days". Les concerts ont lieu soit au Centre des arts pluriels d'Ettelbruck, soit dans des infrastructures culturelles des communes de la région.

Pour en savoir plus: www.cape.lu.

Luxembourg City Film Festival

Lancé en 2011, le Luxembourg City Film Festival, est l'événement cinématographique de référence au Luxembourg. Festival généraliste, l'objectif du Luxembourg City Film Festival est de nourrir la curiosité de chacun, grands et petits, en programmant des oeuvres internationales et luxembourgeoises, sélectionnées dans l'actualité ou dans le patrimoine cinématographique.

Outre sa vocation à la découverte, le Luxembourg City Film Festival a choisi de se distinguer par l'originalité de sa programmation, de promouvoir la création luxembourgeoise et de proposer un volet spécifique aux jeunes publics, enfants et adolescents. Le festival décerne le Grand Prix et le Prix de la critique.

Pour en savoir plus: www.luxfilmfest.lu/de.

  • Mis à jour le 30-01-2017