Cultural events and festivals throughout the year


Luxembourg City Film Festival

Launched in 2011, the Luxembourg City Film Festival is the reference event for movies in Luxembourg. As a festival designed for the general public, Discovery Zone aims at feeding the curiosity of everyone, of children and adults alike, by programming local as well as international films, selected among contemporary productions or among cinematographic heritage.

Besides its role in the discovery of new productions, the festival chooses to be different through an original programme, to promote the creation of Luxembourgish productions, and to provide a specific section for young audiences, children and adolescents. The festival awards the Grand Prix and the Critics' Prize.

For more information:

Festival international Echternach

Since 1975, Luxembourg has been hosting the Festival International Echternach every year between March and December, a festival of classical and jazz music of international renown.

The festival features well-known artists, as well as promising talents or winners of national and international competitions.

The festival programme ranges from medieval music to world music, via classical music and jazz.

Every year, it transforms the small medieval town of Echternach into a mecca of music.

Printemps musical

Since 1982, the Luxembourg City Tourist Office (LCTO) has been organising every year from March to May the Printemps musical — Festival de Luxembourg.

This festival of world music and jazz offers a mix of prestigious celebrities and groundbreaking discoveries in the best concert halls in the Grand Duchy's capital.

All concerts make proof of an openness towards and an incredible mix of music styles.

Established in 1982, the festival has become somewhat of an evergreen that deeply marks the cultural life of the capital of the Grand Duchy.

Invitation aux musées

On the last weekend of March, the group 'd’stater muséeën' (museums of Luxembourg City) organises an open doors weekend in forty museums in the country, which open their doors to offer tours, workshops, performances, meetings with artists, lectures, concerts, tastings and entertainment for children.

Free shuttles are available to further accentuate the walk and discover-feature.

Admission to the museums is free.

Festival des migrations, des cultures et de la citoyenneté

Organised since 1982 by the Liaison Committee of associations for foreigners (Comité de liaison des associations d'étrangers, CLAE), the Festival of Migration, Culture and Citizenship celebrates the multicultural aspect of Luxembourg's society and aims to strengthen links between the foreign communities, provide information and encourage the debate on the role of immigration and social cohesion in Luxembourg.

The public has the opportunity to experience different cultures through debates, roundtables and nearly 300 booths, as well as culinary specialties, exhibitions, concerts, shows and entertainment for children.

The very popular 'Salon du livre et des cultures' (fair of books and cultures), organised since 1990, is also part of the festival.

The festival spans a weekend at Luxexpo in Luxembourg City. For more information:

Festival Humour pour la paix

Established in 2007, the Humor for Peace Festival (Festival Humour pour la paix) is dedicated to the Iraqi comedian Walid Hassan, assassinated in 2006. It is organised by the Neumünster Abbey Cultural and Meeting Centre (Neimënster — Centre culturel de rencontre Abbaye de Neumünster, CCRN) and showcases, over a week, international comedians including an evening specially dedicated to Luxembourg humour.

For more information:

De klenge Maarnicher Festival

Founded in 1987, 'De Klenge Maarnicher Festival' (Small Marnach Festival) is a classical music festival which takes place annually during the months of March and April in different localities of the Luxembourg Ardennes. The aim is to contribute to a high-quality decentralised cultural offer. The festival invites Luxembourgish and international musicians.

For more information:

Musek am Syrdall

Founded in 1987, 'Musek am Syrdall' (music in the Syr valley) is a classical music festival held from March to May each year in the various municipalities in the Syr valley in the eastern part of the Grand Duchy. The aim is to contribute to a high-quality decentralised cultural offer. The festival invites Luxembourgish and international musicians.

For more information:

Baroque music festival 'B-days'

The Centre des arts pluriels d'Ettelbruck and the Conservatoire de musique du nord organise 'B-days', the biennial regional Baroque music festival. Concerts are held either at the plural arts centre in Ettelbruck or in cultural infrastructures in the surrounding area.

For more information:

  • Updated 28-02-2017

Manifestations et fêtes populaires au rythme de l'année

Mars

Luxembourg City Film Festival

Lancé en 2011, le Luxembourg City Film Festival, est l'événement cinématographique de référence au Luxembourg. Festival généraliste, l'objectif de Discovery Zone est de nourrir la curiosité de chacun, grands et petits, en programmant des oeuvres internationales et luxembourgeoises, sélectionnées dans l'actualité ou dans le patrimoine cinématographique.

Outre sa vocation à la découverte, le Luxembourg City Film Festival a choisi de se distinguer par l'originalité de sa programmation, de promouvoir la création luxembourgeoise et de proposer un volet spécifique aux jeunes publics, enfants et adolescents. Le festival décerne le Grand Prix et le Prix de la critique.

Pour en savoir plus: www.luxfilmfest.lu/fr.

Festival international Echternach

Depuis 1975, le Luxembourg accueille tous les ans entre mars et décembre le Festival international Echternach, festival de musique classique et de jazz de renommée internationale.

Le festival accueille de grands artistes consacrés, tout comme des talents prometteurs ou les lauréats de concours nationaux et internationaux.

Le programme du festival va de la musique médiévale aux musiques du monde en passant par la musique classique et le jazz.

Il transforme chaque année la petite ville médiévale d’Echternach en un haut lieu de la musique.

Printemps musical

De mars à mai, le Luxembourg City Tourist Office (LCTO) organise chaque année depuis 1982 le Printemps musical – Festival de Luxembourg.

Ce festival de musique world et jazz propose un mélange de vedettes prestigieuses et de découvertes inédites dans les meilleures salles de concert de la capitale.

Tous les concerts témoignent d’une ouverture et d’un mélange incroyable de styles de musique.

Créé en 1982, le festival est devenu un véritable evergreen qui marque profondément la vie culturelle de la capitale luxembourgeoise.

Invitation aux musées

Le dernier week-end de mars, le groupement "d’stater muséeën" (les musées de la ville de Luxembourg) organise un week-end portes ouvertes dans une quarantaine de musées du pays, qui vous ouvrent leurs portes pour vous proposer visites guidées, ateliers, performances, rencontres avec les artistes, conférences, concerts, dégustations et animations pour enfants.

Des navettes gratuites permettent d’accentuer encore ce caractère de promenade et de découverte.

L’entrée aux musées est entièrement gratuite.

Festival des migrations, des cultures et de la citoyenneté

Organisé depuis 1982 par le CLAE, le Comité de liaison des associations d'étrangers, le festival des migrations, des cultures et de la citoyenneté célèbre la société multiculturelle du Luxembourg et vise à renforcer les liens entre les communautés, fournir des informations et susciter le débat sur le rôle de l'immigration et la cohésion sociale au Luxembourg.

Le grand public a l'occasion de découvrir les différentes cultures à travers près de 300 stands associatifs, des débats et tables rondes, de même que des spécialités culinaires, expositions, concerts, spectacles et animations pour enfants.

Le festival intègre aussi le très populaire Salon du livre et des cultures, organisé depuis 1990.

Le festival se tient le temps d'un week-end à Luxexpo à Luxembourg-ville. Pour en savoir plus: www.clae.lu.

Festival Humour pour la paix

Créé en 2007, le festival Humour pour la paix est dédié à l'humoriste irakien Walid Hassan, assassiné en 2006. Il est organisé par le Centre culturel de rencontre Abbaye de Neumünster (CCRN) et présente, pendant une semaine, des comiques internationaux ainsi qu'une soirée dédiée à l'humour luxembourgeois.

Pour en savoir plus: www.ccrn.lu.

De klenge Maarnicher Festival

Fondé en 1987, De klenge Maarnicher Festival (le petit festival de Marnach) est un festival de musique classique qui se déroule annuellement pendant les mois de mars et avril dans différentes localités des Ardennes luxembourgeoises. L'objectif est de contribuer à une offre culturelle décentralisée de haute qualité. Le festival invite des musiciens luxembourgeois et internationaux.

Pour en savoir plus: www.dkmf.lu.

Musek am Syrdall

Fondé en 1987, Musek am Syrdall (musique dans la vallée de la Syre) est un festival de musique classique qui se déroule annuellement de mars à mai dans les différentes communes de la vallée de la Syre à l'est du Luxembourg. L'objectif est de contribuer à une offre culturelle décentralisée de haute qualité. Le festival invite des musiciens luxembourgeois et internationaux.

Pour en savoir plus: msyrdall.betzdorf.lu

Festival de musique baroque "B-days"

Le Centre des arts pluriels d'Ettelbruck et le Conservatoire de musique du nord organisent le festival régional bisannuel de musique baroque "B-days". Les concerts ont lieu soit au Centre des arts pluriels d'Ettelbruck, soit dans des infrastructures culturelles des communes de la région.

Pour en savoir plus: www.cape.lu.

  • Mis à jour le 28-02-2017