Cultural events and festivals throughout the year

May

The Oktav

Every year, from the 3rd to the 5th Sunday after Easter, the Oktav takes place in Luxembourg City, an annual pilgrimage in honour of Our Lady of Luxembourg, the country's largest religious festival.

The Oktav is traditionally accompanied by a market at Knuedler square (Place Guillaume II), the Mäertchen (literally: small market).

Attracting some 90,000 faithful each year, the Oktav is today still one of the country's most important religious events.

Printemps musical

Since 1982, the Luxembourg City Tourist Office (LCTO) has organised a musical spring festival, the Printemps musical — Festival de Luxembourg from March to May each year.

This festival of world music and jazz offers a mix of prestigious celebrities and groundbreaking discoveries in the best concert halls in the capital.

All concerts showcase an openness and incredible mix of music styles.

In its 30 years of existence, the festival has become somewhat of an evergreen that deeply marks the cultural life of the capital of the Grand Duchy.

Danz Festival Lëtzebuerg

Each year in late May, Danz Festival Lëtzebuerg (dance festival Luxembourg) sees itself as a platform for a meeting of dancers and choreographers from Luxembourg and the Greater Region with internationally renowned companies.

Organised since 2005, Danz Festival puts a special focus on a different country every year.

Apart from dance, it offers exhibitions, conferences and a programme aimed at a young public.

Like A Jazz Machine

Launched in 2012, the Dudelange cultural centre opderschmelz organises the international jazz festival 'Like A Jazz Machine'. The festival offers a range which is both diverse and representative of contemporary trends.

It mixes big international names with those of the lively national scene (Pascal Schumacher, David Laborier, Maxime Bender, Francesco Tristano, Michel Reis, Marc Demuth, Paul Wiltgen, ...), which is making a name for itself on an international level.

Dudelange, a city closely linked to the jazz scene for more than 20 years, has over the years become a real 'jazz capital' of the country. The aim of the festival, which is on track to becoming a major event in the cultural life of the country, is to showcase jazz and attract new audiences

For more information: www.jazzmachine.lu

Festival of industrial culture and innovation

The Festival of industrial culture and innovation, which was first held in 2014, takes place from May until July with the participation of 25 cultural and economic operators from the Land of the Red Rocks and under the leadership of the Fondation Bassin minier. The programme is impressively diverse: movies, theatres, exhibitions, visits and walks, as well as conferences, discussions and workshops. The theme of the festival is the working class and industrial culture in Luxembourg in general.

For more information: www.fondationbassinminier.lu

'Saveurs culturelles du monde' festival

The 'Saveurs culturelles du monde' festival was launched in 2005 and is held every year at the end of May at Casino 2000 in Mondorf-les-Bains. During one weekend, headliners as well as rising stars of the regional cultural scene perform in about 30 concerts, performances and exhibitions, aiming to celebrate cultural diversity.

For more information: www.casino2000.lu

Musek am Syrdall

Founded in 1987, 'Musek am Syrdall' (music in the Syr valley) is a classical music festival held from March to May each year in the various municipalities in the Syr valley in the eastern part of the Grand Duchy. The aim is to contribute to a high-quality decentralised cultural offer. The festival invites Luxembourgish and international musicians.

For more information: msyrdall.betzdorf.lu

European Month of Photography

Since 2006, Luxembourg City has been one of the seven European capitals (the others are Berlin, Paris, Vienna, Bratislava, Budapest and Ljubljana) that organise the 'European Month of Photography' festival every other year.

The festival takes place in April and May, with the help of around twenty partners, such as museums, art galleries, and financial institutions. The aim of the festival is to promote European photography, whether established or emerging. The European Month of Photography Arendt Award was awarded for the first time in 2013. In Luxembourg, the European Month of Photography is organised by the association 'Café-Crème'.

For more information: www.emoplux.lu

  • Updated 02-05-2018

Manifestations et fêtes populaires au rythme de l'année

Mai

L'"Oktav"

Du 3e au 5e dimanche après Pâques a lieu tous les ans à Luxembourg-ville l'"Oktav", un pèlerinage annuel en l’honneur de Notre-Dame de Luxembourg, la fête religieuse la plus importante du pays.

L'Oktav s'accompagne traditionnellement d'un marché au Knuedler (place Guillaume II), le Mäertchen (petit marché).

Attirant tous les ans quelques 90.000 fidèles, l'Octav est aujourd'hui encore l'un des événements religieux les plus importants du pays.

Printemps musical

De mars à mai, le Luxembourg City Tourist Office (LCTO) organise chaque année depuis 1982 le Printemps musical – Festival de Luxembourg.

Ce festival de musique jazz et world propose un mélange de vedettes prestigieuses et de découvertes inédites dans les meilleures salles de concert de la capitale.

Tous les concerts témoignent d’une ouverture et d’un mélange incroyable de styles de musique.

En 30 ans d’existence, le festival est devenu un véritable evergreen qui marque profondément la vie culturelle de la capitale luxembourgeoise.

Festival international Echternach

Depuis 1975, le Luxembourg accueille tous les ans entre mars et décembre le Festival international Echternach, festival de musique classique et de jazz de renommée internationale.

Le festival accueille de grands artistes consacrés, tout comme des talents prometteurs ou les lauréats de concours nationaux et internationaux.

Le programme du festival va de la musique médiévale aux musiques du monde en passant par la musique classique et le jazz.

Il transforme chaque année la petite ville médiévale d’Echternach en un haut lieu de la musique.

Danz Festival Lëtzebuerg

Chaque année fin mai, le Danz Festival Lëtzebuerg (festival de danse Luxembourg) se positionne comme plateforme de rencontre de danseurs et de chorégraphes du Luxembourg et de la Grande Région avec des compagnies internationales de renoms.

Organisé depuis 2005, le Danz Festival met chaque année un focus spécial sur un pays.

A part les spectacles de danse, il propose des expositions, conférences et une programmation jeune public.

Like A Jazz Machine

Lancé en 2012, le centre culturel opderschmelz de Dudelange organise le festival international de jazz "Like A Jazz Machine". Le festival propose un éventail à la fois diversifié et représentatif des courants contemporains.

Il mélange de grands noms internationaux à ceux de la très vivante scène nationale (Pascal Schumacher, David Laborier, Maxime Bender, Francesco Tristano, Michel Reis, Marc Demuth, Paul Wiltgen, ...), qui s'imposent de plus en plus au niveau international.

La ville de Dudelange, étroitement liée depuis plus de 20 ans à la scène de jazz, est devenue au fil des années une véritable "capitale du jazz" du pays. L'objectif du festival, qui est en bonne voie pour devenir un des événements majeurs de la vie culturelle du pays, est de faire rayonner le jazz et d'attirer de nouveaux publics

Pour en savoir plus: www.jazzmachine.lu

Festival de la culture industrielle et de l'innovation

Lancé en 2014, le Festival de la culture industrielle et de l'innovation est décliné entre mai et juillet par pas moins de 25 acteurs culturels et économiques de la région des Terres rouges et sous la houlette de la Fondation Bassin minier. Le programme est d'une variété impressionnante: films, théâtre, expositions, visites, promenades se relayent avec des conférences, tables rondes et ateliers. Le sujet fédérateur reste le milieu ouvrier et la culture industrielle luxembourgeoise, au sens large.

Pour en savoir plus: www.fondationbassinminier.lu

Festival Saveurs culturelles du monde

Lancé en 2005, le festival Saveurs culturelles du monde se tient annuellement vers la fin-mai au Casino 2000 de Mondorf-les-Bains. Entre têtes d'affiche et étoiles montantes de la scène régionale et internationale, le festival accueille, le temps d'un week-end, une trentaine de concerts, spectacles et expositions pour célébrer la diversité culturelle.

Pour en savoir plus: www.casino2000.lu

Musek am Syrdall

Fondé en 1987, Musek am Syrdall (musique dans la vallée de la Syre) est un festival de musique classique qui se déroule annuellement de mars à mai dans les différentes communes de la vallée de la Syre à l'est du Luxembourg. L'objectif est de contribuer à une offre culturelle décentralisée de haute qualité. Le festival invite des musiciens luxembourgeois et internationaux.

Pour en savoir plus: msyrdall.betzdorf.lu

Mois européen de la photographie

Depuis 2006, le Luxembourg fait partie des 7 capitales européennes (Berlin, Paris, Vienne, Bratislava, Budapest, Ljubljana et Luxembourg) qui organisent tous les deux ans le Mois européen de la photographie, festival consacré à la photographie.

Le festival a lieu aux mois d'avril et de mai et implique au Luxembourg une vingtaine de partenaires: musées, galeries d'art et institutions financières. Le but du festival est la promotion de la photographie européenne, qu'elle soit établie ou émergente. Le European Month of Photography Arendt Award est décerné pour la première fois en 2013. Au Grand-Duché, le Mois européen de la photographie est organisé par l'association Café-Crème.

Pour en savoir plus: www.emoplux.lu

  • Mis à jour le 08-09-2017