Cultural events and festivals throughout the year

June

Gënzefest

Every Whit Monday, the city of Wiltz, in the north of the country, organises its traditional Gënzefest (broom festival).

Celebrated since 1949 in the Ardennes town, the Gënzefest honours broom, a yellow-flowered shrub particularly abundant on the hills of the Oesling region at this time of the year, which literally bathes the landscape in a golden yellow every year.

The Gënzefest is organised by the association 'Les Amis de la féerie du genêt de Wiltz'; it is best known for its impressive flower parade featuring broom: more than forty floats, all decorated with broom, together with music and folk groups from the Grand Duchy and further afield, parade through the streets of the town.

The Hopping Procession of Echternach

Every Whit Tuesday, the 'Echternach Sprangprëssessioun' (the Hopping Procession of Echternach) takes place in Echternach.

The procession in honour of St Willibrord is known for its dance, which involves hopping two steps to the left and two steps to the right.

The dancers, lined up in rows of five or six people abreast, hold each other by the end of their handkerchiefs and hop to the sounds of the catchy and singular tune of the procession; their route takes them past St Willibrordus, at rest in the crypt of the Basilica in Echternach.

This medieval religious tradition, known well beyond the borders of the Grand Duchy, was included on UNESCO's List of Intangible Cultural Heritage in 2010.

Mothers' Day

'Mammendag' (Mothers' Day) is celebrated each year in the Grand Duchy on the second Sunday in June.

The date of Mother's Day varies from country to country, but most countries celebrate it in May. In the Grand Duchy, the festival has been celebrated since the early 20th century.

Wiltz Festival

Every year in June sees the start of the Wiltz Festival, a European outdoor festival of music and theatre of international renown.

Every year since 1953, the festival has featured performances of theatre, dance and opera, as well as concerts of classical music and jazz, staged against the backdrop of Wiltz Castle.

Since its inception, the festival has been able to showcase some of the greatest artistes of our time, including Dee Dee Bridgewater, Maurice Béjart, Chick Corea, Miles Davis, Duke Ellington, Ella Fitzgerald, David Garrett, Herbie Hancock and Mstislav Rostropovich.

Summer in the City

Every year from June to September, the Luxembourg City Tourist Office organises the 'Summer in the City' festivities held in Luxembourg City.

Over a three-month period, outdoor concerts, music festivals, street art events, outdoor screenings, markets, festivals, exhibitions and folk events bring the city to life, to the delight of locals and tourists alike.

The major events in June are the 'Fête de la Musique' (Music Festival) and the National Day (see below).

Echternach International Festival

Since 1975, Luxembourg has been hosting the Festival international Echternach every year between March and December, a festival of classical and jazz music of international renown.

The festival features well-known artistes, as well as promising talents or winners of national and international competitions.

The festival programme ranges from medieval music to world music, via classical music and jazz.

Every year, it transforms the small medieval town of Echternach into a mecca of music.

Festival of industrial culture and innovation

The Festival of industrial culture and innovation, which was first held in 2014, takes place from May until July with the participation of 25 cultural and economic stakeholders from the Land of the Red Rocks and under the leadership of the Fondation Bassin Minier. The programme is impressively diverse: films, plays, exhibitions, visits and walks, as well as lectures, round-table discussions and workshops. The theme of the festival is always very broadly the working class and industrial culture in the Grand Duchy.

For more information visit the website at www.fondationbassinminier.lu

Fundamental Monodrama Festival

During one week in June each year, the Fundamental Monodrama Festival showcases monodrama — a performance with a single artiste on stage — at the Banannefabrik in Luxembourg-Hollerich. New since 2013: children from the age of 5 years upwards have their own 'Minimono' festival, which lasts three days and is held at the Kulturhaus in Niederanven.

International Professional Skills Days in Bourglinster

On the third weekend of June each year, more than 100 artisans and craftsmen present their skills in Bourglinster at the International Professional Skills Days, with demonstrations at the castle and in the streets.

Fête de la musique

21 June is the date each year of the 'Fête de la Musique' (Music Festival), which offers more than 200 free concerts throughout the country.

The 'Fête de la Musique' was celebrated for the first time in 1981, in France; the Grand Duchy joined the movement in 2000, and the event currently attracts around 35,000 spectators every year.

National Day (Fête Nationale)

Since 1961, the Luxembourg National Day has been celebrated on June 23 each year.

Each year, tens of thousands of Luxembourgers, foreign residents and tourists gather on June 23, as well as on June 22 (eve of the National Day) to celebrate together.

While June 23 is usually reserved for ceremonial events such as the Te Deum in the Cathedral of Our Lady in Luxembourg City, the military parade and the 101-gun salute, the eve of National Day on June 22 is celebrated every year with a huge festival, with a 'Fakelzuch' (torchlight parade), fireworks, and countless balls and concerts.

Open Air Art Festival

Since its creation in 1991, the open air art festival ('Open Air Konstfestival') has become an annual event in Lellingen on 23 June, the Grand Duchy's National Day. This small village in the Luxembourg Ardennes is transformed into a lively open-air art gallery. The festival attracts more than 4,500 visitors each year, from the Grand Duchy and further afield. With artists creating works on the spot, musicians, workshops for children and varied entertainments, the day is usually full of surprises.

Flamencofestival Esch

Since 2006, the Flamenco festival in Esch invites headliners in the world of flamenco to perform, displaying the many and surprising facets of flamenco over a one-week period in June, at Esch Theatre and at the Kulturfabrik in Esch-sur-Alzette. For more information: www.kulturfabrik.lu

Festival Rock-A-Field

This open-air music festival has been organised by Den Atelier in June every year since 2005; it takes place near the village of Roeser, in the southern part of the country, in an exceptional natural setting. Staged over three days, the festival features national musicians as well as bands with an international reputation.

Architecture Festival

The Foundation of Architecture and Engineering organises the annual Architecture Festival, which takes place over four weeks in June and July with a specific theme. You can take part in lectures, debates, guided tours, workshops, open days, etc. on the theme of architecture. For more information, visit www.fondarch.lu

AfrikaFestival

'AfrikaFestival Esch' is a three-day festival entirely devoted to African cultures. Organised by the Kulturfabrik cultural centre in Esch-sur-Alzette, the festival offers a showcase for the various African cultures through dance, music, discovery workshops and exhibitions. For more information, visit www.kulturfabrik.lu

  • Updated 14-09-2017

Manifestations et fêtes populaires au rythme de l'année

Juin

Gënzefest

Chaque lundi de Pentecôte, la ville de Wiltz, au Nord du pays, organise son traditionnel Gënzefest (fête ou féerie du genêt).

Célébrée depuis 1949 dans la cité ardennaise, la fête du genêt met à l'honneur le genêt, arbuste à fleur jaune particulièrement abondant sur les collines de la région de l'Oesling à cette époque de l'année et qui fait littéralement baigner le paysage dans un jaune doré.

Organisé par l'association "Les Amis de la féerie du genêt de Wiltz", le Gënzefest est surtout connu pour son impressionnant corso du genêt: plus de 40 chars ornés aux genêts, de même que des groupes musicaux et folkloriques nationaux et internationaux, défilent dans les rues de la ville.

Procession dansante Echternach

Tous les mardis de la Pentecôte a lieu à Echternach la procession dansante d'Echternach.

La procession, faite en l’honneur de saint Willibrord, est connue pour son pas de danse, qui consiste à sautiller deux pas à gauche, deux pas à droite.

Les danseurs, alignés par rangées de cinq à six personnes, se tiennent par le bout de leurs mouchoirs et sautillent aux sons de la mélodie entraînante et singulière de la procession, passant entre autres devant saint Willibrord qui repose dans la crypte de la basilique d'Echternach.

Cette tradition religieuse médiévale, connue bien au-delà des frontières luxembourgeoises, a été inscrite en 2010 sur la liste du patrimoine culturel immatériel de l'Unesco.

Fête des mères

Le 2e dimanche de juin est célébrée le Mammendag, c'est-à-dire la fête des mères au Luxembourg. 

La date de la fête des mères varie d'un pays à l'autre, mais la majorité des pays la célèbrent en mai. Au Luxembourg, la fête est célébrée depuis le début du XXe siècle.

Festival de Wiltz

En juin commence chaque année le Festival de Wiltz, festival européen de musique et de théâtre en plein air de renommée internationale.

Le festival propose tous les ans depuis 1953 des spectacles de théâtre, de danse et d’opéra, ainsi que des concerts de musique classique et de jazz avec le château de Wiltz comme coulisse.

Depuis sa création, le festival a pu présenter à son public quelques-uns des plus grands artistes de notre temps, dont Dee Dee Bridgewater, Maurice Béjart, Chick Corea, Miles Davis, Duke Ellington, Ella Fitzgerald, David Garrett, Herbie Hancock et Mstislav Rostropovitch.

Summer in the City

Chaque année de juin à septembre, le Luxembourg City Tourist Office organise le "Summer in the City", campagne de festivités d’été organisée sur le territoire de la Ville de Luxembourg.

Pendant trois mois, des concerts en plein air, des festivals de musique, des événements d'arts de la rue, des projections en plein air, des marchés, des fêtes, des expositions et des manifestations folkloriques vont animer la ville pour le plaisir des habitants et des touristes.

Les événements phares en juin sont la Fête de la musique et la Fête nationale (voir plus loin).

Festival international Echternach

Depuis 1975, le Luxembourg accueille tous les ans entre mars et décembre le Festival international Echternach, festival de musique classique et de jazz de renommée internationale.

Le festival accueille de grands artistes consacrés, tout comme des talents prometteurs ou les lauréats de concours nationaux et internationaux.

Le programme du festival va de la musique médiévale aux musiques du monde en passant par la musique classique et le jazz.

Il transforme chaque année la petite ville médiévale d’Echternach en un haut lieu de la musique.

Festival de la culture industrielle et de l'innovation

Lancé en 2014, le Festival de la culture industrielle et de l'innovation est décliné entre mai et juillet par pas moins de 25 acteurs culturels et économiques de la région des Terres rouges et sous la houlette de la Fondation Bassin minier. Le programme est d'une variété impressionnante: films, théâtre, expositions, visites, promenades se relayent avec des conférences, tables rondes et ateliers. Le sujet fédérateur reste le milieu ouvrier et la culture industrielle luxembourgeoise, au sens large.

Pour en savoir plus: www.fondationbassinminier.lu

Fundamental Monodrama Festival

Pendant une semaine de juin, le Fundamental Monodrama Festival met le monodrame, soit la performance d'un artiste seul sur scène à l'honneur à la Banannefabrik à Luxembourg-Hollerich. Nouveauté à partir de 2013: les petits à partir de 5 ans ont leur festival, le Minimono, qui s'installe trois jours durant au Kulturhaus Niederanven.

Journées internationales des métiers d’art à Bourglinster

Le 3e weekend de juin, plus de 100 artisans des métiers d'art se produisent à Bourglinster à l'occasion des Journées internationales des métiers d'art et proposent des démonstrations au château et dans les rues de la localité.

Fête de la musique

Le 21 juin a lieu chaque année la Fête de la Musique, proposant plus de 200 concerts gratuits aux quatre coins du Luxembourg!

Créée en 1981 en France, le Luxembourg participe depuis 2000 à la Fête de la musique, une fête qui attire tous les ans autour de 35.000 spectateurs.

Fête nationale

Depuis 1961, la fête nationale luxembourgeoise est célébrée chaque année le 23 juin.

Chaque année, des dizaines de milliers de Luxembourgeois, de résidents étrangers et de touristes se rassemblent le 23 juin, de même que le 22 juin (veille de la fête nationale) pour fêter ensemble.

Tandis que le 23 juin est plutôt réservé aux événements protocolaires comme le Te Deum en la Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Luxembourg, la parade militaire ou les 101 tirs de canons, la veille de la fête nationale, le 22 juin est fêtée chaque année une immense fête populaire, avec le Fakelzuch (retraite aux flambeaux), le feu d’artifice, de même que d'innombrables bals et concerts.

Open Air Konstfestival

Depuis sa création en 1991, le Open Air Konstfestival, festival d’art en plein air, donne annuellement rendez-vous, le 23 juin, journée de la fête nationale luxembourgeoise, à Lellingen. Ce petit village des Ardennes se transforme alors dans une galerie d'art vivante en plein air. Connu au delà des frontières du Grand-duché, le festival attire plus de 4.500 visiteurs. Des artistes créant leurs œuvres sur place, des musiciens, des ateliers pour enfants et une animation variée promettent une journée plein de surprises.

Flamencofestival Esch

Depuis 2006, le Flamencofestival Esch invite les grands noms du flamenco et fait découvrir les multiples et surprenantes facettes de l'art flamenco, pendant une semaine de juin, au Théâtre d'Esch et à la Kulturfabrik à Esch-sur-Alzette. Pour en savoir plus: www.kulturfabrik.lu.

Festival Rock-a-Field

Depuis 2005, Den Atelier organise chaque année fin juin le "Rock-A-Field", un festival de musique en plein air qui se déroule près du village de Roeser, au sud du pays, dans un cadre naturel hors du commun. A l'affiche se trouvent pendant trois jours tant des musiciens nationaux que des groupes de renommée et internationale.

Festival d'architecture

Pendant quatre semaines de juin et juillet, la Fondation de l'architecture et de l'ingénierie organise le festival annuel d'architecture, placé sous un thème. Venez découvrir conférences, débats, visites guidées, ateliers, week-end portes ouvertes, etc. autour du thème de l'architecture. Pour en savoir plus: www.fondarch.lu.

AfrikaFestival

L'AfrikaFestival Esch est un festival de trois jours entièrement dédié aux cultures africaines. Organisé par le centre culturel Kulturfabrik à Esch-sur-Alzette, les différentes cultures du continent africain peuvent être découvertes au moyen de la danse, de la musique, d'ateliers découverte et d'expositions. Pour en savoir plus: www.kulturfabrik.lu.

  • Mis à jour le 08-09-2017