Cultural events and festivals throughout the year

October

Grape and wine festivals

In September and October each year, many wine and grape festivals are organised in the Moselle area.

Different localities along the Moselle offer folk parades, the election of a wine queen, and of course tastings of Luxembourg wines.

Don't forget to taste the Fiederwäissen, the first wine of the season traditionally presented ten days after the beginning of the wine harvest.

Only available for about two weeks, this young wine, a blend of pressed Rivaner and Auxerrois grapes, gives the public a taste of the products of the new year.

The short period of fermentation makes this drink very fruity, with a touch of acidity that contributes to its refreshing effect.

Fathers' Day

Fathers' Day is celebrated in the Grand Duchy on the first Sunday of October each year.

The date of Fathers' Day varies from one country to the next: On 19 March in Italy, Portugal and Spain, the second Sunday in May in the United Kingdom, Ascension Day in Germany, Austria and Denmark, the second Sunday in June in Belgium, and the third Sunday in June in France.

In the Grand Duchy it is on the first Sunday in October, while Mothers' Day is celebrated on the second Sunday in June.

Walnut market

On the second Sunday in October each year, the Veiner Nëssmoort (Vianden walnut market) puts on display many specialities prepared with walnuts: cakes, bread, cheese, creams, liqueurs and 'Nëssdrëpp' (walnut schnapps), known for its beneficial effects on the digestion.

The first Nëssmoort was organised in 1935. Since 1952, it now takes place every year.

More than just a market, the Nëssmoort is above all a place for festivities. Today, this is the best-known event that takes place in this small medieval town.

Heritage Days

In September or October each year, Heritage Days (Journées du Patrimoine) allow the general public to visit for free a large number of monuments and buildings that are often inaccessible under normal circumstances (castles, churches, monasteries, private houses, etc.).

Organised since 1991 on the initiative of the Council of Europe in about fifty countries, the purpose of Heritage Days is to highlight the unity and diversity of the common cultural heritage of Europe.

Besides admittance to various monuments, there is also a very rich programme of walks, guided tours, lectures and exhibitions.

Luxembourg Festival

In October and November, the Philharmonie Luxembourg and the Grand Théâtre de la Ville de Luxembourg organise the Luxembourg Festival, and together they present an artistic programme of exceptional quality.

Since 2007, the Luxembourg Festival has offered outstanding productions as a result of extensive international cooperation.

The festival presents about thirty major international productions each year, in areas as diverse as opera, dance, theatre, orchestra, jazz and world music.

Echternach & Clearstream International Jazz Days

Since 1975, Luxembourg has been hosting the Festival international Echternach every year between March and December; this is a festival of classical and jazz music featuring top international artistes.

The 'Echternach & Clearstream International Jazz Days' jazz festival has been organised since 2008 alongside the more conventional Echternach International Festival of classical music. The Jazz Days are spread over a number of months, from September to December, and take place in the medieval town of Echternach.

Autumn Leaves Jazz Festival

During the second weekend of October each year, the Autumn Leaves Jazz Festival at the Neimënster — Neumünster Abbey Cultural Exchange Centre (CCRN) brings together jazz legends from various backgrounds. Organised by the association Jazz in Luxembourg (JAIL), the festival lasts three days.

'Stories Without Frontiers' festival

For several days each year, the Neimënster — Neumünster Abbey Cultural Exchange Center in Luxembourg City is devoted to storytelling from all over the world and for young and old, with its 'Stories Without Frontiers' annual festival. Audiences are invited to travel from adventure stories to stories of bygone days, humour, the shivers of ghost stories, erotic tales ... and from one language to another: German, French, English and Luxembourgish.

For more information, consult the website at www.neimenster.lu.

'Touch of Noir' festival

'Touch of Noir', created in 2008, is a new type of themed festival, focusing on crime dramas and novels ('films noirs' and 'romans noirs' in French). Live concerts of all kinds, screenings of classic and contemporary 'films noirs', and new cinema concerts are held each year at the opderschmelz cultural centre in Dudelange.

Photomeetings Luxembourg

The Photomeetings festival, which has been held in September and October each year since 2005, revolves around the art of photography. Many internationally renowned photographers attend the Luxembourg event, sharing their passion for photography by taking part in practical workshops and lecturing as well as exhibiting at a number of art galleries in Luxembourg City.

For more information, visit the www.photomeetings.lu website.

'Cineast' film festival

The Cineast festival, founded in 2008, is directed at cinema enthusiasts with a particular interest in central and eastern European cultures. The festival is surprisingly eclectic, with an official competition, a comedy section, a programme showcasing successful western European and American producers, with documentaries, short films, and special screenings. On the fringe of the festival, there are concerts, debates and culinary evenings. The festival, which lasts for more than two weeks, is held in the country's main cinema theatres.

'Cinéma du Sud' film festival

The Cinéma du Sud festival, which started in 2010, is a development education project organised by a group of Luxembourgish NGOs to increase awareness among the general public of important issues related to development through cinema, a medium that is accessible to all. The festival has a different theme each year. It screens a film at the Utopia cinema theatre every Thursday from mid-October to mid-December. Each screening is followed by a debate, with expert speakers on the subject addressed in the film.

British and Irish Film Season

The British and Irish Film Season lasts two weeks at the end of September and the beginning of October. The season has been held since 2010; its aim is to show films of all genres from the British Isles that have not yet been screened in the Grand Duchy. The films are shown in the country's main cinema theatres.

  • Updated 03-10-2017

Manifestations et fêtes populaires au rythme de l'année

Octobre

Fêtes du vin et du raisin

Tous les ans aux mois de septembre et octobre, de nombreuses fêtes du vin et du raisin sont organisées dans la région de la Moselle.

Les différentes localités situées le long de la Moselle proposent cortèges folkloriques, élection de la reine du vin et bien sûr dégustation des vins luxembourgeois.

N'oubliez pas de déguster le Fiederwäissen, le premier vin de la saison, traditionnellement lancé une dizaine de jours après le début des vendanges.

Seulement disponible pour environ 2 semaines, ce vin jeune, un assemblage de raisins pressés Rivaner et Auxerrois, donne au public le goût des produits de la nouvelle année.

La courte période de fermentation rend la boisson très fruitée avec une pointe d'acidité qui contribue à son effet rafraîchissant.

Fête des pères

La fête des pères est célébrée le premier dimanche d'octobre au Luxembourg.

La date de la fête des pères varie d'un pays à l'autre: 19 mars pour l’Italie, le Portugal et l’Espagne, 2e dimanche de mai en Angleterre, jeudi de l’Ascension en Allemagne, en Autriche et au Danemark, deuxième dimanche de juin en Belgique, 3e dimanche de juin en France.

Au Luxembourg, c'est le 1er dimanche d'octobre, tandis que la fête des mères est célébrée le 2e dimanche de juin.

Marché aux noix

Chaque 2e dimanche du mois d’octobre, le Veiner Nëssmoort (marché aux noix de Vianden) vous propose toutes sortes de spécialités préparées avec des noix: gâteaux, pains, fromages, crèmes, liqueurs ou encore la Nëssdröpp (eau de vie de noix), connue pour ses effets positifs sur la digestion.

Le premier Nëssmoort a été organisé en 1935. Depuis 1952, il a lieu tous les ans.

Plus qu'un simple marché, le Nëssmoort est surtout un lieu de fête. C'est aujourd'hui l'événement le plus connu de la petite cité médiévale.

Journées du patrimoine

Chaque année, au cours des mois de septembre ou d'octobre, les Journées du Patrimoine permettent au grand public de visiter gratuitement des monuments et édifices souvent inaccessibles en temps normal (châteaux, églises, abbayes, maisons privées, ...).

Organisées depuis 1991 à l'initiative du Conseil de l'Europe dans une cinquantaine de pays, les Journées du patrimoine ont pour but de rendre compte de l’unité et de la diversité du patrimoine culturel commun à l’Europe.

A part les portes ouvertes, un programme extrêmement riche propose des promenades, des visites guidées, des conférences et des expositions.

Luxembourg Festival

D'octobre à novembre, la Philharmonie Luxembourg et le Grand Théâtre de la Ville de Luxembourg organisent le Luxembourg Festival et présentent ensemble un programme artistique d’une qualité exceptionnelle.

Depuis 2007, le Luxembourg Festival réunit des productions exceptionnelles grâce à une vaste coopération d’un niveau international.

Le festival vous permet de découvrir chaque année une trentaine de grandes productions internationales dans des domaines aussi divers que l’opéra, la danse, le théâtre, l’orchestre, le jazz et les musiques du monde.

Echternach & Clearstream International Jazz Days

Depuis 1975, le Luxembourg accueille tous les ans, entre mars et décembre, le Festival international Echternach, festival de musique classique et de jazz de renommée internationale.

Depuis 2008, un festival de jazz est organisé à côté du festival de musique classique traditionnel, le Echternach & Clearstream International Jazz Days. Les jazz days se déroulent sur plusieurs mois, de septembre à décembre dans la ville médiévale d'Echternach.

Autumn Leaves Jazz Festival

Chaque 2e weekend du mois d'octobre, l'Autumn Leaves Jazz Festival réunit au Neimënster – Centre culturel de rencontre Abbaye de Neumünster à Luxembourg de grands noms du jazz venus de divers horizons. Organisé par l'association Jazz in Luxembourg (JAIL), le festival s'étend sur trois jours.

Festival Contes sans frontières

Pendant plusieurs jours, le Neimënster – Centre culturel de rencontre Abbaye de Neumünster à Luxembourg se dédie aux contes du monde entier et pour tous âges avec son festival annuel Contes sans frontières. Le public est invité à voyager entre récits d'aventures, contes anciens, humour, frissons des histoires de fantômes, vagabondages érotiques... et entre les langues: allemand, français, anglais et luxembourgeois.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le site www.neimenster.lu.

Festival Touch of Noir

Créé en 2008, "Touch of Noir" est une nouvelle forme de festival thématique axé sur le film noir et le roman noir. Des concerts live de tout genre, projections de films noirs classiques et actuels, ciné-concerts inédits se tiennent annuellement au centre culturel opderschmelz à Dudelange.

Photomeetings Luxembourg

Organisé depuis 2005, Photomeetings est un festival autour de la photographie qui a annuellement lieu pendant les mois de septembre et d'octobre. Plusieurs photographes internationalement connus se déplacent alors au Grand-Duché pour partager leur passion, par le biais d'ateliers pratiques, de conférences, mais aussi au sein de plusieurs galeries d'art de la ville de Luxembourg.

Pour en savoir plus: www.photomeetings.lu

Festival de cinéma Cineast

Fondé en 2008, le festival Cineast adresse les cinéphiles passionnés par les cultures d'Europe centrale et orientale. Le festival surprend par son éclectisme avec une compétition officielle, un volet comédie, un programme consacré aux réalisateurs à succès en Europe occidentale et aux Etats-Unis, des documentaires, des courts métrages et des projections spéciales. En marge du festival, se tiennent des concerts, des débats et des soirées culinaires. Le festival qui dure au-delà de deux semaines se déroule dans les principaux cinémas du pays.

Festival Cinéma du Sud

Le festival Cinéma du Sud, né en 2010, est un projet d’éducation au développement organisé par un groupe d'ONGs du Grand-Duché afin de sensibiliser le grand public du Luxembourg à des thématiques fortes touchant au développement, par le biais du cinéma, médium accessible à tous. Chaque année, le festival a une autre thématique. Chaque jeudi de mi-octobre à mi-décembre, ce festival propose la projection d’un film au cinéma Utopia. Chaque projection est suivie d’un débat avec des intervenants experts sur la thématique spécifique abordée.

British and Irish Film Season

Le festival du film irlandais et britannique se tient pendant deux semaines, de fin septembre à début octobre. Organisé depuis 2010, le festival a comme objectif de montrer des films des isles britanniques qui n'ont pas encore été montrés au Grand-Duché, tous genres confondus. Le festival se déroule dans les principaux cinémas du pays.

  • Mis à jour le 03-10-2017