Castles

The castles and the ruins of the fortress are among the main tourist destinations of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. Of the 109 identified castles in the Middle Ages, 76 have more or less survived the ravages of time.

Coveted over the centuries by many foreign powers, the primary purpose of these castles was the military defense. Many of them are perched on a rocky outcrop overlooking a winding valley. Other castles, although fewer in number, are located in a valley. Their moats, once their main element of defense, have long dried up.

Management of the castles

Many castles of the Grand Duchy have become state property. It is the National Sites and Monuments Service which is responsible for the restoration and valorisation of these old feudal residences.

Most of the castles belonging to the state are managed by private associations. Run by volunteers who organise concerts, lectures, art exhibitions or medieval festivals, they make a significant contribution to the cultural life of the castles.

Castles open to the public

Some castles are open to visitors and impress by their size or degree of restoration. Among these castles, let's point out the castles of Vianden, Beaufort, Bourscheid, Larochette or Clervaux, which hosts the prestigious photographic exhibition 'The Family of Man' by Edward Steichen.

Castle ruins, fascinating witnesses of bygone times, are awaiting discovery. The most noteworthy are in Dudelange, Esch-sur-Sûre, Hesperange, Koerich, Pettingen/Mersch and Useldange.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Châteaux

Les châteaux et les vestiges de la forteresse comptent parmi les principaux sites touristiques du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. Sur les 109 châteaux recensés au Moyen-Âge, 76 d'entre eux ont résisté plus ou moins bien aux assauts du temps.

Convoité au fil des siècles par de nombreuses puissances étrangères, la vocation première de ces châteaux était la défense militaire. Beaucoup d’entre eux se dressent sur un éperon rocheux, dominant une vallée sinueuse. D'autres, plus rares, sont situés dans la vallée. Leurs douves, jadis leur principal élément de défense, sont depuis longtemps asséchées.

Gestion des châteaux

Beaucoup de châteaux du Grand-Duché sont devenus propriété de l’Etat. C’est le Service des sites et monuments nationaux qui est chargé de la restauration et de la revalorisation de ces anciennes demeures féodales.

La plupart des châteaux appartenant à l’Etat sont gérés par des associations privées constituées de bénévoles, qui par l’organisation de concerts, de conférences, d’expositions d’art ou de fêtes médiévales, font un apport non négligeable à la vie culturelle des châteaux.

Châteaux ouverts au public

Certains châteaux sont accessibles aux visiteurs et impressionnent par leur taille ou degré de restauration. Parmi ces châteaux, il faut citer les châteaux de Vianden, Beaufort, Bourscheid, Clervaux, abritant la prestigieuse exposition photographique "The Family of Man" d'Edward Steichen, ou Larochette.

Les ruines de châteaux, témoins fascinants d'un temps passé, peuvent également être découvertes par le public. Les plus intéressantes se trouvent à Dudelange, Esch-sur-Sûre, Hesperange, Koerich, Pettingen/Mersch et Useldange.

  • Mis à jour le 07-04-2015