History Museums

National Museum of History and Art

Located in the heart of the old town, the National Museum of History and Art (Musée national d'histoire et d'art, MNHA) houses important historical collections. The museographical tour is spread over 10 levels — five of them underground, dug into the rock — and is chronological. From the depths of prehistory, the visitor climbs from floor to floor as if walking through the corridors of time. The rooms devoted to archeology showcase the human presence on the national territory, from prehistoric remains to the late Middle Ages. The highlights include an impressive series of aristocratic tombs of the late Iron Age and the famous Roman Muses mosaic found in Vichten.

National Museum of Natural History — natur musée

At the National Museum of Natural History (Musée national d'histoire naturelle — natur musée, MNHN), science and natural history are staged as an extraordinary adventure. The natur musée, located in the Grund district in Luxembourg City, in the former Saint-Jean Hospice, invites to the discovery of our planet and to get to know mankind and its environment. A window on the landscape and regions of Luxembourg, the natur musée participates in preserving the natural heritage.

Luxembourg City History Museum

Housed in a set of restored patrician houses in the heart of the old city of Luxembourg, the Luxembourg City History Museum (Musée d'histoire de la ville de Luxembourg, MHVL) invites you to discover the different eras that have marked the evolution of the capital of Luxembourg. The more recent history of the city is presented with the help of a thematic approach, punctuated by works of contemporary artists. Major exhibitions are regularly held on the top three levels.

Musée Dräi Eechelen — Fortress, History, Identitie

The fortress is the symbol of the centuries-long history of the city and the country. Partially demolished following the dismantling of the fortress of Luxembourg in 1867, the remains of the Fort Thüngen and its surroundings were uncovered, restored and rebuilt to accommodate the Musée Dräi Eechelen (Musée Dräi Eechelen — Forteresse, Histoire, Identités, M3E).

The museum, located a few steps from the MUDAM and the Philharmonie, informs the visitor about the fortress of Luxembourg, its history and identity and also serves as basis of information for the Vauban circuit. The Musée Dräi Eechelen is part of the National Museum of History and Art.

National Resistance Museum

The National Resistance Museum (Musée national de la Résistance, MNR) is located in the centre of the City of Esch-sur-Alzette, in a monumental building from 1956. It follows the history of Luxembourg from 1940 to 1945, the Nazi oppression, the reaction of the Luxembourg people (passive resistance, resistance movements, forced conscription, strike, deserters, Luxembourg in the maquis and the Allied armies) to the Liberation, by means of photos, objects and works of art. A second section deals with the Nazi repression and concentration camp system as well as the fate of the Jews of Luxembourg. Regular temporary exhibitions.

National Museum of Military History

Located in Diekirch, the National Museum of Military History (Musée national d'histoire militaire, MNHM) presents the history of the Luxembourg armed forces. Much of the exhibition is dedicated to the Battle of the Bulge in Luxembourg during the winter of 1944-45.

Museumsmile

Visit the seven museums in Luxembourg City, gathered together in the 'Museumsmile': Villa Vauban, Luxembourg Casino, the Luxembourg City History Museum, the National Museum of History and Art, the National Museum of Natural History, the 'Dräi Eechelen' museum and the MUDAM.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Musées d'histoire

Musée national d'histoire et d'art (MNHA)

Situé en plein cœur de la vieille ville, le musée national d’histoire et d’art (MNHA) abrite d'importantes collections historiques. Le parcours muséographique se déploie sur 10 niveaux, dont 5 creusés dans le roc, et se veut chronologique. Des abysses de la préhistoire, le visiteur gravit les étages comme s'il parcourait les couloirs du temps. Les salles consacrées à l'archéologie montrent la présence humaine sur le territoire national, des vestiges préhistoriques à la fin du Moyen-Âge. Parmi les fleurons on peut citer une série impressionnante de tombes aristocratiques de la fin de l'âge de fer ou la célèbre mosaïque romaine aux Muses de Vichten.

Musée national d'histoire naturelle - natur musée

Au Musée national d'histoire naturelle, les sciences et l'histoire naturelle sont vécues comme une aventure extraordinaire. Le natur musée, situé dans le quartier du Grund à Luxembourg-ville dans l'ancien Hospice Saint-Jean, invite à découvrir les miracles de notre planète et à apprendre l'Homme et son environnement. Fenêtre sur les paysages et régions du Luxembourg, le natur musée participe à la conservation du patrimoine naturel.

Musée d'histoire de la ville de Luxembourg

Installé dans un ensemble restauré de maisons patriciennes, au cœur de la vieille ville de Luxembourg, le Musée d'histoire de la Ville de Luxembourg permet de découvrir les différentes époques qui ont marqué l'évolution de la capitale luxembourgeoise. L'histoire plus récente de la ville est présentée à l'aide d'une approche thématique ponctuée par des oeuvres d'artistes contemporains. De grandes expositions temporaires ont lieu régulièrement sur les trois niveaux supérieurs.

Musée Dräi Eechelen - Forteresse, Histoire, Identités

La forteresse est le symbole des siècles d'histoire de la ville et du pays. Partiellement rasés suite au démantèlement de la forteresse de Luxembourg en 1867, les vestiges du fort Thüngen et de ses alentours ont été mis au jour, restaurés et reconstruits afin d'accueillir le Musée Dräi Eechelen.

Le musée, situé à quelques pas du Mudam et de la Philharmonie, informe le visiteur sur la forteresse de Luxembourg, son histoire et ses identités et sert également de base d'information au circuit Vauban. Le Musée Dräi Eechelen fait partie du Musée national d'histoire et d'art (MNHA).

Musée national de la Résistance

Le musée nationale de la Résistance se situe au centre de la ville d’Esch-sur-Alzette, dans un édifice monumental de 1956, et retrace l’histoire du Luxembourg de 1940 à 45, de l’oppression nazie, des réactions du peuple (résistance passive, mouvements de résistance, enrôlement de force, grève, réfractaires, Luxembourgeois dans le maquis et les armées alliées) à la libération, par des photos, objets et œuvres d’art. Un deuxième volet traite la répression nazie et le système concentrationnaire, ainsi que le sort des Juifs du Luxembourg. Expositions temporaires régulières.

Musée national d'histoire militaire

Situé à Diekirch, le Musée national d'histoire militaire présente l'histoire des forces armée luxembourgeoises. Une grande partie de l'exposition est dédiée à la bataille des Ardennes au Luxembourg en hiver 1944-45.

Museumsmile

Visitez les 7 musées de la capitale, regroupés dans le Museumsmile: la Villa Vauban, le Casino Luxembourg, le Musée d'histoire de la Ville de Luxembourg, le Musée national d'histoire et d'art, le Musée national d'histoire naturelle, le Musée Dräi Eechelen, le Mudam.

  • Mis à jour le 21-04-2015