Luxembourg, a bustling capital

There is no season without its celebrations in Luxembourg City. All throughout the year, musical and cultural festivals enliven the narrow streets and attract music lovers and curious people who invade the main squares of the capital.

The capital is also the venue of the main popular and traditional festivals of the country. Thus, on 22 June, the eve of National Day, Luxembourg becomes a huge multicultural festival which is characterised by a torchlight parade and an impressive fireworks display.

From August to September, the city annually hosts the 'Schueberfouer', a fair that attracts the young and old, residents of the city, the country and the Greater Region.

Night owls can find bars and cafes of all kinds in different parts of the old town, Hollerich at Grund and Clausen. Apart from the atmosphere they generate, these bars are for the most part at the foot of the fortress or near the traditional and historic sites of the city and offer a breathtaking view of the illuminated citadel.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Luxembourg, une capitale animée

Il n’y a pas de saison pendant laquelle il n’y aurait pas de fêtes en ville de Luxembourg. Tout au long de l’année des festivals musicaux ou culturels animent les petites ruelles ou attirent des mélomanes et curieux qui envahissent les principales places de la capitale.

La capitale est également le lieu d’organisation des principales fêtes populaires et traditionnelles du pays. Ainsi, le 22 juin, la veille de la fête nationale, Luxembourg se transforme en une immense fête multiculturelle qui se caractérise par une retraite aux flambeaux et un feu d’artifice impressionnant.

D’août en septembre, la ville accueille chaque année la Schueberfouer, une kermesse qui attire grands et petits, habitants de la ville, du pays et de la Grande Région.

Les noctambules trouvent des bars et cafés de tous genres dans différents quartiers de la vieille ville, et dans les faubourgs de Hollerich, du Grund et de Clausen. A part de la bonne ambiance qu’ils dégagent, ces bars et cafés se situent pour la plupart au pied de la forteresse ou près des lieux traditionnels et historiques de la ville et offrent ainsi une vue imprenable sur la citadelle éclairée.

  • Mis à jour le 07-04-2015