Luxembourg, a European Capital

The capital of Luxembourg, a founding member of the European Union, became the temporary headquarters of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) in 1952, and at the same time the first European capital.

Birthplace of Robert Schuman, Luxembourg City is now, together with Brussels and Strasbourg, the third European capital and hosts most of the European institutions on its territory.

Thus, the General Secretariat of the European Parliament, various services of the European Commission, the Court of Justice of the European Communities and the Court of First Instance, the European Court of Auditors, the European Investment Bank and the Publications Office of the European Communities have their headquarters in Luxembourg.

Everyday life is also European through and through. Whether in shops, restaurants or bars, many languages spoken in the European Union make themselves heard in Luxembourg City. With 90%, nationals from the European Union member states are the largest group of foreigners who live and work in Luxembourg City. In fact, foreign nationals represent more than 60% of the population of the city.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Luxembourg, une capitale européenne

La capitale du Luxembourg, un des membres fondateurs de l’Union européenne, est devenu en 1952 le siège provisoire de la Communauté européenne du charbon et de l’acier (CECA) et par la même occasion, la première capitale européenne. 

Ville natale de Robert Schuman, la ville de Luxembourg, est aujourd’hui, à côté de Bruxelles et de Strasbourg, la troisième eurocapitale et compte sur son territoire la plupart des institutions européennes.

Ainsi, le Secrétariat général du Parlement européen, différents services de la Commission européenne, la Cour de justice des Communautés européennes et le Tribunal de première instance, la Cour des comptes européennes, la Banque européenne d’investissement et l’Office des publications officielles des Communautés européennes ont leur siège à Luxembourg.

La vie quotidienne est, elle aussi, européenne de part en part. Que ce soit dans les magasins, les restaurants ou les bistrots, on entend une grande variété de langues de l’Union. Avec 90%, les ressortissants des Etats membres de l’Union européenne forment le groupe le plus important parmi les étrangers qui vivent et travaillent dans la capitale luxembourgeoise et qui représentent plus de 60% de la population de la ville.

  • Mis à jour le 07-04-2015