Visit the capital

There is hardly another European capital that can boast contrasts as impressive as Luxembourg. The capital is a captivating contrast of large and small, old and new, valley and plateau, local and international.

The upper part of the city — the traditional, historical area — is perched on a rocky plateau surrounded by river valleys. The Kirchberg Plateau on the other side of the Alzette valley is the up-to-date contemporary headquarters of many European, cultural and financial institutions. 

Since 1994, the powerful bastions of Luxembourg's former fortifications and the old city centre have been included on UNESCO's World Heritage List.

Luxembourg City is the safest capital in the world; its cosmopolitanism is evident at every level. With a population of more than 100,000, more than 68% of whom are citizens of some 155 different nationalities, Luxembourg City is without a doubt one of the smallest capitals in Europe; above all, it is a real microcosm of Europe.

With its reputation as a financial and banking centre, headquarters of the European institutions, administrative centre for the Grand Duchy and home of the government, the capital has also become the economic centre of the transfrontier Greater Region.

Together with the French city of Metz and the German cities of Saarbrucken and Trier, Luxembourg City is a demonstration of the practical side of transfrontier cooperation within the Quattropole.

  • Updated 11-05-2015

Visiter la capitale

Il n’est guère une autre capitale européenne qui puisse se targuer de contrastes aussi impressionnants que Luxembourg. La capitale offre un jeu fascinant entre du grand et petit, de l'ancien et du contemporain, de vallées et de plateaux, de l'indigène et de l'international.

La ville haute, quartier historique et traditionnel, est perché sur un plateau rocheux entouré par des vallées fluviales. Le plateau de Kirchberg de l'autre côté de la vallée de l'Alzette est le siège moderne et contemporain de nombreuses institutions européennes, culturelles et financières. 

Depuis 1994, les puissants bastions de l'ancienne forteresse de Luxembourg et la vieille ville figurent sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco.

Capitale la plus sûre au monde, Luxembourg affiche un cosmopolitisme à tout niveau. Avec une population dépassant les 100.000 habitants, dont plus de 68% sont des résidents étrangers de quelque 155 nationalités, Luxembourg est certes une des plus petites capitales européennes mais surtout un vrai microcosme européen.

Réputée comme centre financier et bancaire, siège des institutions européennes, centre administratif du pays et siège du gouvernement, la capitale est également devenue le centre économique de la Grande Région transfrontalière.

Ensemble avec la ville française de Metz et les villes allemandes de Sarrebruck et de Trèves, la ville de Luxembourg illustre la coopération transfrontalière dans la pratique dans le cadre de Quattropole.

  • Mis à jour le 06-05-2015