Around the capital

The capital and its surroundings are at the heart of Guttland, geographic region which includes the central and southern parts of the country, extending from the river valleys in the west to the rocky labyrinths in the east.

This area, often called the orchard of Luxembourg, consists mainly of fields and forests. The Grand Duchy's finest forests are to be found here. Therefore, it is hardly surprising that this region is, throughout the year, highly popular with hikers.

Right outside the capital, two large forests invite you to unwind and to pursue sporting activities: the 'Bambësch' and the 'Gréngewald', which are the largest wooded area in the country.

To the west of the capital, the Eisch valley, also called the Valley of the Seven Castles, unites along its 24km length the castles of Mersch, Schoenfels and Hollenfels, the two castles of Ansembourg, the castle of Septfontaines and the ruins of the castle of Koerich. These castles blend harmoniously into a landscape of meadows and historic villages, inviting for long walks in the winding valley of the Eisch.

Hospitable, authentic and beautifully restored villages also await discovery in this region. The picturesque villages of Bourglinster and Useldange are fine examples thereof.

  • Updated 06-05-2015

Environs de la capitale

La capitale et ses environs se situent au cœur du Guttland, région géographique qui comprend le centre et le sud du pays, en s’étendant des vallées fluviales à l’ouest aux labyrinthes rocheux à l’est.

Cette région, souvent appelée le verger du Luxembourg, se compose essentiellement de champs et de forêts. On y trouve les plus beaux ensembles forestiers du Luxembourg. Il est d’ailleurs peu étonnant que cette région fasse, toute l’année, le bonheur des amateurs de randonnées.

A seulement deux pas de la capitale, deux grands domaines forestiers invitent à la détente et aux activités sportives: le "Bambësch" et le "Gréngewald" qui constituent la surface boisée la plus vaste du pays.

A l’ouest de la capitale, la vallée de l’Eisch, aussi appelée la Vallée des sept châteaux, réunit sur 24 km les châteaux de Mersch, Schoenfels, Hollenfels, les deux châteaux d'Ansembourg, celui de Septfontaines et les ruines du château de Koerich. Ces châteaux s’intègrent harmonieusement dans un paysage de prairies et de villages historiques,  invitant à de longues promenades au sein de la vallée sinueuse de l’Eisch.

D'accueillants villages authentiques ou magnifiquement restaurés vous attendent également dans cette région. Les villages pittoresques de Bourglinster et d’Useldange en sont de beaux exemples.

  • Mis à jour le 02-05-2015