Mullerthal, Luxembourg's Little Switzerland

Rock formations, waterfalls and caves ...

Located in the east of the Grand Duchy, the Mullerthal, also called Luxembourg's Little Switzerland because of its numerous rocky hills, impresses with beautiful forests and towering sandstone cliffs with sometimes surprising shapes, among which wind forgotten brooks.

... invite to hiking and climbing

No wonder that this landscape makes this region a paradise for hikers! The pedestrian footpaths are particularly well developed and allow to immerse even more in these sometimes spectacular natural surroundings. Many bike paths allow visitors to explore the region and the unique rocky landscape around Berdorf awaits climbing adepts.

Land of chivalrous epics ...

But the Mullerthal is more than preserved nature . The region is a land of chivalrous epics evidenced by its numerous castles. Among them, the castles of Larochette and Beaufort, both erected on hilltops, are outstanding historical sites.

It is also in this region that we find traces of our ancestors from more than 7,000 years ago. It is indeed under a rock shelter that the burial site of the oldest inhabitant of Luxembourg was discovered in 1935.

... and centre of the Roman and Medieval culture

The capital of the region is Echternach, one of the oldest cities of Luxembourg, which attracted the ancient Romans as well as the monks in the Middle Ages. Located on the banks of the Sûre, on the border with Germany, Echternach is one of the highlights of every visit to the region and the country.

Hopping Procession and international music festival

Renowned beyond its borders for its Hopping Procession on Whit Tuesday, the town of Echternach is also known for its ancient Benedictine abbey founded in the 7th century AD by Saint Willibrordus. With the tomb of Saint Willibrordus, the Basilica of Saint Willibrordus is one of the country's most important religious buildings. In 2010, the Hopping Procession of Echternach was inscribed on the Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity by UNESCO.

Bustling city, Echternach is famous for its Echternach International Festival, a music festival which takes place each year during the months of May and June, and attracts many music lovers from Luxembourg and the Greater Region.

  • Updated 06-05-2015

Mullerthal, la Petite Suisse luxembourgeoise

Formations rocheuses, cascades et cavernes...

Situé à l'est du Grand-Duché, le Mullerthal, à qui ses nombreuses collines rocheuses ont valu le nom de Petite Suisse luxembourgeoise, impressionne par des forêts magnifiques et d'imposants rochers de grès aux formes parfois surprenantes, entre lesquels serpentent de capricieux cours d'eau.

...invitent aux randonnées et à l'escalade

Pas étonnant dès lors que ce paysage fasse de cette région un paradis pour les randonneurs. Les chemins de randonnées piétonnes sont particulièrement bien aménagés et permettent de s’immerger encore mieux dans cette nature parfois spectaculaire. Un grand nombre de pistes cyclables permettent d'explorer la région et le paysage rocheux unique de Berdorf attend les amateurs d'escalade.

Terre d'épopées chevaleresques...

Mais le Mullerthal est bien plus qu'une nature préservée. La région est une terre d'épopées chevaleresques dont témoignent de nombreux châteaux. Parmi ceux-ci, les châteaux de Larochette ou Beaufort, érigés tous les deux sur des rochers, constituent des sites historiques hors pair.

C'est également dans cette région que l'on retrouve les traces de nos ancêtres d’il y a plus de 7.000 ans. C’est en effet sous un abri rocheux qu'a été découverte, en 1935, la sépulture du plus ancien habitant du Luxembourg.

... et haut-lieu de la culture romaine et médiévale

Le chef-lieu de la région est Echternach, une des plus anciennes villes du Luxembourg, qui a attiré tant les Romains à l'Antiquité que les moines au Moyen-Âge. Située aux bords de la Sûre, à la frontière avec l'Allemagne, Echternach représente un des points forts lors d'une visite de la région et du pays.

Procession dansante et festival international de musique

Réputée au-delà de ses frontières pour sa procession dansante le mardi de la Pentecôte, la ville d'Echternach est également connue pour son ancienne abbaye bénédictine fondée au VIIe siècle par saint Willibrord. Avec le tombeau de saint Willibrord, la basilique Saint-Willibrord est un des édifices religieux les plus importants du pays. Depuis 2010, la procession dansante d'Echternach est inscrite sur la liste représentative du patrimoine culturel immatériel de l'humanité de l'Unesco.

Ville animée, Echternach est réputée pour son Festival international de musique qui, chaque année aux mois de mai à décembre, attire les nombreux mélomanes du pays et de la Grande Région.

  • Mis à jour le 02-05-2015