Discrimination

Towards zero tolerance: How can we spot it and how do we defend ourselves against it?

What is discrimination?

Due to its diversity, Luxembourg obviously feels concerned by discrimination issues, and has deemed it necessary to anticipate possible risks by introducing a legal plan to protect citizens both in public places and in the workplace.

-          discrimination (latin discriminatio, -onis, separation): Discrimination is the practice of treating one person or group of people less fairly or less well than other people or groups. [1]

What does the law say?

The law of 28 November 2006 on equal treatment condemns discrimination. This applies to all public or private, natural or legal persons, including public bodies. It strictly prohibits any form of direct or indirect discrimination based on religion or beliefs, disability, age, sexual orientation, membership or non-membership, actual or supposed, of a race or ethnic group.

The scope of application of the law also includes workplaces and living places, schools and the public space in general.

In its 2016 annual report, the Centre pour l’égalité de traitement (Centre for Equal Treatment - CET) revealed that it received 115 discrimination case files, of which over half (54%) were submitted by men, and 34% by women. The remaining 12% come from organisations and associations, or on the basis of self-referral. Most (25%) of the people were aged between 31 and 40, 9.6% were between 18 and 30 and 5.2% over the age of 60. Finally, 67% of files were from citizens of the European Union, 44% of whom were Luxembourgers.

What can we do?

Although it is a citizen's duty to report cases of discrimination when they occur, many people directly or indirectly affected refuse to talk, or do not even realise that they have been discriminated against. This is why it's important to know the law and – where necessary – which public authorities we can turn to in order to ask for support.

Who can you turn to?

  • Centre pour l'égalité de traitement (Centre for Equal Treatment - CET)

The CET was created by the above-mentioned law of 28 November 2006. The CET carries out its work completely independently and its purpose is to promote, analyse and monitor equal treatment between all persons without discrimination based on race or ethnic origin, sex, sexual orientation, religion or beliefs, disability and age.

  • Chambre des Salariés - CSL (Chamber of Employees)

The CSL was established by the law of 13 May 2008. The powers conferred on it aim to defend professional interests and represent its members. Any person working in Luxembourg, other than civil servants and public employees, is represented by the CSL.

The website discrimination.csl.lu contains a section entirely dedicated to discrimination at work. As well as a clear and concise definition, it also states the legal framework and means of action.

  • Luxembourg Reception and Integration Agency (OLAI);

The OLAI, a public agency under the authority of the Ministry of the Family, Integration and the Greater Region, has the legal capacities to support the reception and integration of foreigners in the Grand Duchy. Its legal provisions include the implementation of a national plan for integration and the fight against discrimination. Each year, an interministerial committee on integration, in consultation with civil society, establishes priorities to ensure a better integration policy.

  • National Reference Center for the Promotion of Affective and Sexual Health - CESAS

The Cesas aims to promote emotional and sexual health at the national level, through information, awareness, and training. Created as part of the national program "Promotion of emotional and sexual health initiated and supported by four ministries: Ministry of National Education, Childhood and Youth, Ministry of Equal Opportunities, Ministry of Family, Integration and the Greater Region and Ministry of Health, the center advises on
various themes, including discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation.


[1] Definition taken from collinsdictionary.com

  • Updated 09-05-2018

Discrimination

Pour une tolérance zéro : Comment la repérer et comment s’en défendre ?

C’est quoi, la discrimination?

Le Luxembourg, de par sa diversité, se sent évidemment concerné par les questions de discrimination, et a jugé nécessaire d’anticiper d’éventuels risques en instaurant un plan légal qui protège le citoyen aussi bien sur le lieu public, que sur le lieu de travail.

-          discrimination (latin discriminatio, -onis, séparation): Fait de distinguer et de traiter différemment (le plus souvent plus mal) quelqu'un ou un groupe par rapport au reste de la collectivité ou par rapport à une autre personne. [1]

Que prévoit la loi?

Lloi du 28 novembre 2006 sur l’égalité de traitement condamne la discrimination. Celle-ci s’applique à toutes les personnes, publiques et privées, physiques ou morales, y compris les organismes publics. Elle interdit formellement toute forme de discrimination, directe ou indirecte, basée sur la religion ou les convictions, le handicap, l’âge, l’orientation sexuelle, l’appartenance ou non appartenance, vraie ou supposée, à une race ou une ethnie.

Le champ d'application de la loi comprend les lieux de travail et de vie, l’école et l’espace public en général.

Dans son rapport annuel de l’année 2016, le Centre pour l’égalité de traitement (CET) révèle avoir été saisi de 115 dossiers de cas de discrimination, dont plus de la moitié (54%) introduits par des hommes, 34% par des femmes. Les 12% restants proviennent d’organisations et asbl, ou sont des autosaisines. La majorité (25%) des personnes est âgée entre 31 et 40 ans, 9,6% ont entre 18 et 30 ans et 5,2% au-dessus de 60 ans. Pour finir, 67% des dossiers proviennent de citoyens de l’Union européenne, dont 44% étant des Luxembourgeois.

Comment agir?

S’il est du devoir citoyen de dénoncer les cas de discrimination quand ils se produisent, beaucoup de personnes touchées directement ou indirectement refusent de parler, ou ne se rendent même pas compte qu’elles sont discriminées. D’où l’importance de connaître la loi et – en cas de besoin – les instances publiques vers lesquelles se tourner pour demander du soutien.

Vers qui se tourner?

  • Centre pour l'égalité de traitement - CET

Le CET a été créé par la loi du 28 novembre 2006 précitée. Le CET exerce ses missions en toute indépendance et a pour objet de promouvoir, d’analyser et de surveiller l’égalité de traitement entre toutes les personnes sans discrimination fondée sur la race ou l’origine ethnique, le sexe, l’orientation sexuelle, la religion ou les convictions, le handicap et l’âge.

  • Chambre des Salariés - CSL

La CSL a été instituée par la loi du 13 mai 2008. Les attributions qui lui sont conférées visent la défense des intérêts professionnels et la représentation de ses ressortissants. Toute personne travaillant au Luxembourg, hormis les fonctionnaires et employés publics, est représentée par la CSL.

Le site web discrimination.csl.lu contient un volet entièrement dédié à la discrimination au travail. En plus d’une définition claire et concise, il situe sur le cadre légal et les moyens d’action.

  • Office luxembourgeois de l'accueil et de l'intégration - OLAI

Le OLAI, administration sous tutelle du ministère de la Famille, de l'Intégration et à la Grande Région, possède les compétences légales pour encadrer l’accueil et l’intégration des étrangers au Grand-Duché. Ses dispositions légales comprennent la mise en place d’un plan national pour l’intégration et de lutte contre les discriminations. Chaque année, un comité interministériel sur l’intégration, en consultation avec la société civile, établit des priorités en vue d’une meilleure politique d’intégration.


[1] Définition tirée de www.larousse.fr

  • Mis à jour le 20-04-2018