Equal opportunities

Since 1995, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg has had a ministry devoted to equality between men and women - the Ministry of Equal Opportunities. Of all the Member States of the European Union, the Grand Duchy is the only one to have a ministry which is exclusively responsible for equality between men and women.

The Ministry's activities are focused on the legal and actual equality of men and women, and it carries out a number of missions and initiatives.

One of the Ministry's priority missions is the implementation of 'gender mainstreaming' in the Grand Duchy's political structures. This also includes combating gender stereotypes wherever they exist.

Equality in the workplace

The Law of 15 December 2016 incorporated the principle of equal salaries in the Grand Duchy's legislation. Since that date, it is illegal for there to be any difference in the salaries paid to men and women carrying out the same task or work of equal value.

Businesses in the private sector and administrations and institutions in the public sector may participate voluntarily in the 'positive action programme' (see inset, right) organised by the Ministry of Equal Opportunities. As part of the programme, an independent survey analyses the degree of equality between men and women within the participating body. A plan is then drawn up jointly with a view to improving the initial situation.

Strong action to combat domestic violence

The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg has had legislation to combat domestic violence since 2006. In addition to providing for the expulsion from the family home for up to 14 days for perpetrators of domestic violence, this legislation also provides for taking care of and subsequently monitoring both victims and perpetrators of domestic violence (www.violence.lu).

  • Updated 08-03-2018

Egalité des chances

Depuis 1995, le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg dispose d’un ministère dédié à l’égalité entre femmes et hommes, appelé "ministère de l’Egalité des chances". Parmi les pays membres de l’Union européenne, le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg est le seul à s’être doté d’un ministère dont la seule compétence réside dans l’égalité entre hommes et femmes.

Les activités du ministère se concentrent sur l’égalité de droit et de fait entre femmes et hommes, moyennant un nombre de missions et initiatives sur le sigle du ministère.

Une des missions prioritaires du ministère consiste dans l’implémentation du "gender mainstreaming" dans les structures politiques au Grand-Duché. Dans cette optique s’inscrit aussi la lutte contre les stéréotypes sexués dans tous les domaines.

L’égalité au poste de travail

Par la loi du 15 décembre 2016, le principe de l’égalité de salaire fut inscrit dans la loi luxembourgeoise. Un écart salarial entre hommes et femmes exerçant la même tâche ou un travail à valeur égale est désormais illégal.

Les entreprises du secteur privé ainsi que les administrations et instituts du secteur public peuvent volontairement participer au programme des actions positives (voir boîte à droite) du ministère de l’Egalité des chances. Lors de ces démarches, une enquête indépendante analysera le statut de l’égalité entre hommes et femmes au sein de l’organisme participant. Un plan est alors établi ensemble en vue d’améliorer la situation d’origine.

Une action forte contre la violence domestique

Depuis 2006, le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg dispose d’une loi contre la violence domestique. Celle-ci prévoit en outre une expulsion du domicile allant jusqu’à 14 jours d’un auteur de violence domestique ainsi que la prise en charge et le suivi conséquent des victimes et des auteurs de la violence domestique (www.violence.lu).

  • Mis à jour le 04-04-2018