Types of parental leave

Whether it is for the birth or adoption of a child, or because your child is ill, there are a number of types of leave available, depending on your family circumstances and/or the age of your child(ren).

Leave for the birth of a child

Maternity leave

Every pregnant woman who exerts a professional activity (employed, self-employed or trainee) is entitled to an 8-week maternity leave prior to the anticipated date of delivery and a 12-week postnatal leave.

For details of the procedure for 'Applying for maternity leave', please consult Guichet.lu.

The Luxembourg Chamber of Employees provides detailed information on maternity leave.

Paternity leave

Every father (employed, trainee or in adult learning) is entitled to 10 days (4 days for civil servants) of leave after the birth of one more children. A person with an employment contract has to inform his employer in writing 2 months before the foreseeable dates on which he intends to take his leave. Once granted, future fathers are required to take advantage of these ten days of leave within two months after the birth of the child.  

For details of the procedure for 'Applying for special paid leave for personal reasons', please consult Guichet.lu.

Leave for the adoption of a child

Adoption leave

Employees are entitled to 12 weeks adoption leave when one or more children under the age of 12 are adopted. Adoption leave will enable one of the partners to stay at home in order to take care of the child(ren) who has/have recently arrived in the family.

For details of the procedure for 'Applying for adoption leave', please consult Guichet.lu.

Special leave for personal reasons

This type of leave may be taken by either the employed father or mother when adopting a child under the age of 16 years (unless the employee has the benefit of adoption leave). A male employee (or apprentice) who needs to take leave of absence for certain personal reasons specifically provided for by law is entitled to take special leave on full pay. The duration of the special leave taken by fathers is two days in the private sector and two days for civil servants.

For details of the procedure for 'Applying for special leave for personal reasons', please consult Guichet.lu.

Parental leave

Parental leave enables the parents of a young child to interrupt their careers or shorten their work hours in order to accompany the child at key moments in its development, while retaining the certainty of returning to their jobs at the end of the leave. Parental leave may be requested whether the child is legitimate, illegitimate, or legitimated. It may also be requested in case of an adoption procedure.

The reform of parental leave which entered into effect on 1 December 2016 allows for more flexible periods of leave.  The new parental leave allows parents to choose from different flexible leave schemes which are better suited to their professional situation while they continue to benefit from a replacement income. The first parental leave always has to be taken following maternity leave. The second parental leave, however, can now be taken up to 6 years of age of the child. It is now also possible for both parents to take parental leave at the same time. 

All the detailed information is available on the website www.reforme-famille.public.lu (in French or German).

Find the practical guide 'Labor Law - Parental Leave 2017' of the Chamber of Employees here

For details of the procedure for 'Applying for parental leave in case of birth or adoption of a child', please consult Guichet.lu.

Leave for family reasons in the event of a child's illness

Leave for family reasons enables the parents of a child under the age of 18 years to stay with the child in the event of serious illness, accident or other health-related problem with no loss of income. The duration of this kind of leave depends on the age of the child:

  • 12 days if the child is under 4 years old;
  • 18 days if the child has reached his or her 4th birthday, but is under 13 years old;
  • 5 days is the child has reached his or her 13th birthday, but is under 18 years old and has to be admitted to a hospital.
For details of the procedure for 'Applying for leave for family reasons', please consult Guichet.lu.

The Luxembourg Chamber of Employees provides detailed information on leave for family reasons.

Leave for accompanying a dying person

Leave to accompany a dying person is a special type of paid leave which enables a worker (employed or self-employed) with a relative in the terminal stage of a serious illness to take leave of absence to be able to stay at their bedside. This leave is organised much in the same way as leave taken for family reasons.

For details of the procedure for 'Applying for leave to accompany a dying person', please consult Guichet.lu.

The Luxembourg Chamber of Employees provides detailed information on leave to accompany a dying person.

  • Updated 13-08-2018

Types de congés pour parents

Que ce soit pour la naissance ou l'adoption d'un enfant ou que votre enfant soit malade, plusieurs types de congés conviennent selon votre situation familiale et/ou l'âge de vos enfants.

Congés en cas de naissance d'un enfant

Congé de maternité

Toute femme enceinte, qui exerce une activité professionnelle (salariée, indépendante, ou apprentie), a droit à un congé de maternité prénatal de 8 semaines avant la date présumée de l'accouchement et un congé postnatal d'une longueur de 12 semaines.

Veuillez consulter la démarche "Demander un congé de maternité" sur Guichet.lu.

La Chambre des salariés Luxembourg vous renseigne en détail sur le congé de maternité (questions-réponses).

Congé de paternité

Tout père (salarié, apprenti ou personne dans l'apprentissage adulte) à droit à un congé de 10 jours (4 jours pour les fonctionnaires) après la naissance d'un ou plusieurs enfants. Le salarié doit informer par écrit son employeur 2 mois à l’avance des dates prévisibles auxquelles il entend prendre son congé. Une fois accordé, les futurs pères sont tenus de profiter de ces dix jours de congé dans un délai de deux mois après naissance de l'enfant.  

Veuillez consulter la démarche "Demander un congé extraordinaire pour motif personnel" sur Guichet.lu.

Congés en cas d'adoption d'un enfant

Congé d'accueil

Le congé d'accueil de 12 semaines en cas d’adoption est accordé aux salariés adoptant un ou plusieurs enfants n'ayant pas encore atteint l'âge de 12 ans accomplis. Ce congé permet à l’un des 2 conjoints de s’occuper du ou des enfant(s) nouvellement arrivé(s).

Veuillez consulter la démarche "Demander un congé d'accueil en cas d'adoption d'un enfant" sur Guichet.lu.

Congé extraordinaire pour motif personnel

Ce type de congé peut être pris par le père ou la mère salarié(e) en cas d'adoption d'un enfant de moins de 16 ans (sauf si le salarié est bénéficiaire du congé d'accueil). Le salarié (ou l'apprenti) qui doit s’absenter de son travail pour certains motifs d'ordre personnel expressément prévus par la loi, a droit à un congé extraordinaire, et ce avec pleine conservation de son revenu. La durée du congé extraordinaire pris par le père est de 10 jours pour les salariés privés et de 2 jours pour les fonctionnaires.

Veuillez consulter la démarche "Demander un congé extraordinaire pour motif personnel" sur Guichet.lu.

Congé parental

Le congé parental permet aux parents d’un enfant en bas âge d’interrompre leur carrière professionnelle ou de la réduire pour assurer une présence auprès de cet enfant à des moments importants de son développement, tout en ayant la certitude de retrouver leur poste de travail à la fin du congé. Le congé parental peut être demandé aussi bien pour un enfant légitime, que naturel ou légitimé. Il est également dû en cas d’adoption d’un enfant.

La réforme du congé parental qui a été introduite au 1erdécembre 2016 accepte une flexibilisation des périodes de congé.  Elle permet aux parents de choisir parmi des modèles de congé souples et adaptés à leurs situations professionnelles, tout en bénéficiant d’un revenu de remplacement. Le premier congé parental doit toujours être pris consécutivement au congé de maternité. Le deuxième congé parental, par contre, peut désormais être pris jusqu’aux 6 ans révolus de l’enfant. Il est maintenant possible pour les deux parents de prendre leur congé parental en même temps s’ils le souhaitent. 

Toutes les informations détaillées concernant cette réforme se trouvent sur le site www.reforme-famille.public.lu.

Retrouvez le guide pratique "Droit du travail - Le congé parental 2017" de la Chambre des salariés ici

Veuillez consulter la démarche "Demander un congé parental en cas de naissance ou d'adoption d'un enfant" sur Guichet.lu.

Congé pour raisons familiales en cas de maladie de son enfant

Le congé pour raisons familiales permet aux parents d’un enfant de moins de 18 ans de rester à son chevet en cas de maladie grave, d’accident ou autre raison de santé sans perte de rémunération. La durée du congé dépend de l'âge de l'enfant:

  • 12 jours si l'enfant est âgé de 0 à moins de 4 ans accomplis;
  • 18 jours si l'enfant est âgé de 4 ans accomplis à moins de 13 ans accomplis;
  • 5 jours si l'enfant est âgé de 13 ans accomplis à 18 ans accomplis et s'il est hospitalisé.
Veuillez consulter la démarche "Demander un congé pour raisons familiales" sur Guichet.lu.

La Chambre des salariés Luxembourg vous renseigne en détail sur le congé pour raisons familiales.

Congé pour l'accompagnement d'une personne en fin de vie

Le congé pour l’accompagnement d’une personne en fin de vie est un congé spécial qui permet au travailleur (salarié ou indépendant) ayant un proche atteint d’une grave maladie en phase terminale de s’abstenir de travailler afin de rester au chevet de celui-ci. Le régime du congé d’accompagnement est similaire à celui du congé pour raisons familiales.

Veuillez consulter la démarche "Demander un congé pour l'accompagnement d'une personne en fin de vie" sur Guichet.lu.

La Chambre des salariés Luxembourg vous renseigne en détail sur le congé d'accompagnement.

  • Mis à jour le 31-05-2018