Motherhood and birth

Since 2012, the number of births in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg has constantly been in excess of 6.000 a year. From a statistical point of view, the number of children per woman is 1,47 (figure for 2015). The number of boys born balances with the number of girls. Whereas a child born to unmarried parents was unusual in the 1990s, in 2012 the number of such births was almost as high as the number of children born to married parents. This is due to changes in Luxembourg society, and to the introduction of the civil union (PACS) in 2004.

Pregnancy and motherhood

The health portal at sante.lu provides detailed information on the various stages, from wanting to have a child and the first signs of pregnancy up to birth and beyond. It gives advice on looking after a baby and on breastfeeding. It provides useful information on administrative procedures, allowances connected with motherhood and birth, and the various bodies and associations active in this field.

Administrative procedures when a child is born

All births must be declared within five days of the birth by one of the parents, or by the doctors, midwives or anyone else present at the birth. The declaration of birth is made to the registrar of the municipality where the birth took place.

You will find details of the procedure for 'Declaring a new birth' on the Citizens' portal. You can also find out about the possible reimbursements on the health portal at sante.lu.

The child's family name

Since 2006, parents in the Grand Duchy are free to choose the family name (and first names) of their child. Thus the baby may have:

  • the father's family name;
  • the mother's family name;
  • both the father's and the mother's family names;
  • both the mother's and the father's family names,

regardless of whether the parents are married or not. However, all the children of a couple must have the same family name. The parents must choose the child's first name and family name at the time of declaring a new birth to the registrar of the municipality in which the baby was born.

Please consult the information on 'Choosing a child's first name and family name' on the Citizens' portal.
  • Updated 26-08-2016

Maternité et naissance

Depuis 2012, le nombre de naissances au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg se situe au-delà des 6.000 naissances par an. D'un point de vue statistique, le nombre d'enfants est de 1,47 enfants par femme (en 2015). Il y a un bon équilibre entre les naissances de garçons et les naissances de filles. Tandis que dans les années 1990 une naissance hors mariage était chose rare, le nombre de naissances hors mariage atteint presque le nombre de naissances dans le mariage en 2012. Ceci est dû aux changements de la société luxembourgeoise et à l'introduction du partenariat (PACS) en 2004.

Grossesse et maternité

Le portail sante.lu vous informe en détail sur les différentes étapes à franchir, du désir d'enfant et des premiers signes de grossesse jusqu'à l'accouchement et bien au-delà. Il vous conseille en matière de premiers soins au bébé et sur l'allaitement maternel. Il fournit de renseignements utiles sur les démarches administratives à faire, sur les allocations liées à la maternité et à la naissance et sur les organismes et associations travaillant dans ce domaine.

Les démarches à suivre suite à la naissance d'un enfant

Toute naissance doit être déclarée dans les cinq jours suivant l'accouchement par l’un des parents, ou à défaut, par les médecins, sages-femmes, ou autres personnes qui ont assisté à l’accouchement. La déclaration de naissance se fait à l'officier de l'état civil de la commune où la naissance a eu lieu.

Veuillez consulter la démarche "Déclarer la naissance d'un nouveau-né" sur le portail Citoyens. Renseignez-vous aussi sur les remboursements possibles sur le portail sante.lu.

Le nom de l’enfant

Le principe du libre choix des parents du nom de famille (et des prénoms) de l’enfant est consacré depuis mai 2006 au Luxembourg. Le nouveau-né peut ainsi porter:

  • le nom de famille du père,
  • le nom de famille de la mère,
  • les noms de famille du père et de la mère,
  • les noms de famille de la mère et du père,

et ce indépendamment du fait que les parents soient mariés ou non. Toutefois, tous les enfants d’un couple doivent porter le même nom. Les parents doivent choisir le prénom et nom de famille de l'enfant au moment de la déclaration d'un nouveau-né devant l'officier de l'état civil de la commune où l'enfant est né.

Veuillez consulter la démarche "Choisir le prénom et le nom de famille de l'enfant" sur le portail Citoyens.
  • Mis à jour le 19-09-2017