Buying a property

Buying a home is a step calling for mature reflection. You should consider in great detail the administrative procedures and examine property advertisements carefully. This page helps to guide you through the various steps leading to the signing of the sales contract.

Where to look?

In Luxembourg, as elsewhere, searching for housing involves looking at property listings on specialised websites, accessible through www.editus.lu, or in the local press. Interested parties may also apply directly to the many estate agencies in this country.

Indeed, in the Grand Duchy, and especially in the capital city, few owners manage the sale of their properties themselves. Most of them entrust this task to an estate agency, which earns a commission for the said transaction.

Public auctions

If you plan to buy a property, note that the site www.notariat.lu allows you to find a notary, a competent person to draw up a deed of sale in accordance with procedures in force, following the signing of the 'preliminary sales agreement' (compromis de vente). In addition, notaries regularly conduct public auctions of real estate, which can prove to be very interesting.

Tax credits

It should be noted in this context that the Luxembourg Government has introduced an allowance known as the tax credit (Bëllegen Akt) to reduce incidental expenses associated with the acquisition of real estate. It applies to registration and transcription fees and can be received by anyone wishing to acquire property (and certain annexes to them) for the purpose of personal accommodation. Please refer to 'Apply for a tax credit for deeds' on the Citizens' Portal.

State assistance

People wishing to acquire accommodation are also entitled to several types of State capital assistance, but certain conditions apply. More information can be found at the Citizens’ portal and on the website of the Ministry of Housing.

The energy performance certificate

It should also be noted that it is obligatory to arrange for an energy performance certificate whenever there is a change of owner or tenant in a residential building. You can find more information on the www.myenergy.lu site

Look closely at prices

Before you embark on your search, take a look at the website of the Housing Observatory (Observatoire de l’habitat). This body, which was established by the Ministry of Housing in 2003, collects data on the housing market and, throughout the year, analyses the supply and prices of housing and building plots.

Your procedures, your rights

Visit the Citizens’ portal at guichet.lu to learn more about steps to be taken regarding the purchase of housing.

And for a better understanding of your rights and duties as a future property owner, consult the brochure 'Devenir propriétaire' ('Becoming a property owner') published by the Consumers' Union (Union des consommateurs)! 

  • Updated 29-09-2016

Acheter un bien immobilier

L’achat d’un logement est un acte mûrement réfléchi. Autant s’informer minutieusement sur les démarches administratives à effectuer et passer au crible les annonces immobilières. Cette vous sert de guide à travers les différentes étapes qui vous mènent à la signature du contrat de vente.

Où chercher ?

Au Luxembourg comme ailleurs, la recherche d’un logement passe par les annonces immobilières publiées sur les sites Internet spécialisés, à trouver par le biais de www.editus.lu, ou encore dans la presse locale. Les intéressés peuvent également s’adresser directement aux nombreuses agences immobilières du pays.

En effet, au Grand-Duché et surtout dans la capitale, peu de propriétaires gèrent eux-mêmes la vente de leurs biens immobiliers. La plupart d’entre eux confie cette tâche à une agence immobilière, qui touche une commission pour la transaction en question.

Les adjudications publiques

Si vous avez prévu d’acheter un bien immobilier, sachez que le site www.notariat.lu vous permet de trouver un notaire, personne compétente pour effectuer un acte de vente, conformément aux formalités en vigueur, suite à la signature du "compromis de vente". De plus, les notaires procèdent régulièrement à des adjudications publiques de biens immobiliers, qui peuvent s’avérer intéressantes.

Le crédit d’impôt

Il est à noter dans ce contexte que le gouvernement luxembourgeois a introduit un abattement, appelé crédit d’impôt ("Bëllegen Akt" ou "Acte bon marché" en luxembourgeois, litt.), pour diminuer les frais accessoires qui incombent à l’acquisition d’une propriété immobilière. Celui-ci s’applique sur les droits d’enregistrement et de transcription et peut être touché par toute personne désireuse d’acquérir un immeuble (et certaines dépendances bâties) à des fins d’habitation personnelle. Retrouvez la démarche "Demander le crédit d'impôt sur les actes notariés" sur le portail Citoyens .

Les aides étatiques

Puis, les personnes qui souhaitent acquérir un logement ont également droit à plusieurs types d’aides en capitale de l’Etat, qui sont toutefois soumis à des conditions. Retrouvez plus d’informations sur le portail Citoyens et sur le site du ministère du Logement!

Le passeport énergétique

Il est aussi à noter que l’établissement d’un passeport énergétique est obligatoire dans le cadre de tout changement de propriétaire ou de locataire dans un bâtiment d’habitation. Vous en trouvez plus d’informations sur le site www.myenergy.lu.

Des prix à observer de près

Or, avant de vous lancer dans votre recherche, jetez un coup d’oeil sur le site de l’Observatoire de l’habitat. Cet organe, qui a été créé par le ministère du Logement en 2003, collecte les données relatives au marché du logement et analyse, tout au long de l’année, l’offre et les prix des logements et des terrains à bâtir.

Vos démarches et vos droits

Visitez également le portail citoyens guichet.lu pour vous informer sur les démarches en relation avec l’acquisition d’un logement.

Et pour mieux comprendre vos droits et devoirs en tant que futur propriétaire, consultez la brochure "Devenir propriétaire" de l’Union des consommateurs! 

  • Mis à jour le 16-09-2016