Applying for social housing

In Luxembourg, two public promoters in the social housing market specialise in the construction of affordable housing or housing at subsidised prices. Housing which is then sold or rented in accordance with social criteria. In addition, the Grand Duchy has a Social Housing Agency (Agence immobilière sociale).

Given the high demand for social housing, waiting lists can be very long. Here are the organisations to contact :

Housing fund

The Housing Fund (Fonds du logement), a public promoter, which sells housing, but also manages the country's largest supply of social housing for rent, comprising 1,703 units of accommodation located throughout Luxembourg.

National Society for affordable housing

The National Society for Affordable Housing (Société nationale des habitations à bon marché, SNHBM) specialises in finding and buying building plots, preparing private development plans, drawing up technical infrastructure plans, carrying out site development and the design and construction of housing. In addition, it manages a rental stock of some 170 houses and apartments. These properties are rented or sold to persons who meet certain criteria, relating in particular to income and wealth. 

Social Housing Agency

The Social Housing Agency (Agence immobilière sociale, AIS), which seeks to combat social exclusion, acts as an intermediary between owners of real estate and households with modest income. This body, which operates under the auspices of the Foundation for Access to Housing (Fondation de l’accès au logement), rents out accommodation suitable for the applicant’s household and then pays the rent to the owner of the property. However, every application for accommodation through the AIS must go through a welfare office, since its services are subject to a number of conditions.

Welfare offices        

In fact, the provision of emergency accommodation in cases of material deprivation is among the benefits offered by the thirty welfare offices in the Grand Duchy. The municipal or regional welfare offices work together closely with the Social Housing Agency.

Here is a list of Luxembourg's welfare offices on the website of the Ministry of Family Affairs.
  • Updated 27-04-2015

Bénéficier d'un logement social

Au Luxembourg, deux promoteurs publics du marché du logement social sont spécialisés dans la construction de logements à prix abordables ou subventionnés. Des logements, qui sont ensuite vendus ou loués sur base de critères sociaux. De plus, le Grand-Duché dispose d’une Agence immobilière sociale.

Vu la demande élevée en logement social, les listes d’attente peuvent être très longues. Voici les organismes à contacter:

Fonds du logement

Le Fonds du logement est un promoteur public, qui réalise des ventes, mais qui gère également le parc locatif social le plus important du pays avec 1.703 logements répartis sur l’ensemble du territoire national.

Société nationale des habitations à bon marché S.A. (SNHBM)

La Société nationale des habitations à bon marché S.A. (SNHBM) est spécialisée dans la recherche et l'acquisition de terrains à bâtir, l'élaboration de plans d'aménagement particuliers, l'établissement des plans techniques des infrastructures, la réalisation des travaux de viabilité de terrains ainsi que la conception et la construction de logements. De plus, elle gère un parc locatif de quelque 170 maisons et appartements. Ces biens sont loués ou vendus à des personnes répondant à certains critères notamment de revenu et de fortune. 

Agence immobilière sociale (AIS)

L’Agence immobilière sociale (AIS), instrument de lutte contre l’exclusion sociale, joue un rôle d’intermédiaire entre des propriétaires de biens immobiliers et des ménages à revenu modeste. Cet organisme, qui dépend de la Fondation de l’accès au logement, loue en effet des logements adaptés au ménage du demandeur, et paie ensuite le loyer au propriétaire du bien. Or, toute demande de logement auprès de l’AIS doit passer par un office social, étant donné que ses services sont soumis à une série de conditions.

Les offices sociaux        

En effet, la mise à disposition d’un hébergement d’urgence en cas de situation de privation matérielle compte parmi les prestations offertes par les trente offices sociaux du pays. Les offices sociaux de la commune ou de la région collaborent étroitement avec l’Agence immobilière sociale (AIS).

Vous trouvez la liste des offices sociaux du pays sur le site du ministère de la Famille.
  • Mis à jour le 11-01-2017