Building a home

Have you decided to embark on a building project? But you do not know how to go about it? Do not worry: this page will allow you to see things more clearly. Find information on prices, notaries, architects, building law, etc.

Finding a building plot

Every construction project begins with the purchase of land. As in the case of renting or purchasing a home, it may prove worthwhile to take a look at the analyses of the Housing Observatory (Observatoire de l’habitat) in order to get a better idea of the prices prevailing in the various regions of the country.

To find advertisements for building plots, visit specialised websites, such as www.athome.lu and look at advertisements in the local press. You can also apply directly to the many estate agencies in Luxembourg.

Finding a notary

The www.notariat.lu website facilitates identification of a notary, a person with authority to draw up a deed of sale in accordance with the legal formalities in force, following signature of the 'preliminary sales agreement' (compromis de vente).

Tax credits

It should be noted in this context that the Luxembourg government has introduced an allowance known as the tax credit (Bëllegen Akt) to reduce incidental expenses associated with the acquisition of real estate. It applies to registration and transcription fees and in particular may be granted to anyone wishing to acquire a building plot in order to build a personal residence in the future. Find more information on the Citizens’ portal at guichet.lu. Please refer to 'Apply for a tax credit for deeds' on the Citizens' Portal.

Finding an architect

If you are looking for a construction company, go to the www.editus.lu site, which gives a fairly complete overview of the sector.

On the site of the Order of Architects and Consulting Engineers (Ordre des architectes et des ingénieurs-conseils, OAI), you will find a list of firms of architects who can advise you in planning your project.

It should be noted that in Luxembourg all plans for building work must be drawn up and signed by a person who is a professional architect or civil engineer, except in the case of individuals who declare their intention to make alterations to the inside of a dwelling intended for their own personal use, provided that the works are not aimed at load-bearing elements of the building and do not adversely affect the façade or the roof. Building plans must also be countersigned by the owner(s) of the building. The OAI has also published the 10th edition of its Architects and Consulting Engineers Reference Guide (available for EUR 25) in 2014.

State assistance

Finally, the Luxembourg State has provided for a series of grants for building work, which are subject to certain conditions.

The website of the Ministry of Housing gives a comprehensive overview of existing grants, as does the Citizens’ portal, which also offers a lot of other useful information about construction projects.

Building law

To better understand building law, see also the special page of the Consumers' Union (Union des consommateurs)!

  • Updated 27-04-2015

Construire un logement

Vous avez décidé de vous lancer dans un projet de construction ? Mais vous ne savez pas comment vous y prendre ? Rassurez-vous: cette page vous permettra d’y voir plus clair. Retrouvez des informations concernant les prix, le notaire, l’architecte, le droit de la construction, etc.

Trouver un terrain

Tout projet de construction commence par l’acquisition d’un terrain. Et là, tout comme en cas de location ou d’achat d’un logement, il peut s’avérer intéressant de jeter un coup d’oeil sur les analyses de l’Observatoire de l’habitat, afin de mieux cerner les prix en vigueur dans les différentes régions du pays.

Pour trouver des annonces de terrain à bâtir, consultez les sites Internet spécialisés, comme www.athome.lu, et les annonces publiées dans la presse locale. Vous pouvez également vous adresser directement aux nombreuses agences immobilières du pays.

Trouver un notaire

Le site www.notariat.lu permet de trouver un notaire, personne compétente à effectuer un acte de vente, conformément aux formalités en vigueur, suite à la signature du "compromis de vente".

Le crédit d’impôt

Il est à noter dans ce contexte que le gouvernement luxembourgeois a introduit un abattement, appelé crédit d’impôt ("Bëllegen Akt", "Acte bon marché" en luxembourgeois), pour diminuer les frais accessoires à l’acquisition d’une propriété immobilière. Celui-ci s’applique sur les droits d’enregistrement et de transcription et peut notamment être touché par toute personne désireuse d’acquérir un terrain à bâtir pour y installer une future habitation personnelle. Retrouvez la démarche "Demander le crédit d'impôt sur les actes notariés" sur le portail citoyens.

Trouver un architecte

Si vous êtes à la recherche d’une entreprise de construction, rendez-vous sur le site www.editus.lu, qui livre une vue d’ensemble assez complète du secteur.

Sur le site de l’Ordre des Architectes et des Ingénieurs-Conseils (OAI), vous trouvez une liste de bureaux d’architectes qui peuvent vous conseiller dans la planification de votre projet.

Il est à noter qu’au Luxembourg, tout plan de construction doit être établi et signé par une personne exerçant la profession d’architecte ou d’ingénieur de construction, sauf dans le cas de personnes physiques déclarant vouloir transformer l’intérieur d’une habitation destinée à leur propre usage, pour autant que les travaux ne visent pas les structures portantes de l’immeuble et ne portent atteinte ni à la façade ni à la toiture. Les plans de contruction doivent également être contresignés par le ou les propriétaires de l’immeuble. L’OAI a également sorti la 10e édition de son Guide références architectes et ingénieurs-conseils (en vente au prix de 25 euros) en 2014.

Les aides étatiques

Enfin, l’Etat luxembourgeois a prévu toute une série d’aides en cas de construction, qui sont soumises à des conditions.

Le site du ministère du Logement permet d’obtenir un aperçu complet des aides existantes, tout comme le portail Citoyens, qui propose de surcroît un tas d’autres informations utiles concernant les projets de construction.

Le droit de la construction

Pour mieux comprendre le droit de la construction, consultez également la page spéciale de l’Union des consommateurs!

  • Mis à jour le 08-05-2015