Renting a property

Are you planning to settle in Luxembourg and are looking for a flat or house for rent? Maybe you already live in the Grand Duchy, but you have decided to change accommodation, while remaining a tenant? Then this page is designed for you. Find all the useful information about renting a property, from agency fees to flat-sharing, student housing and the energy performance certificate!

Where to look?

In Luxembourg, as elsewhere, searching for a place to rent involves looking at property listings on specialised websites, accessible through www.editus.lu, or in the local press. Interested parties may also apply directly to the many estate agencies in the country.

Indeed, in the Grand Duchy, and especially in the capital, few owners manage the renting out of their properties themselves. Most of them entrust this task to an estate agency, which earns a commission for each transaction. Thus, in the case of rental housing, the agency fee is usually one month's rent plus VAT at 17%.

In addition, there is generally a tenant’s guarantee of a maximum of three months’ rent, which also has to be paid before you move in. In some cases, this deposit is paid directly to the owner or transferred into a blocked bank account in the form of a bank guarantee. People who wish to rent a dwelling but do not have the resources to fund the guarantee deposit required by the lessor can seek financial assistance for this guarantee from the State. For more information, please refer to 'Ask for financial assistance from the State to pay a security deposit' on the Citizens' Portal.

Relocation agencies

However, to find an apartment or house to rent, you can also go through a relocation agency, that is to say, a company that provides a personalised service to enable you to settle in smoothly. They help you with the search for housing, deal with administrative formalities, find a school for your children, etc. You will find a list of relocation agencies in the online directory at www.editus.lu.

Tips for students

If you are a full time student, you can apply for student rental accommodation on the website of the University of Luxembourg Student Housing Unit. Student housing is conveniently located near the various campuses, in Walferdange, Luxembourg City, Mondercange, Esch-sur-Alzette and Noertzange. Most often, the student rents a furnished room in a residence or fitted-out house that he or she shares with other young people. Furnished and equipped studios are available only to doctoral students. Existing housing, which costs between EUR 350 and 590 per month, is allocated according to availability. However, waiting lists can be long.

For more information, please refer to 'Accommodation for students' on the Citizens' Portal.

Flat-sharing

Whether or not you are a student, flat-sharing can be an interesting alternative for those looking for a degree of conviviality and wishing to limit their accommodation costs. Visit websites such as www.appartager.lu, which allow you to advertise and look for advertisements for flat-sharing in Luxembourg! Please note that in some cases these advertisements may have to be paid for!

Look closely at prices

Before you embark on any house search, take a look at the website of the Housing Observatory (Observatoire de l’habitat). This body, which was established by the Ministry of Housing in 2003, collects data relating to the housing market and analyses the supply of housing and accommodation prices throughout the year.

Are you energy efficient?

While you are browsing the property listings, be sure to check the energy performance certificate of the different properties available. This mandatory document, that the owner must have drawn up by experts, gives interesting guidance concerning the energy performance of your future accommodation.

Your procedures, your rights

Visit the Citizens’ Portal at guichet.lu to find out about steps you should take regarding the renting of accommodation!

And in order to better understand your rights and obligations in terms of lease contracts, please refer to the special page made available by the Consumers’ Union (Union des consommateurs)!

  • Updated 29-09-2016

Louer un bien immobiler

Vous avez prévu de vous installer au Luxembourg et vous êtes à la recherche d’un appartement ou d’une maison à louer? Vous vivez déjà au pays, mais vous avez décidé de changer de logement, tout en restant locataire? Alors cette page est faite pour vous. Entre les frais d’agence en vigueur, les colocations, les logements étudiants et le passeport énergétique, retrouvez toutes les informations utiles concernant la location d’un bien immobilier!

Où chercher ?

Au Luxembourg comme ailleurs, la recherche d’un logement à louer passe par les annonces immobilières publiées sur les sites Internet spécialisés, à trouver par le biais de www.editus.lu, ou encore dans la presse locale. Les intéressés peuvent également s’adresser directement aux nombreuses agences immobilières du pays.

En effet, au Grand-Duché et surtout dans la capitale, peu de propriétaires gèrent eux-mêmes la location de leurs biens immobiliers. La plupart d’entre eux confient cette tâche à une agence immobilière, qui touche une commission pour chaque transaction. Ainsi, en cas de location d’un logement, les frais d’agence s’élèvent en général à un mois de loyer auquel s’ajoute la TVA de 17%.

Il s’y ajoute, en général, une garantie locative d’un maximum de trois mois de loyer, qui est également à présenter avant l’emménagement. Selon les cas, cette garantie est directement versée au propriétaire, ou bloquée sur un compte bancaire sous forme de garantie bancaire. Les personnes qui désirent louer un logement, mais qui ne disposent pas des moyens nécessaires pour financer la garantie locative exigée par le bailleur peuvent demander l’aide au financement de cette garantie auprès de l’Etat. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la démarche "Demander l'aide étatique au financement d'une garantie locative" sur le portail Citoyens.

Les agences de relocation

Or, pour trouver un appartement ou une maison à louer, vous pouvez également passer par une agence de relocation, c’est-à-dire une société qui assure un service personnalisé pour vous installer en douceur: elles vous aident avec la recherche d’un logement, prennent en charge les formalités administratives, trouvent une école pour vos enfants, etc. Vous trouverez une liste d’agences de relocation sur l’annuaire en ligne, www.editus.lu.

Les bons plans pour étudiants

Si vous êtes étudiant à temps plein, vous pouvez introduire une demande de location d’un logement étudiant sur le site web de l’Unité logements étudiants de l’Université du Luxembourg. Les logements étudiants sont logiquement situés à proximité des différents campus universitaires, soit à Walferdange, Luxembourg-Ville, Mondercange, Esch-Alzette et Noertzange. Le plus souvent, l’étudiant loue une chambre meublée dans une résidence ou une maison équipée qu’il partage avec d’autres jeunes. Des studios meublés et équipés sont réservés aux seuls doctorants. Les logements existants, qui coûtent entre 350 et 590 euros par mois, sont attribués en fonction de la disponibilité. Or, les listes d’attente peuvent être longues.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez la démarche "Se loger comme étudiant" sur le portail Citoyens.

La colocation

Étudiant ou pas, la colocation peut être une alternative intéressante pour tous ceux qui cherchent une certaine convivialité et qui souhaitent limiter leurs frais de logement. Consultez des sites comme www.appartager.lu, qui vous permettent de créer et de chercher des annonces de colocation sur le Luxembourg ! Attention, dans certains cas, ces annonces peuvent être payantes !

Des prix à observer de près

Avant de vous lancer dans toute recherche, jetez un coup d’oeil sur le site de l’Observatoire de l’habitat. Cet organe, qui a été créé par le ministère du Logement en 2003, collecte les données relatives au marché du logement et analyse, tout au long de l’année, l’offre et les prix des logements.

Econome ou énergivore ?

Puis, pendant que vous parcourez les annonces immobilières, n’oubliez pas de vérifier le passeport énergétique des différents biens disponibles. Ce document obligatoire, que le propriétaire doit faire établir par des experts, livre des indications intéressantes concernant la performance énergétique de votre futur logement.

Vos démarches et vos droits

Visitez également le portail citoyens guichet.lu pour vous informer sur les démarches en relation avec la location d’un logement!

Et pour mieux comprendre vos droits et devoirs en matière de bail à loyer, consultez également la page spéciale de l’Union des consommateurs

  • Mis à jour le 08-05-2015