Good neighbourliness

Is it three o'clock in the morning and your neighbour is still partying without even having giving you advance warning? You know what a common wall is? It is a fact that communal life sometimes brings surprises.

Good Neighbours Guide

But to make good neighbourliness easier, the Ministry of Housing, Syvicol (Syndicate of Luxembourg Towns and Municipalities) and the Luxembourg Association of Neighbourhood Solidarity (Association luxembourgeoise des solidarités de proximité) have drawn up a short Good Neighbours Guide setting out the basic rules to be observed between neighbours.

In this context, the Luxembourg Consumers' Union (Union luxembourgeoise des consommateurs, ULC) went a step further with its publication 'Pour vivre en bon voisinage' ('Living as good neighbours'). It discusses the legal aspects and provides a series of useful tips to avoid problems and disputes with those who live next door.

Mediation services

However, sometimes a conflict between neighbours seems inevitable. In such cases, local mediation services, established in the larger municipalities, can help the people concerned to resolve matters and settle their dispute amicably.

Neighbours' Day

And finally, the easiest way to avoid conflicts between neighbours is perhaps to participate in the Neighbours' Day, which takes place every year in late June in most towns and villages. Whether it involves an aperitif or a giant barbecue, a petanque tournament for all or a friendly meeting at the recreation ground around the corner, this day is dedicated to good neighbourliness.

  • Updated 16-12-2016

Vivre en bon voisinage

Il est trois heures du matin, votre voisin est toujours en train de faire la fête et il ne vous a même pas prévenu ? Vous savez ce que c’est qu’un mur mitoyen ? En effet, la vie en communauté réserve parfois des surprises.

Guide du bon voisinage

Or, pour rendre le bon voisinage plus aisé, le ministère du Logement, le Syvicol et l’Association luxembourgeoise des solidarités de proximité ont établi un petit Guide du bon voisinage, rassemblant les règles de base à respecter entre voisins.

Dans ce contexte, l’Union luxembourgeoise des consommateurs (ULC) est allée un peu plus loin avec sa publication intitulée "Pour vivre en bon voisinage". Celle-ci revient sur les aspects juridiques de la chose et réserve une série de tuyaux utiles permettant d’éviter des troubles et litiges avec ceux qui habitent à côté.

Services de médiation

Or, parfois un conflit de voisinage semble inévitable. Dans ces cas, les services de médiation locaux, installés dans les grandes agglomérations, peuvent aider les partis concernés à s’en sortir et à régler leur différend à l’amiable.

Fête des voisins

Et enfin, la manière la plus simple d’éviter les conflits entre voisins est peut-être de participer à la Fête des voisins, qui a lieu tous les ans, fin juin, dans la plupart des villes et villages du pays. Qu’il s’agisse d’un apéro ou d’un barbecue géant, d’un tournoi de pétanque pour tous ou d’une rencontre conviviale à l’aire de jeux du coin, ce jour-là est entièrement dédié au bon voisinage.

  • Mis à jour le 13-12-2016