Quality of life

Infrastructure and housing: comfort reigns

Appliance

Percentage of households with

Refrigerator

98.1%

Television

95.8%

Washing machine

94.9%

Mobile telephone

92.4%

Landline telephones

84.1%

Dishwasher

79.2%

Car

78.4%

DVD player

74.8%.

Freezer

73.8%

Sèche-linge

60.4%

In Luxembourg, housing prices contribute without any doubt to the high level of the cost of living. At the same time, the great majority of the inhabitants of the country can boast having quality accommodation, both in terms of the size of the housing rented or purchased and in terms of its equipment. This emerges from the findings of the 2011 population census published by the University of Luxembourg and Statec(National Statistics and Economic Studies Institute of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg) in February 2014.

Thus, a Luxembourg household has an average of 129.9m2 of living space. But when it comes to the surface per capita, significant (but not surprising) differences become visible: people living alone have an average housing area of 95,2m2, while the area available for a person living in a household of six people is 30,1m2. Moreover, households who own their own home generally tend to have a bigger home than households who rent. It may be noted that approximately 70% of households own their own home.

The ‘minimum standard’ for 97% of inhabitants

As far as equipment is concerned, 97% of housing has the so-called ‘minimum standard’ frequently used at European level. This basic equipment consists of a bathroom, a lavatory and central heating.

Household equipment in terms of appliances has also been analysed by researchers of the University and Statec. Their findings are eloquent as regards the standard of living of the inhabitants of the Grand Duchy:

Luxembourg also ranks among the best connected countries in Europe: in 2016, 97% of households have Internet access at home.

  • Updated 09-11-2017

Qualité de vie

Infrastructures et logement : le confort règne

Au Luxembourg, les prix du logement contribuent sans aucun doute au niveau élevé du coût de la vie. En même temps, la grande majorité des habitants du pays peut se vanter de disposer d’un logement de qualité, à la fois en ce qui concerne la taille du bien loué ou acheté, que de son équipement. C’est ce qui ressort des résultats du recensement de la population de 2011, que l’Université du Luxembourg et le Statec (Institut national de la statistique et des études économiques du Grand-Duché du Luxembourg) ont compilés dans un ouvrage paru en février 2014.

Ainsi, un ménage luxembourgeois dispose en moyenne de 129,9m² de surface de logement. Or, quand on en vient à la surface disponible par habitant, des écarts importants (mais peu surprenants) deviennent visibles: les personnes vivant seules disposent en moyenne de 95,2m2 de surface de logement, tandis que la surface disponible pour une personne vivant dans un ménage de six personnes est de 30,1m2. De plus, les ménages propriétaires disposent en général d’un logement plus grand que les ménages locataires. A noter qu’environ 70% des ménages sont propriétaires de leur logement.

Le "standard minimum" pour 97% des habitants

Pour ce qui est de l’équipement, 97% des logements disposent dudit « standard minimum », utilisé couramment au niveau européen. Cet équipement de base est constitué par une salle de bains, un WC et un chauffage central.

L’équipement des ménages en matière d’électroménager a également été analysé par les chercheurs de l’Université et du Statec. Et les résultats de cette analyse en disent long sur le niveau de vie des habitants du Luxembourg.

Le Luxembourg compte également parmi les pays les mieux connectés d'Europe: en 2016, 97% des ménages ont un accès internet à la maison. 

  • Mis à jour le 09-11-2017