Quality of life

Physical safety, an asset

Luxembourg is a safe country. And this remains the case despite the slight but steady increase in crime recorded by the Grand-Ducal Police, in particular crime against property.

This is borne out by ‘Risk Map 2017’, an interactive map produced by the British company Control Risks, which shows that the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is one of the rare countries in the world - along with Switzerland and the Scandinavian countries - to be categorised as very safe.

Let us take the homicide rate, an important indicator in this field. The police statistics provide every year reliable - and reassuring - figures.

Thus, in 2013, the Grand-Ducal Police recorded just one murder, a crime, moreover, which has since been solved. A year earlier, 1 murder and 2 killings were recorded in the annual police report. Overall, the rate of homicide as a percentage of the population came to 4.2% between 2009 and 2013.

Statec has inquired into safety

In 2013, the National Statistics and Economic Studies Institute (Institut national de la statistique et des études économiques, STATEC) studied safety in Luxembourg in collaboration with the University of Luxembourg. The first findings of this survey showed that 50% of Luxembourg households had not been the victim of any crime between 2008 and 2013. The bulk of the 50% who had been affected by criminality had been confronted by a consumer fraud (17.6%), theft without violence (12.8%) or fraud involving a bank card (12.7%). 10% of the households questioned had been burgled during the period considered.

In the same context, Statec also inquired into persons who claimed they had been victims of violence at least once in their lives. It emerged that 17% of the people interviewed had been harassed in the course of the 5 years preceding the survey (psychological harassment/threats/bullying), 4% had been the victims of theft with violence, 9% had suffered physical violence and 4% had been victims of sexual violence.

However, it appears from the survey that 85% of the inhabitants of Luxembourg feel safe there. Only 15% stated that they did not feel safe when they went out alone in their area in the evening and 8% do not go out after nightfall. And 34% of the persons surveyed consider that it is probable that they will be burgled.

However, more than 80% of inhabitants consider that the Grand-Ducal Police do a good, if not very good, job. Moreover, with a presence of 324.8 police officers for every 100,000 habitants, the country is near the European average (337.7).

  • Updated 08-11-2017

Qualité de vie

La sécurité physique, un atout

Le Luxembourg est un pays sûr. Et ce, malgré une hausse légère, mais constante des faits criminels, enregistrés auprès de la Police, notamment dans le domaine de la criminalité contre les biens.

C’est d’ailleurs confirmé: selon la "Risk Map", carte interactive des risques réalisée par la société britannique Control Risks, le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg compte parmi les rares pays du monde à être considérés comme très sûrs – avec la Suisse et les pays scandinaves.

Prenons le taux d’homicides, qui est un indicateur important dans ce domaine. Les statistiques des forces de l’ordre en livrent tous les ans des relevés fiables – et rassurants.

Le Statec a enquêté sur la sécurité

En 2013, le Statec (Institut national de la statistique et des études économiques) a étudié la sécurité au Luxembourg, en collaboration avec l’Université du Luxembourg. Les premiers résultats de cette étude ont montré que 50% des ménages luxembourgeois n’ont été victime d’aucun délit entre 2008 et 2013. La plus grande partie des 50% touchés par la criminalité ont fait face à une fraude à la consommation (17,6%), un vol sans violence (12,8%) ou un cas de fraude à la carte bancaire (12,7%). 10% des ménages interrogés se sont fait cambrioler au cours de la période étudiée.

Dans le même contexte, le Statec s’est également intéressé aux personnes qui auraient été victime de violence au moins une fois dans leur vie. Il en ressort que 17% des personnes interviewées ont été harcelées au cours des 5 années précédant l’enquête (harcèlement moral/menaces/brimades), 4% ont été victimes de vols avec violence, 9% ont subi des violences physiques et 4% ont été victimes de violence sexuelle.

Il résulte toutefois de l’étude que 85% des habitants du pays s’y sentent en sécurité. Seuls 15% ont indiqué ne pas se sentir en sécurité lorsqu’ils sortent seuls dans leur quartier le soir, et 8% ne sortent pas à la tombée de la nuit. Et 34% des sondés estiment qu’il est probable qu’ils se fassent cambrioler.

Or, plus de 80% des habitants estiment que la Police grand-ducale fait du bon, voire du très bon travail. D’ailleurs, avec une présence de 324,8 officiers de police par cohorte de 100.000 habitants, le pays est proche de la moyenne européenne (337,7).

  • Mis à jour le 09-11-2017