History of sport

In the history of sports in the Grand Duchy, there is one iconic figure who is famous and admired all over the world: the cyclist Charly Gaul (1932-2005), winner of the Tour de France in 1958, winner of the Giro d'Italia in 1956 and 1959, and also the winner of ten stages in the 'Grand Boucle', the Tour de France.

It is indeed cyclists who have written the best pages of the Grand Duchy's sports history. Three other Luxembourgers have also won the Tour de France:  François Faber (1887-1915), the first non-French competitor to win the race, in 1909, Nicolas Frantz (1899-1985), winner in 1927 and 1928, and Andy Schleck (b. 1985), winner of the 2010 Tour de France.

Since the beginning of the 2000s, a new generation of cyclists has been causing a stir, such as Kim Kirchen (b. 1981) and the brothers Frank Schleck (b. 1980) and Andy Schleck (b. 1985). The 2008 edition of the Tour de France was particularly riveting for Luxembourgish cycling, as Kim Kirchen and Andy Schleck bore the yellow and green jerseys for multiple stages during the Tour, and Andy Schleck was eventually awarded Best Young Rider of the Tour. For more information, visit our page on 'Luxembourgers in the Tour de France'.

The athlete Josy Barthel (1927-1992) is another great figurehead of sports in the Grand Duchy, having won the Olympic gold medal at the 1952 Games in Helsinki, in the 1,500 metre run. Since the early 2000s, expectations have concentrated on athlete David Fiegen (b. 1984), European vice-champion in 2006 over 800 metres, and triathlete Liz May (b. 1983), came in third twice at the European championships in the U23 category.

Since the end of the 2000s, the Grand Duchy's tennis players have achieved notable results, with Mandy Minella (b. 1985), and Gilles Muller (b. 1983) — junior world champion in 2001 and winner of the US Open in the same category. In 2008, Muller was the first Luxembourger to reach the quarter-final of a Grand Slam tournament, at the US Open. He can boast victories against some of the circuit’s biggest names, such as Andre Agassi, Andy Roddick and Rafael Nadal.

  • Updated 06-05-2015

Histoire du sport

Dans l'histoire du sport grand-ducal, il est une figure emblématique, célèbre et admirée dans le monde entier: le cycliste Charly Gaul (1932-2005), vainqueur du Tour de France en 1958, vainqueur du Tour d'Italie, en 1956 et 1959, vainqueur en outre de dix étapes de la Grande Boucle.

Ce sont en effet les cyclistes qui ont écrit les plus belles pages de l'histoire du sport luxembourgeois. Le Luxembourg compte trois autres vainqueurs du Tour de France:  François Faber (1887-1915), le premier coureur non français à remporter l'épreuve en 1909, et Nicolas Frantz (1899-1985), lauréat des éditions 1927 et 1928, et Andy Schleck (*1985) vainqueur du Tour de France 2010.

Depuis le début des années 2000, une nouvelle génération de cyclistes fait fureur avec des coureurs comme Kim Kirchen (*1978) et les frères Frank Schleck (*1980) et Andy Schleck (*1985). L'édition 2008 du Tour de France fut particulièrement passionnante pour le cyclisme grand-ducal, avec Kim Kirchen et Frank Schleck portant les maillots jaune et vert pendant plusieurs étapes du Tour et Andy Schleck terminant comme Meilleur jeune du Tour. Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre page "Les Luxembourgeois au Tour de France".

L'athlète Josy Barthel (1927-1992) est l'autre grande figure de proue du sport luxembourgeois, champion olympique du 1.500 m à Helsinki en 1952. Au début des années 2000, les espoirs se portaient sur l'athlète David Fiegen (*1984), vice-champion d'Europe en 2006 sur 800 mètres et la triathlète Liz May (*1983), deux fois 3e des championnats d'Europe de la catégorie U23.

Depuis la fin des années 2000, les joueurs et joueuses de tennis luxembourgeois affichent des résultats tout à fait respectables avec la tenniswoman Mandy Minella (*1985) et le tennisman Gilles Muller (*1983), champion du monde chez les juniors en 2001 et vainqueur de l'US Open dans cette catégorie. En 2008, Muller a été le premier Luxembourgeois à atteindre un quart de finale d'un tournoi du grand chelem, à l'US Open. Il compte des victoires sur plusieurs grandes vedettes du circuit comme André Agassi, Andy Roddick et Rafael Nadal.

  • Mis à jour le 23-11-2017