Sports

Luxembourgers are real sports adepts, be it for leisure or competition, or as (television-) spectators at sports events. It is especially in individual disciplines that Luxembourg's high-level sportsmen and -women have managed to stand out.

Nevertheless, in the history of grand ducal sport, one emblematic figure, renowned and admired throughout the world, stands out: the cyclist Charly Gaul (1932-2005). It is indeed the cyclists who have written the best pages of Luxembourg's sports history. 

The athlete Josy Barthel (1927-1992) is another great figurehead of Luxembourg's sports, having won the Olympic gold medal at the 1952 Helsinki games in the 1,500m run.

For some time, the Grand Duchy has proven itself as a competent organiser for major sports events, such as the BGL BNP Paribas Luxembourg Open or the ING Europe Marathon Luxembourg. Luxembourg was the point of departure of the Tour de France in 1989 and in 2002, and the country has seen the arrival of 9 stages between 1947 and 2006. 

  • Updated 23-11-2017

Sports

Les Luxembourgeois sont de vrais adeptes du sport, que ce soit dans le cadre du sport-loisir, du sport de compétition ou comme (télé)spectateurs de manifestations sportives. C'est surtout dans les disciplines individuelles que les sportifs luxembourgeois de haut niveau ont réussi à s'illustrer.

Dans l'histoire du sport grand-ducal, il est une figure emblématique, célèbre et admirée dans le monde entier: le cycliste Charly Gaul (1932-2005). Ce sont en effet les cyclistes qui ont écrit les plus belles pages de l'histoire du sport luxembourgeois. 

L'athlète Josy Barthel (1927-1992) est l'autre grande figure de proue du sport luxembourgeois, champion olympique du 1.500 m à Helsinki en 1952. 

Depuis bien longtemps, le Grand-Duché a fait ses preuves en ce qui concerne l'organisation de grandes manifestations sportives, comme le BGL BNP Paribas Luxembourg Open ou le ING Night Marathon Luxembourg. Le Luxembourg a été le lieu de départ du Tour de France en 1989 et en 2002 et le pays a vécu 9 arrivées d'étapes entre 1947 et 2006.

  • Mis à jour le 07-04-2015