Sports events

For some time, the Grand Duchy has proven itself as a competent organiser of major sports events. Here is a list of the main sports events throughout the year.

January

  • Luxembourg Euro Meet: organised annually since 1999, this is the biggest swimming event in the Grand Duchy, attended by international elite swimmers

February

  • ING Eurocross: this international cross country race takes place every year in Diekirch and is one of the qualifying events for the IAAF World Cross Country Championships

March

April

  • DKV Urban Trail: a run right in the heart of Luxembourg City. During this run, established in 2010, participants have the choice between courses covering 34km (the 'GranDucale'), 27km (the Forts Trail) and 13km (Traces of Vauban) and mini-trails over 1,600 metres (for 9-12 year-olds) and 900 metres (for 6-8 year-olds). This is a perfect opportunity to discover the centre and the suburbs of Luxembourg City and take some exercise at the same time.

May

  • COSL Spillfest: sports festival organised by the Luxembourg National Olympic Committee (Comité olympique et sportif luxembourgeois, COSL), held annually in Kockelscheuer, with the participation of sports clubs and federations.
  • ING Europe-Marathon Luxembourg: this night-time marathon has been held in Luxembourg City since 2006. The event comprises several races: a marathon (42.195km), a semi-marathon (21.00km) and a mini-marathon (4.2km).
  • Mission Nicht Rauchen (Mission No Smoking): event organised by the Cancer Foundation, with sports workshops on the Place Guillaume II and the Place d'Armes in Luxembourg City

June

  • SKODA Tour de Luxembourg: established in 1935, the Tour de Luxembourg is a cycling race in several stages; it starts in Luxembourg City and travels around the country before returning to Luxembourg City.
  • Flèche du Sud: international cycling race in several stages for hopeful elite racing cyclists
  • Réiser Päerdsdeeg CSI Luxembourg (equestrian days in Roeser): created in 1992, the Luxembourg international jumping competition is the most prestigious equestrian event held in the Greater Region. Since 2011, the Luxembourg Grand Prix has counted as a selection event for the European Championships.
  • Ergo Ironman 70.3: organised for the first time in 2013 in the Luxembourg Moselle area, this was the first Ironman-type triathlon to be held in the Grand Duchy; it comprises 1.9km swimming, 90km cycling, and a semi-marathon.

July

  • JP Morgan City Jogging: running and Nordic walking through the most beautiful parts of Luxembourg City, with no timing. Distances of 10km or 6km to choose between. Organised by the Luxembourg Athletics Federation (Fédération luxembourgeoise d'athlétisme), with the support of the City of Luxembourg.
  • 6 Stonne Vëlo: six hours of cycling. Relay cycle race for amateurs, organised by the cycling section of the Amicale Post Luxembourg, Luxembourg Post Office's friendly association. In recent years, the race has started in various towns, including Luxembourg City, Wiltz, Moutfort, Wincrange, Mersch and Roeserbann. For more information, please consult www.6stonnevelo.lu.
  • Alles op de Velo (everybody on your bike!): on the third Sunday in July each year, between 10 a.m. and 6 p.m., the Mamer valley is reserved exclusively for walkers and non-motorised vehicles. This concerns a section of the CR101 road between Mamer and Mersch. The different stages of the course are Mersch, Schoenfels, Kopstal and Mamer. Distance covered: 15km. Entertainment and food stalls round off the event. Organisers: Ecology Movement (Mouvement écologique), in collaboration with the municipalities of Kopstal, Mamer and Mersch and the Luxembourg Bike Initative (Lëtzebuerger Vëlos-Initiativ, LVI). For more information, consult www.meco.lu.
  • Gala Tour de France criterium by invitation for elite racers and hopefuls: famous cyclists meet up each year at the end of July and early August in Esch-Belval for the Gala Tour de France. Various other events take place as part of this criterium.
  • Foyer International Triathlon in Echternach: international triathlon organised since 1985 by the Luxembourg triathlon association Trilux — Triathlon Luxembourg and held near the lake in the historic town of Echternach.

September

  • Escher Kulturlaf: 10km run combining sport and music. The route takes participants through Esch-sur-Alzette to various cultural sites. Along the way, a dozen music groups encourage the runners in their effort. Free race with no timing. For more information, please consult www.kulturlaf.lu.
  • ING Route du vin semi-marathon: semi-marathon with the participation of a number of top international runners, held each year in the Luxembourg Moselle area.

October

  • The BGL BNP Paribas Luxembourg Open, the only official indoor tournament of the 'WTA Tour' for women in the Greater Region, has been bringing major national and international stars of the tennis circuit to Luxembourg since 1996;
  • Walfer Vollékslaf: organised since 1975, this very popular family run offers a choice of distances (12km, 4.5km, and 900 metres for 5-12 year-olds).
  • Indoor cycling marathon (spinning) in favour of organ donation: organised by the Ministry of Health and Luxembourg-Transplant on World Organ Donation Day each year, with the participation of many sport celebrities. For more information, please consult www.dondorganes.lu.
  • Updated 14-09-2017

Manifestations sportives

Depuis un certain temps, le Grand-Duché a fait ses preuves en ce qui concerne l'organisation de grandes manifestations sportives. Trouvez ici une liste avec les principaux rendez-vous sportifs au rythme de l'année.

Janvier

  • Luxembourg Euro Meet: organisé annuellement depuis 1999, il s'agit du plus grand événement de la natation au Luxembourg avec la participation de nageurs d'élite internationaux

Février

  • ING Eurocross: cette course internationale de cross country a lieu annuellement à Diekirch et figure comme épreuve de qualification pour les IAAF World Cross Country Championships

Mars

Avril

  • DKV Urban Trail: course à pied en plein coeur de la capitale grand-ducale. Lancé en 2010, les participants ont le choix entre un parcours de 34 km (La GranDucale), de 27 km (Le Trail des Forts), de 13 km (Les Traces de Vauban) et des mini-trails de 1.600 m (9-12 ans) et de 900 m (6-8 ans). Une bonne occasion de découvrir le centre-ville et les faubourgs de la capitale tout en faisant du sport.

Mai

  • COSL Spillfest: fête sportive organisée par le Comité olympique et sportif luxembourgeois (COSL), ayant lieu annuellement à Kockelscheuer, avec la participation des fédérations et clubs sportifs
  • ING europe marathon luxembourg: depuis 2006, ce marathon de nuit se déroule sur le territoire de la capitale. La manifestation comprend plusieurs courses: un marathon (42,195 km), un semi-marathon (21,00 km) et un mini-marathon de 4,2 km.
  • Mission Nicht Rauchen (Mission ne pas fumer): manifestation organisée par la Fondation Cancer avec des ateliers sportifs sur la Place Guillaume II et la Place d'Armes à Luxembourg-Ville

Juin

  • SKODA Tour de Luxembourg: créé en 1935, le Tour de Luxembourg est une course cycliste par étapes qui prend son départ à Luxembourg, puis traverse le pays avant de revenir à Luxembourg
  • Flèche du Sud: course cycliste internationale par étapes pour coureurs espoirs-élite
  • Réiser Päerdsdeeg CSI Luxembourg (journées hippiques de Roeser): créé en 1992, le concours de saut international de Luxembourg est l'événement hippique le plus prestigieux de la Grande Région. Depuis 2011, le Grand Prix de Luxembourg compte comme épreuve de sélection pour le championnat d'Europe.
  • Ergo Ironman 70.3: organisé pour la première fois en 2013 à la Moselle luxembourgeoise, il s'agit du premier triathlon de type Ironman organisé au Grand-Duché avec 1,9km de nage, 90km de course à vélo et un semi-marathon.

Juillet

  • JP Morgan City Jogging: course à pied et nordic walking à travers les plus beaux coins de la ville de Luxembourg et sans chronométrage. Distances de 6 ou 10 km au choix. Organisateur: Fédération luxembourgeoise d'athlétisme avec le soutien de la Ville de Luxembourg.
  • 6 Stonne Vëlo: six heures de vélo. Course de relais à vélo pour amateurs organisée par la section de cyclisme de l'Amicale Post Luxembourg. Les années précédentes, cette course avait pris son départ dans différentes villes comme Luxembourg, Wiltz, Moutfort, Wincrange, Mersch et Roeserbann. Plus d'infos: www.6stonnevelo.lu.
  • "Alles op de Velo" (tous à vélo): chaque troisième dimanche de juillet, entre 10 et 18 heures, la vallée de la Mamer, est réservée exclusivement aux piétons et aux engins non motorisés. Il s'agit d'un tronçon du CR101 entre Mamer et Mersch. Les différentes étapes du parcours sont: Mersch, Schoenfels, Kopstal et Mamer. Distance du parcours: 15 km. Des animations et des stands de nourriture sont prévus. Organisateurs: Mouvement écologique en collaboration avec les communes de Kopstal, Mamer et Mersch et la Lëtzebuerger Vëlos-Initiativ. Plus d'infos: www.meco.lu
  • Gala Tour de France - Critérium par invitation pour coureurs élite et espoirs: des cyclistes de grande renommée se donnent annuellement rendez-vous fin juillet /début août à Esch-Belval pour le Gala Tour de France. Diverses autres manifestations ont lieu dans le cadre de ce critérium.
  • Foyer Triathlon International d'Echternach: triathlon international organisé depuis 1985 par l'association Trilux - Triathlon Luxembourg près du lac de la ville historique d'Echternach.

Septembre

  • Escher Kulturlaf: course à pied de 10km combinant sport et musique. Le parcours mène les coureurs à travers Esch-sur-Alzette le long de sites culturels. Le long du parcours, une quinzaine de groupes de musique encouragent les coureurs dans leur effort. Course gratuite et sans chronométrage. Plus d'infos: www.kulturlaf.lu.
  • ING Route du vin semi-marathon: semi-marathon avec la participation de coureurs de renommée internationale ayant lieu annuellement à la Moselle luxembourgeoise.

Octobre

  • Le BGL BNP Paribas Luxembourg Open, seul tournoi officiel indoor de la "WTA Tour" pour dames de la Grande Région, réunit depuis 1996 les grandes vedettes nationales et internationales du circuit de tennis;
  • Walfer Vollékslaf: organisée depuis 1975, cette course à pied très populaire s'adresse à toute la famille avec des parcours de 12 km, de 4,5 km et de 900 m (5-12 ans).
  • Marathon de indoor cycling (spinning) pour le don d'organes: organisé par le ministère de la Santé et Luxembourg-Transplant à l'occasion de la Journée mondiale pour le don d'organes avec la participation de nombreuses personnalités du domaine du sport. Plus d'infos: www.dondorganes.lu.
  • Mis à jour le 08-09-2017